We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

NH Amsterdam Schiller

Orbitz.comUSD 204*
View Deal
#153 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 204*
USD 204*
USD 204*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 884: English reviews
Start your review of NH Amsterdam Schiller
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed 3 nights in May. Found the hotel to be convenient (easy tram ride or walk to city centre and a direct tram to Amsterdam central). Walking distance from Southern canal district including some of the most scenic spots along Reguliersgracht. Reception staff were friendly, fruity water in reception was refreshing, lifts were efficient, wifi worked well and rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chouxpastry
Lisboa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well located in the center of Amsterdam with many attractions at walking distances. However very noisy. Don't have a room on the front of the hotel because it's really noisy. Don't stay on the 1st floor. There are TV shows and the corredors are really boisy too. Breakfast is very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgadanho
Palm City, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am a business traveler who has several million miles under my belt. I am the CEO of A telecom me who stays in the best hotels in the world. NH hotel Schiller is a good quality European hotel. (Some of the negative reviews from "New Yorkers" are amusing as a medium quality European hotel is heads and heels above...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank macrhino
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel's location is right on Rembrandt Square, so there is always something to do. It's also walkable to almost anything (we only took a cab from the airport, and one to the train station due to luggage). Note: there is NOT air conditioning in this hotel. I asked their chat customer support about this prior to booking and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicole k
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for four nights on a long weekend break. The hotel is well placed for sightseeing in central Amsterdam, with a tram stop across the square. On the strength of reviews which mentioned noise, we asked for a room at the rear of the hotel. Our 5th floor room was quiet, comfortable and clean though the furnishings were somewhat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Peter B, Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. It is great to read you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We apologize if any inconvenience is caused regarding the broadcasting of the show. It was a pleasure welcoming you as our guest and we look forward to do so again in the nearby future. Kind regards,...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrive around noon after a train ride from Paris. We were able to check into our room right away. The hotel in across from a busy square, Restaurants, train and many people hanging out late into the night. You can get a room into the back if you are a light sleeper. Everyone was friendly, Room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew O
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Matthew O, We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and the rooms comfortable and clean. We will make sure to share your comments with our staff. We thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back during one of your future trips. Best regards, Bart van...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After three nights here, I left incredibly sleep deprived. The location of this hotel is great, if you're on holiday; however if you want to sleep more than two hours a night, avoid! There's a nightclub below the hotel that plays dire music to the wee hours - the hotel helpfully provides earplugs but they are basically useless. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zannabella
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Zannabella, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay at NH Schiller. We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations and the outside noise was so bothering that you were not able to sleep. Our rooms in the backside are quiet, we apologize that we did...

Cholargos, Greece
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

€220 for a noisy, extremely small room. I'm wondering why. Why they find it ok to charge this amount for a 30sqm (or less) room on a square full of people and noise with garbage in front of the front door (perfect food for the seagulls who screamed since 5 in the morning). Breakfast? No breakfast! Almost nothing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NayaLoukrezi
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Nayaloukrezi, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. We are very sorry to be informed that the room and the price / quality was not what you expected. This is not what you can expect from us although we can not influence outside noise we failed in arranging a carefree stay for you. Nevertheless we hope to...

Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewed 1 week ago

It doesn't seem like NH hotel, I thought that chain was guaranty of quality. Not the case. The room was dusty, the furniture old and in bad shape, the bathroom look like a cheap hostel bath, the bed uncomfortable. And everything since the start just seems dirty. The elevator was also old and looked like it would fall down in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucylup
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Lucylup, We are very sorry to read that we did not meet you expectations at NH Schiller. Your comments will be discussed in our coming meeting to upgrade ourselves to the standard you can expect from us. Thank you for sharing your feedback and experience with us. Nevertheless we are glad to read that the service of our teams...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel is the only good thing about it. The flower market, some museums, cafes and good Indonesian restaurants are nearby. Hop on a tram or walk anywhere. The rooms are average at best with dingy couch in the corner. Breakfast is nothing to rave about, very average like the rest of it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barunin
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Barunin Thank you for sharing your opinion and feedback regarding your stay. Your comments will be evaluated in our next management team meeting. Thank you for choosing NH Schiller and hopefully we will meet again and exceed your expectations. Best regards, Bart van den Hauten.

665 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (320)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (180)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (322)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Standard Room (52)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (53)
Viewed
Superior Room (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 366 in Amsterdam
924 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#242 of 366 in Amsterdam
2,338 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#67 of 366 in Amsterdam
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#101 of 366 in Amsterdam
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Price Range: $192 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NH Amsterdam Schiller staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from NH Amsterdam Schiller staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the square have great views, but very noisy at night.”
  • View from room balcony
  • View from room balcony
  • View from room balcony
nicolek666, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter - the higher the floor the better.”
291PeterB, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“if you like it quit ask for a room in the back”
760matthewo, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“The ones facing the street should be "nicer" but noisy”
  • Old sofa/sofá viejo y roto
  • Not a 4 star kind of bathroom
lucylup, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel, quick!”
donsE6824UB, 9 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 204* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 204
Booking.comUSD 204
TravelocityUSD 204
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates