We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam

Amstelvlietstraat 4, 1096 GG Amsterdam The Netherlands
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (673)
Room & Suite (241)
Dining (119)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#87 of 408 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perched on a meander in the Amstel, the Omval area that Ruby Emma calls home was for decades the powerhouse of Amsterdam. The gas supplied from the Zuidergasfabriek helped light and heat the city. These days, the newly formed Amstelkwartier is a more idyllic spot, but the focus on energy remains. Taking our lead from the mariners who tacked their sails to harness the wind on the river’s tight turns, Emma’s all about using the power of nature. From the thermal aquifer that stores our hot water to the building’s smart façade that reacts to the elements to heat and cool the hotel, green energy runs through Emma’s veins. Inside, the rooms all feature our Lean Luxury touches, including a big, comfy bed, aromatherapy Ruby Care products, and soft, fluffy towels, along with a Marshall amp to add some oomph to your audio.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Safe
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Amstelvlietstraat 4, 1096 GG Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam
951Reviews48Q+A51Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 616
  • 185
  • 69
  • 43
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ella M wrote a review Today
1 contribution
My partner and I were very disappointed with the way the management staff treated us during our stay. Despite the beautiful interiors of the hotel, the POOR CUSTOMER service outweighed this. The hotel has a very trendy approach to its rooms and had stylish objects to furnish their interiors; one of which was a vintage bucket. Due to the fact that there was very minimal storage space in the room we assumed this bucket was to store shoes/dirty laundry. There was another bin located in the bathroom section of the room and this bucket had no bin liner. We came back after our room was 'cleaned' -aka used towels re folded and dirty bedsheets re made- and our clothes were gone. We politely raised the inquiry with MANAGER THOMAS who came across rather patronising being persistent that the bucket was in fact a bin and preceding to say that there's a specific laundry bag in the room when there is not. The hotel did nothing to compensate but proceeded to be rude and tell us THEY BINNED OUR CLOTHES which was a lot of moneys worth. Another manager Nina Pavlenko blamed it on the cleaning company. This was just one factor that added to our poor experience but also bar staff making us feel like they were doing us a favour for making us a drink etc. Overall, this put a downer on our experience despite the amazing breakfast. I never ever write bad reviews but I couldn't not seeing as the hotel has NOT GIVEN US ANY SORT OF COMPENSATION and we are expecting something. As a side note, we felt the younger members of staff were very apologetic and happy to try and resolve our issue even though it may have not been in their power to take action on our situation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Gorgeous hotel with lovely food. But older members of staff are incredibly rude.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Megan K wrote a review 14 Feb
2 contributions
The hotel is extremely overpriced and underwhelming. The staff are INCREDIBLY rude and not at all helpful. The rooms are stuffy and there’s no way to cool it down, the thermostat doesn’t work at all and when I went to speak to someone about it, they told me they do not have the option to cool my room down… we stayed in February and I could not sleep at all because it was so hot… in FEBRUARY? We paid for the breakfast which I do not recommend, it was mainly just bread and some slices of ham (every single morning!), the coffee was gross too and every night the restaurant upstairs was ‘too full’ for us to go, even when we tried to book it the day before the woman at the front shouted ‘DO NOT SPEAK TO ME’ it was very odd… and something to consider if you’re staying with friends and family is the shower is in full view from the room and there’s no way to cover it… I did not enjoy my stay here, but the location was good, right next to a train station which is about 4 stops from the city centre plus there is a small corner shop around the side to buy bits you need like water etc. Overall, the hotel itself was terrible, definitely the worst hotel I’ve stayed in - I do not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: They claim to have aircon on their website but when asked they told me it was a ‘centralised...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Ruby, Marketing at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam
Responded yesterday
Hey Sunshine, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you took advantage of our hotel's ideal location close to the Spaklerweg metro station, which gives you quick access to all the major attractions. At our hotel, we prioritize quality over quantity as part of our Lean Luxury philosophy. While our breakfast selection is smaller than others, we still offer a variety of options including superfood cereals, fruit, pastries, cheeses, and meats. Our hosts are also happy to recommend nearby cafes and restaurants for even more options if the offered variety isn't your cup of tea. It's unfortunate that you were unable to secure a reservation at the restaurant on the 21st floor. However, please note that the restaurant is managed by a separate company, and we have no control over their booking availability. We're sorry to hear that our service was not up to scratch during your stay. Our hosts are trained to provide a warm and welcoming experience to all our guests and treat them with respect. We understand that your expectations were not met, and we appreciate you reaching out to us to share your feedback. You can be sure we'll pass your feedback on to the right person. Hopefully, you'll give us another chance to welcome you back to Amsterdam or any other Ruby hotel across Europe. Your Ruby Emma Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Aisling OConnell wrote a review 12 Feb
