We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,904 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,373: English reviews
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing hotel, friendly staff, the location is perfect very central. We found the rooms, large, clean and spacious. After going to Amsterdam twice a year for the last five years we wouldn't stay anywhere else !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlachristopher2011
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear carlachristopher2011, Thank you so much for your wonderful words and we are happy that you loved your stay entirely. We look forward to welcoming you many more times. With warm regards, Hedwig Linzel Executive Assistant

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Every Time you visit front, need to show your passport. But they wrote on invoice that we're from Thailand(eh?) and gave us wrong card key. No one said 'SORRY' properly. Bedding is itch. No wifi. Just Terrible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eugene p
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eugene p, Reading your feedback on this website, we are very sorry to learn that we did not meet your - or our own - expectations and we wish to express our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered. We would appreciate if you could contact us via amsterdam.guestservices@renhotels.com, so that we will be able to further investigate what...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel for 2 nights. I arrived early so was asked to wait until 2pm to check-in to my room. Upon my return at 2pm, I was informed that my room had a wet carpet, so I should return to the front desk at 3pm to check-in. I asked if I could be checked in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin B, Thank you for your feedback with regard to your recent stay with us. We offer you our profound apologies for the inconvenience you encountered upon your arrival. At the same time we are happy that we later were able to upgrade you to a larger room. We take great pride in ensuring our guest's satisfaction and very...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is a 5 min walk from the train station. There are two passageways and you have access to nearby shops, supermarket and restaurants. Their concierge and staff spoke excellent english and were very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldenkp
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear goldenkp, Thank you very much for your positive comments on this website and we hope to welcome you back, next time you plan to come to Amsterdam. Warm regards, Hedwig Linzel

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For my birthday, my wife, kids and I flew in for a few days, from Dubai, before heading back to the States. Aside from a quickly resolved issue (that I won't get into because it was dealt with with great customer care) our stay was very enjoyable. The hotel is in close proximity to much of what the city is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will B
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Will B, We are happy to read that your visit to Amsterdam to celebrate your birthday was very enjoyable. We are pleased that Marielle was able to solve your issue and will share your compliments with her and further staff members. We hope to welcome you and your family again in the future and remain, with best regards, Hedwig...

United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Renaissance Amsterdam has treated us great! We were visiting as part of a cruise trip, the Renaissance has been our best stop. The location is very central and close to many attractions. The staff however is the greatest asset this hotel has to offer. If you have chance to visit this hotel I hope you will meet Hellen from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grimm-travels
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear grimm-travels, We are so proud that we have been your best stop during your cruise trip and thank you for sharing this with all readers of this website. We are happy that you were impressed with the friendly service of all our ambassadors and especially with Hellen and thank you for the compliments. We hope to serve you again...

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first time I stayed in the hotel was in 2009 and I visited the hotel again this year. The breakfast restaurant was the best one which I have been in many hotel breakfast restaurant. and I recommended this hotel to my collegues . I thought it is still the best but I had to say "sorry "to them, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kim20111111
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kim20111111, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy that you still liked our hotel and services in general but apologize that our breakfast did not meet your expectation. We have shared your feedback with our culinary team to see how we can improve. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have nothing to criticize about this hotel. Location couldn't be any better if you are looking for something central and close to public transportation. Room was clean and service was good. Exec lounge was also nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon John S, Thank you for complimenting us on our central location, services and facilities and we hope to welcome you back so you will have a chance to discover more of our beautiful city. With kind regards, Hedwig Linzel

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Within walking distance of Central station and most of the amenities like historical sites, very good restaurants museums and great shopping. Honest helpful staff - assist me to find my lost diamond bracelet. Definitely walked the extra mile. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisev546
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear louisev546, Thank you so much for your compliments shared on this website. We are proud to read that our team walked the extra mile to assist you and we hope to welcome you back in the future. With warm regards, Hedwig Linzel

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice hotel. Lounge has a good selection of beers that are complimentary to platinum members. Only issue is no one really knows "Kattengat" - even the restaurants and business owners right next to this street don't know it. So its hard to find. Cab drivers also don't know it too well

 Report
Helpful?
Thank devashish44
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear devashish44, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we were pleased to learn that you liked our hotel and appreciated the Club Lounge facilities. We were sorry to read that our address was not known to people you asked as the Renaissance Hotel, also with our famous congress center, the Koepelchurch, is so well known in the city....

763 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (725)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (170)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (316)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,190 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
791 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Price Range: $228 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel staff and other travellers.
42 questions
Ask a question
Buffalo, New York
over a year ago
6 months ago
s wales
over a year ago

See all questions (42)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take the back alley to shorten the walk to the train station. Ask for a higher room to avoid the street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles PamInOhio, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a high floor at the front. Lovely views of the church and street.”
 of 5 bubbles femina_pulchra, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Inside rooms are very quiet apart from thin walls between rooms”
 of 5 bubbles carolemag, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Seek a room facing the atrium as the outside facing rooms are more noisy - also seek higher level rooms as they are more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles EGRap, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor, near stairs and lobby”
 of 5 bubbles teranscp, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay