We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

922 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 694: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We booked a last minute family night away with a suite and adjoining room at the Amstel. It was disappointing! Our river view was completely obscured by scaffolding blocking the windows, stains on the carpet and sofa, and the food and organization of breakfast was below expectation.. This hotel needs some serious updating to justify its reputation and price. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sim0nH1
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your honest review. I am happy to read that your children loved the pool and that you received pleasant service by my team. However, I feel sorry for the discomfort that you have experienced during your stay because of the scaffolding and the disappointing breakfast. I kindly ask you to contact me through...

Derby
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The hotel is only a few minutes walk from Weesperplein metro, and is well positioned on the banks of the Amstel. I was welcomed by the doorman, and then given a very warm and friendly welcome by the check-in agent (after the 10 minute wait...). I was given details of the hotel, along with good things to do in Amsterdam....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank youngsterdave76
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that you were welcomed in a very warm and friendly way and enjoyed the Dom Pérignon suite. I would like to thank you for your compliments to my team. I look forward to welcome you back when you visit...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed an excellent stay at the famous Amstel hotel from Intercontinental on a recent business trip. It is an elegant hotel which I was told is where ' the kings and queens stay' by a Dutch friend. The price was reasonable with a lovely room with very good bedding and bathroom. A lovely pool and spa area if you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rolando151
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your wonderful review about your experience at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. It absolutely great to read that you enjoyed your stay, the views on the river Amstel and savoured the quality of the food in the Amstel Brasserie. I am also happy to see that my team was extremely helpful during your stay. It was a...

Ashtead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2017

My wife and I stayed here for our belated silver wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived and throughout our stay, all the staff, from the housekeeping staff to the head concierge could not be nicer, friendly and helpful at all times. They all really make the hotel a very special place. I really do believe that this hotel should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwin C
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, I appreciate it very much that you took the time to share your experience with us. I am pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your wedding anniversary in our hotel and that you have been provided with friendly and helpful service by my team. Thank you very much for your recommendation and I am looking forward to...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

The best service and the best staff. Food was amazing and the room was very comfortable. We had a 3 day conference which was absolutely perfect. Our conference attendees were impressed and loved the event.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nhkalata
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to have you in our hotel for the conference. I am happy to read that you received the best service and that your attendees were impressed. I look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Anita Bos General Manager

Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewed 29 March 2017

This is an excellent Intercontinental property with excellent care to detail. The location is very good, perfect accommodations and high caliber staff. Very warm and friendly with very efficient hospitality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kr19952017
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you kindly for your review about your experience on TripAdvisor. It is great to see that you enjoyed you stay in our landmark. I am happy to read to you received warm and friendly service from my team. I look forward to welcome you back at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. Kind regards, Anita Bos General Manager

Montauroux, France
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Outstanding property and staff, great location and very good food : all you need to enjoy a fantastic stay in Amsterdam ! Thank you so much to the whole team for making our stay so memorable, we wish we'll be able to come back soon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t0ph83
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your enthusiasm about your previous stay fills me with joy and I will definitely share your praising words with my team. That your trip has become a truly memorable one is a wonderful compliment and I look forward to welcome you back soon in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Anita...

Spain
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We booked this hotel for a holiday. When we arrived there, we were amazed at the high level of service. The rooms are very large, the interior is pleasant. The toilet and shower were in the room, everything was in perfect condition. Liked the restaurant on site, we have very tasty food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Igor M
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. It fills me with joy to read that you were amazed by the high level of service and enjoyed our large rooms. I am also very happy to see that you savoured the food in our restaurant. I look forward to welcome you back soon when visiting...

Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

If you want to get the best of our beautiful capital city, choose the Intercontinental Amstel. A monumental building situated in the heart of the city, beautifuly furnished rooms and a most dedicated staff who know to combine a professional and dedicated attitude with warm friendlyness and hospitality! Breakfast, food and drinks are of excellent quality. I've stayed here two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellen19642015
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your praising words about our hotel. I am very proud to read that you received warm, friendliness and professional service by my team and that they have been of great help. I am also very happy to see that you enjoyed the breakfast, food and drinks. We would be delighted to welcome you...

Reviewed 20 March 2017

Lovely hotel, the staff were amazing and couldn't do more to help! The pool and spa and outside area on the river were lovely and so relaxing. The food and drink were also great. Will definitely come back to this hotel if I come to Amsterdam.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louisa B
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam on TripAdvisor. I am very proud to read that you received amazing service by my team and that they have been of great help. I am also very happy to see that you enjoyed our Spa & Health Club overlooking the river Amstel....

717 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (628)
Viewed
Room/Suite (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (311)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
1,211 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
531 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
2,517 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#12 of 366 in Amsterdam
1,233 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighbourhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: $543 - $1,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“insist on a river view”
JPert, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Great hotel, must stay”
622bals, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Pick a room on the canal side for quiet and sunny during the day.”
DoloresA_12, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a riverview room”
LoganXYZ, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“The boat tour of the canals is a must.”
JuanchoGarciaM, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 503* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUSD 1,014
InterContinentalUSD 507
Hotwire.comUSD 503
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates