We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Show Prices
#74 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,914 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,182: English reviews
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2015

The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and the hotel was characterful. The only problem was the noise of the bathroom in the floor above which was very noisy late at night and early in the morning. The unpleasant sound of someone vomitting in the room above seeemed like it was in our own room! Something needs to be done...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 759alison
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and review posting. Sorry to hear that other guests created quite some noise. The original flooring is less soundproof than today's methods. Part of the charm, unfortunately not so much in your case, We hope it did not impact your stay too much. With best regards,

saudi arabia
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Easy walk to music halls, Melkweg, Paradiso. Busy vibrant location and hub for trams. Comfortable room and attentive staff. I'll keep it on the list for next time. Beware lazy service at Cafe Amercain, but just at the cafe.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank knowj
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. Good to know that you enjoyed your stay. We shall take your constructive comments on board. With best regards,

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I stayed there in july 2015, the location is perfect, there are lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Leidseplein is in my opinion the best location to stay in amsterdam. It is a central spot near the museums and also not far from the centre. The hotel was very satisfying, the staff was great and the room was clean, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank advzor
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review psoting and your visit, being an Amsterdam resident. We believe your report is helpful for fellow tourists and appreciate your recommendation and plans for a return visit. With best regards,

Santiago
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Great Hotel, the location is perfect, you have the tram stop just in front. Also if you are coming from the airport bus 197 stops in front of the hotel. Check in was fast, everybody was nice and helpful. You are a couple of blocks away from all the museums. There's lots of restaurants and shops. I didn't try the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank teresa f
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and review posting. It is good to know that you experienced such a satisfying Amsterdam visit which included our products and services. We hope to see you return! With best regards,

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 October 2015

My husband and I had a terrible experience at the American Hotel. Chunks of plaster were missing from around the window, the mattress was not only soft, but when I sat on it, it became reduced to a sliver. I immediately complained that the lighting was dim and was given a dim floor lamp that only helped slightly. Although the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Leslie B
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. Of course we regret that your expectations were not met. However, if you are offered an alternative room, because you are not satisfied with your room, but refuse this offer. How can we then repair your issue? During your stay, you explained the managers that tried to solve your issues...

Reviewed 24 October 2015

Excellent location near Leidsplein close to the trams. Very good breakfast recommended! Very good service, the stuff was very helpful. The bed was not so comfortable and there was lack in air in the room. Overall good value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your compact review posting. Did you also use the air-conditioning system? With best regards,

canada
Reviewed 24 October 2015

This historic Hotel is in a perfect location, to do really, everything. Front desk staff and concierge are excellent. Resturant is excellent atmosphere and food, service is slow and it is expensive. The rooms are old, we were given our first room and it was horrible, the beds were so old there was no support, so much so you would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tappa
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. The renovation process is underway for older rooms. If you can specify your room number, we can replace the matrasses in that room. Our Guest Directory indicates that all kinds of toiletries can and will be brought up to your room upon request. Maybe you will consider a revisit after...

Calgary
Reviewed 24 October 2015

First off - this is the easiest hotel to get to from the airport. Before you leave, look at the listing online for Amsterdam Airport Express. You want the bus that will take you to town. They list by bus number which hotels are near that stop. Locate your hotel name and the bus stop number. We needed platform B,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Havekidswilltravel71
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and review posting. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed it so much. Could you let us know what you missed in our breakfast offering? We have to stipulate that not all rooms are as spacious as yours. Almost all 175 rooms differ in shape and size and can be booked depending...

Ashland, Oregon
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Great location and view of canal. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and cozy unit which was more spacious than expected. Loved the convenience to restaurants and shopping. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and ask for a canal view on the 5th floor if possible.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloriagenskow
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for you stay and review posting. Great to hear that you would definitely revisit when in Amsterdam again. Hope to have you back in the nearby future. With best regards,

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015

We had a three night stay at the beginning of October 2015, clean and tidy hotel although would not pay €19 for breakfast. Also beware of early morning wake up call by housekeeping if you like an extra snooze.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracysQ5144QH
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. Our apologies for an unsollicited awakening by our Housekeeping department. With best regards,

823 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (766)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (118)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (232)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (273)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
818 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 364 in Amsterdam
703 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: $266 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American staff and other travellers.
73 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (73)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lovely hotel. Rooms are clean and well appointed. As prices in Amsterdam are on the higher side, our room was a bit pricey, but there wasn't anything more we would have asked for! ”
468donnae, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure that you get the room you expect. The pictures on the website didn't match what we got, but they took care of it without any "attitude" - very caring staff. Also, bring your OWN shampoo, conditioner, and soap. Hotel's is quite generic and didn't feel good.”
CT2Europe, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Canal side is quieter.”
592erikb, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had an inner room on fifth floor”
ollie4929, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a higher floor”
JEJOIC, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5