We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Vondel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 942: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Vondel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff were all friendly and helpful and in particular in the evening of Sun 19th March, the 2 ladies on reception, Brit and Sephonia, were exceptional. I discovered I had lost my mobile phone and they were so very helpful and very kind, it made a huge difference to me and my wife. Because of their kindness and excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward_Adie
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Location is great in a beautiful neighborhood. The art and the decor in the public areas and room were really cool. The staff were friendly and the room, although small, was comfy. Once I figured out how the shower worked it was great. Having said that...The rooms are not soundproof. Being an old period property the floors are wooden so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fantafunbus
Management_VH, Receptionist at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review

Dear Fantafunbus, Thank you very much for reviewing Hotel Vondel. This is highly appreciated because it helps us to improve our service. We are glad that you feld so comfortable during your stay with us and that you like the interior of the hotel. It is also good to read that you were satisfied with our staff. A good service...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We reserved 3 rooms for a long weekend stay in the city. We chose this hotel as it looked clean and offered adjoin rooms. Upon arrival we were able to get one room to store our luggage and freshen up before the days adventures - this was a lovely bonus after an overnight flight! Unfortunately, we did not receive adjoin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MdallasM33
Management_VH, Reception at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review

Dear MdallasM33, Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. We are absolutely delighted that your stay was great! It is our goal to give our guests a wonderful experience. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. With warm regards, Marloes. Hotel Vondel.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A group of us booked to stay the weekend as we had a concert to attend. Before I arrived the hotel took the cost of the first night for all four rooms from my card which was fine. Then on arrival they took another deposit. Then at checkout they took the whole cost of the rooms in one go meaning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank qGonga
Management_VH, front office at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review

Dear qGonga, Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback about Hotel Vondel. I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the service of our staff. I do apologise for any miscommunication with your credit card. We do indeed autorise the card one week before arrival and again upon arrival. I...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here in March '17 for my wife's birthday. I picked the hotel based on great reviews and the impressive pictures. The location is great, on a (largely) residential street, 3 minutes walk to the pretty Vondel Park and just a couple of minutes south of lots of shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel itself was painfully average, especially compared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ppath
Management_VH, front office at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review

Dear ppath, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers. At Hotel Vondel we strive to give our guests the best possible service and experience. We sincerely regret the fact that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Please do know...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is located close to the city center by the Vondel Park in a residential part of town. Nearby are various shops, tram, city center is about a 10-minute walk. The hotel is tastefully furnished, friendly reception. The room is a little smaller, the bed is also smaller than usual (this is the only downside), but it may look like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LLukas
Management_VH, Receptioniste at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. LLukas, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your vacation in Amsterdam and of course our Hotel and his staff. In regards to your room, please note that Hotel Vondel has different types of rooms , so maybe next time when you will come to Amsterdam and to our Hotel, please...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very recommended although on the expensive side... Make sure you book the bigger rooms. We stayed three friends on the upper level room (family room) and enjoyed the a huge apartment-style room, with a huge living-room. Breakfast is excellent. Location is superb - Walking distance to most of the atractions. It was my 2nd time and I will be back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yonatan A
Management_VH, Receptioniste at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Yonatan A, First of all thank you for taking the time to put a review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that our faciities in the Hotel met your expectations. Also we are very proud to read that when you will come and visit Amsterdam again, you will stay in our Hotel . With warm regards,...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The design of the hotel is nice, but since I was traveling solo my room was very small. And also the decor was nice, the finishing touches needing some work. The walls needed a fresh coat of paint and for me looks are everything, as well as attention to details. The shower was nice (Rainfall). Other than that my stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrice M
Management_VH, Receptionist at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review

Dear Patrice M, Thank you very much for reviewing Hotel Vondel. How nice it is to read about your close look at the hotel's interior. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Thomas Team Hotel Vondel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in an excellent location within walking distance to all of the main attractions. The staff were helpful and gave us plenty of recommendations. My only slight criticism is that a friend and I were given a room on 'floor 1' which is actually the basement so we didnt get any natural light coming in. Our other friends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank panukla
Management_VH, Receptioniste at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review

Dear Panukla, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We are proud to read that you liked our location of our hotel and that our hotel staff gave you a good service. Regarding the room, please note when you book a souterrain room is a room partially for less than half, lying under the ground. If you are...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel. No problems with the location. staff, condition of the room, or other amenities. One block away from direct bus to airport. However, don't book the 1XX rooms, they are underneath the restaurant and the floor above you is incredibly loud and squeaky floor and starts at 6 AM until around 11 PM. The rooms was cheap but I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dls251
Management_VH, Front Office at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review

Dear dls251, Thank you kindly for your feedback about Hotel Vondel. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologise if you endured any inconvenience from staying in our souterrain room. For future references, please know that you may always contact reception for a roommove. Our guests are our highest priority, so...

707 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (452)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (206)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Small Double Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 362 in Amsterdam
686 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 362 in Amsterdam
935 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
2,422 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 362 in Amsterdam
808 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#128 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Restaurant JOOST
Restaurant JOOST
Cuisines: Dutch, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodation at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at Restaurant JOOST, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotel its exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Price Range: $159 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Vondel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Vondel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We chose an executive double, which is a good size & value”
 of 5 bubbles Edward_Adie, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Apparently there are basement rooms - be careful of these when booking as they could be quite noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles MdallasM33, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a medium to large room.”
 of 5 bubbles PatriceM605, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Souterrain is not too loud, but if you're a light sleeper, go elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles 127jakw, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you request a more spacious room if you need it.”
  • The room is smallish but quiet comfortable.
  • Bathroom is modern and nice.
 of 5 bubbles grahamhG9196AY, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5