We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Albus

Show Prices
#64 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Albus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,338: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights we had a couple of teething problems but the staff couldn't of been more helpful and rectified straight away, lovely breakfast great location to see all the sights. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but noticed it was voted in the top 20 restaurants for the whole of Amsterdam. Would definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Upon arrival we were greeted and offered to sit down with a welcome drink in the lounge. As we arrived very early and our room wasn't ready yet, the receptionist sat down with us and marked off some interesting locations on a map so we could go out and see the city while we waited for the room to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silje Kathrine F
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room we stayed in was extremely noisy, not from the road, internal doors banging and people talking. It was as if there were people in our room. The rooms also felt cheap, although appearing good quality in the pictures. We did change rooms due to the rooms at the Hotel were kind enough to put us in another room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickandNat01
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am sorry to read that you did not have the best night sleep. Unfortunately the location in the heart of Amsterdam comes with the sounds of the city, meaning traffic and (party)people. Nevertheless, I hope that you would like to give the Albus a second chance in the future and I hope to welcome you back in...

maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

i was visiting amsterdam for a quick 3 night/4 day stay and wanted a reliable hotel in the middle of the city. the albus was perfect! it was simple to book, reasonably priced, and the hotel had great communication through email for my questions. we were able to catch the airport shuttle right to the hotel. check in was seamless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kel400
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hi Kel, Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful detailed review. It's great to read that the Albus was the perfect match for your 4-day visit to Amsterdam. We greatly appreciate the fact how you describe your experience starting with the email communication. Personal attention and service is very important to us. Good to hear the construction of the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Albus Hotel Amsterdam We stayed at Albus hotel for 3 nights from 25-28th December 2016. We were greeted upon arrival and given some welcome drinks. We were assisted to our room. We booked a triple room. The room was clean, though we found it a little small for 3 people and not much lighting. The bathroom was big and spacious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda451
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. The hotelrooms in Amsterdam are generally not large, but we have different sizes, maybe good to know for a next visit. Mid March our "new" product is ready, all rooms are getting a new bathroom, all rooms are getting air conditioning and all floors have undergone a...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just stayed at the Albus for two nights with my partner. While the location is very convenient, the hotel quality was quite poor.. Our room was small and the hotel was very noisy with slamming doors etc. The bathroom was not a 4* grade and I was left disappointed with the room in general. Could not fault the staff, however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Dear Stuart, Very sorry tot you that you have experienced your stay like this. Our hotel has got different roomtypes, there are small rooms, but you can book a suite as well. The room dimensions are between 18m²-80m², so different possibilities for every guest, see our website (www.albushotel.com). At this moment we work hard to improve our hotel product. Mid...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at our hotel which was nicely located. We were greeted by a friendly lady who explained that we couldn't check in till 3pm but our room might have been ready on the off chance after 1pm. Understanding this we left our bags, went exploring and returned at 3pm. We were greeted by another lady who said our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sjh1995
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Dear valuable guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. At this moment we are upgrading our product what will finisch mid March. My apologies for the inconvenience during your stay. We are working hard to improve our hotel (new bathrooms, airco in all hotelrooms and each floor will be renovated). I understand that our...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here in January for three nights. It was recommended by a friend. On arrival, the greeting was very friendly and I was advised of different things. As it was my first time in Amsterdam, they provided me with a map. My room was adequate, though the shower was a little disappointing. It looked like it would be good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Girl0715
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everyone is so polite and welcoming. When I needed help with something the staff were very helpful. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. The rooms are clean and a good size. The bed was super comfy and had an amazing night sleep every night. Our room was overlooking the main road, which was not a problem as there was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amberrose11
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hi precious guest, Thank you so much for staying at the Albus. We appreciate the fact you shared your experience with us here on Tripadvisor. I'm sure other readers will find this very helpful as you mention the quality of the service and room details. Thank you for willing to recommend the Albus and we'd love to welcome you back...

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived here early on Friday morning, check in wasn't until 3pm but they kept our suitcases so we could go and explore until check in time. On arrival we had a complimentary coffee which was lovely. The staff are beyond helpful and friendly. 5 star service! The room was beautiful and we had a Nespresso machine and a Heineken beer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgine J
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hi Georgine, Thank you for sharing this wonderful review here on Tripadvisor. Great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the fact you mention a 5 star service is a token of appreciation for the hotel. Thank you! It's a delight to read you appreciated the Nespresso and the Heineken beer tap The Sub. We love to give...

698 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (297)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (355)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Smart City Room (49)
Viewed
Splendid City Room (47)
Viewed
Stunning City Suite (53)
Viewed
Superb City Room (48)
Viewed
Sweet Family City Room (59)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#61 of 361 in Amsterdam
779 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,465 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 361 in Amsterdam
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#110 of 361 in Amsterdam
861 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
3,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: $171 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Albus staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Brighton, United Kingdom
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Wisbech, United Kingdom

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from The Albus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were at the front of the hotel which was quite noisy - would suggest requesting a higher floor or quieter room”
 of 5 bubbles elaine25davis, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 407 (suite.) Incredibly quiet and very spacious, so if your looking to upgrade for a bit more room then I would recommend”
 of 5 bubbles 516laurenk, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Can be noisy at the front!”
 of 5 bubbles NumLock987, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Second floor up.”
 of 5 bubbles 788seamusf, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms = less street noise”
 of 5 bubbles Stoneferry, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay