We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

NH Carlton Amsterdam

Show Prices
#238 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
NH Carlton Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,299: English reviews
Start your review of NH Carlton Amsterdam
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just back from a weekend in Amsterdam despite poor weather we had a lovely time plenty to see & do. The hotel is a good location 25mins walk to the train station (fast walking) could do with some refurbishment in places room was warm & clean however noisy at night (had to buy earplugs) breakfast was good. Staff on arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is correct that we are not the newest hotel anymore and we are waiting on a renovation. Our hotel is located in the middle of town, so sometimes like every big city you will hear some street noise. But is is good to hear that you enjoyed your...

Hull
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

After receiving an email from the manager promising a beautiful room, after I sent an enquiry, my mind was put at rest about the poor reviews especially about cleanliness. We arrived on the 16th march the American lady at the desk was helpful when we dropped our cases off in the morning, pointing out places of interests. When we returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coradorahull
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Coradorahull, Thank you very much for the time you have taken to share your experience with us, only with the help of your feedback we can obtain and approve our service and quality level. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as you had hoped for. I will discuss all your comments with my colleagues from...

OC, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great hotel on the Flowermarket between Konigsplein and Rembrantplein. Lots of choices for transit and dining nearby. Very clean throughout. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was great, in a large airy room overlooking the canal. Good choices, great staff. Check-in was a little late for my preference - 3pm - given my flight landed at 9:30 but it is posted, not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiloTango
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear KiloTango, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It is always good to hear that you had a nice experience in our hotel. Hopefully you will choose our hotel again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Best regards, Tim Lebbink Hotel Director t.lebbink@nh-hotels.com

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A group of 6 of us stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in March. It is first worth saying that the location is fantastic, convenient walking distance to basically everything - so that can not be faulted! Check in was easy and I also managed to email the hotel prior to arrival to confirm the types of rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thea H
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Thea H, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is correct that we are not the newest hotel anymore and we are waiting on a renovation. It is always good to hear that you had a nice experience in our hotel. Hopefully you will choose our hotel again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Best regards,...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of March . Check in is quite late at 3pm but we left our bags and started sightseeing . The hotel is in a great location , with the flower market right outside the door and Dam Square a 10 minute stroll away . There are shops...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoxyGalway2013
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear RoxyGalway2013, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It is always good to hear that you had a nice experience in our hotel. Hopefully you will choose our hotel again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Best regards, Tim Lebbink Hotel Director t.lebbink@nh-hotels.com

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room stank of smoke, body odour and the bathroom smelt like a men's urinal. Gross. Really noisy too. Switched the air on on to try and drown out the noise. Not sure which was worse Plus hair in the bathroom that defo wasn't mine Shame. Love Amsterdam but won't be back at NH

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Louise F, First of all I would like to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is never pleasant to hear that we didn't meet your expectations but it does provide us to change where necessary. I will discuss your comments with my colleagues from the different departments to make sure that all errors will be solved. Once...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly helpful staff. Breakfast of good choice and quality. Close to all central areas, especially the flower market. Loads of bars and restaurants. Can be expensive. Brilliant Indian restaurant just around the corner. Would recommend this hotel if you get a good deal.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank myamya15
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Myamya15, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It is always good to hear that you had a nice experience in our hotel. Hopefully you will choose our hotel again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Best regards, Tim Lebbink Hotel Director t.lebbink@nh-hotels.com

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location, old/small but clean rooms - except for the tissue curtain in the bathroom, nice staff but make sure you check all the payments you did !! We had 2 rooms ... the receptionist used the same credit card for both, told one of the rooms was half paid ... so make sure you do your chk in and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AleQP
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear AleQP, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is good to hear that you loved your stay with us and enjoyed Amsterdam! I will share your feedback about the showercurtain and payment with the departments involved. Hopefully we could welcome you again in the future. With kind regards, Tim Lebbink Hotel Director t.lebbink@nh-hotels.com

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a great place to stay if you are sightseeing in Amsterdam. It's right next to the flower market but central to the Rijksmuseum,Dam Square, red light district Vondelpark and Rembrandt Square. There is bike hire right outside the hotel but most importantly after a long day on your feet the bed is too die for - so comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianemus
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Dianemus, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It is always good to hear that you had a nice experience in our hotel. Hopefully you will choose our hotel again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Best regards, Tim Lebbink Hotel Director t.lebbink@nh-hotels.com

Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Early check in & gave us upgrade to "superior" room from double room (room52) the room smelled old & damp. We had a kitchen with stove top but no pots, a filthy kettle with no English teabags, WINDOWS DON'T OPEN so the smell never aired out. Carpet so dirty and stained. Bath had scum all around, a dirty bloody plaster...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trisha M
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Trisha M, Thank you very much for the time you have taken to share your experience with us, only with the help of your feedback we can obtain and approve our service and quality level. First of all I want to express, how much I regret that not everything was arranged perfectly during your stay. Since we are sincerely...

874 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (631)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (195)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (234)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#103 of 361 in Amsterdam
896 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,438 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#63 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#99 of 361 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#117 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,418 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Price Range: $193 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NH Carlton Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
47 questions
Ask a question
Morecambe, United Kingdom

See all questions (47)

Questions? Get answers from NH Carlton Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 632 is one of two that has a terrace overlooking the canal and flower market.”
 of 5 bubbles KiloTango, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a top floor due to noisy streets”
 of 5 bubbles 373theah, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for it!”
 of 5 bubbles 90louisef, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“i think its better to get an inside room ... its quite and calm.”
 of 5 bubbles AleQP, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front facing rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles AliceEW1996, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5