We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save
Share
Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam The Netherlands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Captivating City Breaks
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
USD 451
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/12/21
Destinia.com
USD 365
View deal
NH Collection
CheapTicketsUSD 451
Prestigia.comUSD 468
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1939)
360
Panoramas (33)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#38 of 417 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2021 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Captivating City Breaks

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
586Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
272Attractionswithin 0.5 km
3919Reviews249Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,488
  • 852
  • 336
  • 132
  • 111
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ChristArie wrote a review 12 Oct
Arnhem, The Netherlands6 contributions
Great stay at Krasnapolsky in Amsterdam. After upgrade from NH Spuistraat we walked to the Dam in Amsterdam. We were pleasently greated by some local Dutch speaking staff, wich is ofcourse great if you are Dutch. We got a great room at the top of the building in a new part of the hotel. Perfect spot with excellent view over the city. Also a bacony. Breakfast in the Wintertuin is very impressive. Overall pleasent people in the hotel. Prepare yourself when arriving by car. Can be complex.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Arne Heuwekemeijer, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Madam, First and foremost, thank you for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our location at the Dam Square and your room with balcony. We are delighted to read that we were able to provide you with the Extraordinary Experience that we aim for! Your compliments will certainly be shared with the whole team! It would be an honour to welcome you back again in the near future. Kindest regards, Arne Heuwekemeijer – Hotel Director
Read more
Fo0dLover wrote a review Aug 2021
Hong Kong, China6 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I had a High Tea with a friend and Leilor was super friendly. She gave us a wonderful experience from the moment we enter the restaurant. We enjoyed it very much. Thank you for the amazing day you gave us!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Arne Heuwekemeijer, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Responded 3 Aug 2021
Dear Madam/Sir, Thank you for sharing your experience on this website. What an incredible compliment about our team from Grand Café Krasnapolsky and especially Leilor! I will make sure to share your kind words with the team. We always aim to create a special experience and your review attests to our efforts. The next time you will be in Amsterdam, we truly hope that you will stay with us again! With kind regards, Arne Heuwekemeijer – Hotel Director
Read more
Paul M wrote a review 6 Oct
19 contributions8 helpful votes
I had a last minute opportunity to visit an important conference in Amsterdam, and opted to stay at the Krasnapolsky. I was very pleasantly surprised, the hotel was beautiful and well appointed. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast service and was looked after very well by Donna and Rosanna. The restaurant the White Room is also well worth a visit. Overall a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Arne Heuwekemeijer, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sir, Thank you for your incredible review! Our aim is to achieve the extraordinary and I am pleased to read that we have been able to provide you with a memorable stay. We would like to thank you for your kind words about Restaurant The White Room! Furthermore, I want to thank you for your kind words about the service during the breakfast.Your kind words will certainly be shared with the team. I speak on behalf of the entire team when I say; it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again. With kind regards, Arne Heuwekemeijer – Hotel Director
Read more
Giovanni S wrote a review 6 Oct
1 contribution
Don't expect toilet brushes!! My father and I spent three days in beautiful Amsterdam. I arrived early on Sunday morning and could stay in the very fancy and nice lobby of the Grand Hotel. When my father arrived, the first problem was check-in. It took almost 30min! Our receptionist Miguel said "the computer is on the fritz" but didn't make the check in easier by offering us to wait or get some complimentary drinks, etc. Management seemed pretty sloppy at that point. After finally getting to our room, we immediately noticed that it wasn't the Premium XL we had booked. It was a bleak grey room, with windows facing a wall. An annoyed call to the reception later, we were offered our original booking. No apologies, no nothing. Just the attempt to see if the guest wouldn't notice. The new room was a little better, but you could see, the hotel had seen better days. Breakfast was pretty standard, service was lacking tremendously. I saw how a server dropped a napkin to the floor, picked it up, brushed it once, and put it back on the table. Another server grabbed my coffee cup from the top, covering the opening, and seeing that i wasn't finished, but it right back in front of me. Pretty disgusting. But the absolute highlight was: No toilet brushes! After using the bathroom, i couldn't a toilet brush. Awkward situation to be in. I left a note for housekeeping to provide one, but on our return, it was still missing. The next morning i went down to the reception, and had the weirdest conversation with hotel staff of my life: "excuse me, this is a very strange topic to bring up, but we are missing a toilet brush" "yes, i know sir" "excuse me?" "you are not the only one to mention, but it is company policy. can i have your room number?" the woman at reception was laughing nervously, but didn't provide a toilet brush in the end. This leaves several questions. 1. wtf?????????????? 2. does housekeeping use one toilet brush, for all toilets?? yuck. 3. wtf????????? btw, the lobby toilets had brushes. long story short, for a hotel of this price range, i did not feel like a guest at any time. I had to beg for a toilet brush, that wasn't provided. Also, one of two tiny elevators was broken four our entire stay. My theory is, the NH group bought up most of the old luxury hotels in Amsterdam and is just crunching numbers. No customer service, which is odd, because staff, just standing around, was plenty. Oh, the lobby also had a complementary coffee machine, but they put the dirty dishes right underneath, so it looks like a pile of trash after 5pm. The beds were comfy and the room temp spot on. That makes my review 2 stars. Next time i'll take an airbnb in one of the houses along the canals. Hope i could help. oh, and my father mentioned, that it was my birthday... 0 fks were given.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Arne Heuwekemeijer, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, We are thankful that you took the time to rate your experience on this website! Unfortunately, it has come to our attention that our score could have been better. My sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. We would love to get in contact with you in regards to your previous stay with us. May I kindly ask you to reach out to our Guest Relations Manager on n.valgaeren@nh-hotels.com. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we did not meet your expectations. We do understand that this cannot change the experience you have had in our hotel anymore. We truly hope you will give us a second chance to welcoming you back in Amsterdam soon. With kind regards, Arne Heuwekemeijer – Hotel Director
Read more
doramusic wrote a review 5 Oct
Sleaford, United Kingdom1 contribution
This is, and always has been one of the finest hotels in Amsterdam and I have stayed here before as far back as the 1990s, and it never fails to impress. You may consider other hotels in the city on the basis of price or location or even reputation, but believe me when I say this hotel simply cannot be beaten on any level. Thank you again to all the staff for making my latest short stay the pleasure that it was.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Arne Heuwekemeijer, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Madam, First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on this website. What a delightful review! I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and that we have been able to assist in making it special. We are honored to hear that you have chosen to stay at our hotel again! Thank you for your kind words about our service. Your enthusiasms is truly visible in them and I will be sure to share them with the team. The next time you will be in Amsterdam, we sincerely hope you will stay with us again. With kind regards, Arne Heuwekemeijer – Hotel Director
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 238 - USD 516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nh hotels amsterdam, nh hotel amsterdam, nh grand hotel krasnapolsky
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamOld Center / Dam Square & Damstraat / Red Light District (De Wallen) / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
451
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Which popular attractions are close to NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky?
Nearby attractions include Brews & Tales Amsterdam Craft Beer Tour (0.5 km), Dam Square (0.1 km), and Sherlocked (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky?
Conveniently located restaurants include Martine of Martine's Table, Restaurant Bougainville, and Ta Toru.
Are there opportunities to exercise at NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky have an airport shuttle?
Yes, NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.