Dublin, Ireland39 contributions15 helpful votes
Lovely stay with fantastic staff. Sarah in particular was very friendly and helpful! The room was beautiful and it was great to be able to have twin beds. The hotel looks quite far out but in reality it takes only 15 mins on the metro to reach the city centre. In a quiet, residential area of Amsterdam which felt very safe.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Ruby, Marketing at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Hey Sunshine, Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. Part of our Lean Luxury philosophy is to provide friendly, down-to-earth service, so we're delighted to hear that our hosts in Amsterdam made your trip memorable. We'll be sure to pass on your message to the team at Ruby Emma. We are also pleased to hear that you benefited from the location, which is a little away from the hustle and bustle but is still an excellent base from which to explore the city, due to the good public transport links. We'd love to see you again soon. Your Ruby Emma Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AK5588 wrote a review Jan 2024
Swindon, United Kingdom49 contributions26 helpful votes
Reasonable stay - no frills. Left an item of highly sentimental value. You can’t speak to a human being, just automated service. Reported twice on the ‘lost and found’ and not even acknowledged. Emailed the ‘info@‘ address and still ignored. Happy to send me a customer survey though. Really disappointed, seems like I will never see my possession again, even though I would literally travel back if it helped! Ruby group, and Ruby Emma seem not bothered 😢
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Take care when you pack.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Ruby, Marketing at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Hey Sunshine, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you left something behind. Upon investigation, it appears that there may have been some miscommunication regarding the lost and found process. We did not receive a Lost & Found form in your name. However, our reservations team requested this form from you to start the investigation and also followed up with our housekeeping team to speed up the process. We understand the sentimental value of your possessions. We hope your item has been returned to you and that you'll consider staying at one of our Ruby Hotels in the future. Your Ruby Emma Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cara S wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
Me and my partner have just come back from staying at the Ruby Emma hotel and we are so happy with our experience. The staff were lovely and helpful on check in also asked how everything was after. Perfect distance from central if you want a quieter area. Easy to get a metro from central station. Room was beautiful and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
222mk777 wrote a review Dec 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom1 contribution
I left my watch in the room and filled out the lost property form online as it’s IMPOSSIBLE to speak to anyone from Hotel. They confirmed they had my watch and asked me to pay a prepaid postage label for them to return it to me which I done- have been trying to make contact with them since and I’m being ignored, they stole my watch. NEVER STAY HERE
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: NEVER GO HERE
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Ruby, Marketing at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 29 Dec 2023
Hey Sunshine, Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. After investigating the situation, we have been informed by our management that your package has already been dispatched to you. However, there was a shipping issue and due to the high volume of shipments during this time of year, it might take longer than expected for the package to arrive. We understand the frustration caused and assure you that this is not in line with our usual standards. We appreciate your patience and hope that you have received your watch by now. Hopefully, we will get a second chance to welcome you back to Amsterdam in the future. Your Ruby Emma Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GoPlaces14591828487 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Disappointing. Breakfast over priced with little choice and limited amounts(boiled egg bread and cereal is overpriced at €24 per person. Room was not clean with dusty surfaces. Shower room flooded into bedroom and sensor lights did not work when you were in there so were completely in dark everytime you used bathroom after a few seconds. No staff to assist with any questions or concerns.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Ruby, Marketing at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 27 Dec 2023
Hey Sunshine, Thanks for sharing your thoughts. We put a lot of thought into finding the best quality ingredients for our breakfast and use local suppliers as much as possible, which means it's not the cheapest option in town. However, if you book your breakfast online at the same time as your room, you'll pay less. There should be a host in the bar area 24 hours a day, so we're not sure what went wrong during your stay. We're sorry there wasn't someone to help you, but next time don't be shy - please call out if our team is busy and let them know you're there. We're very sorry to hear that your room was not as clean as it should have been. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know as cleanliness is a priority in all our hotels. Please be assured that we are looking into this, and we hope you'll give us another chance in the future. Your Ruby Emma Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Conor M wrote a review Dec 2023
Belfast, United Kingdom1 contribution
Hi there, Currently staying in this hotel, to come back ask for a drink to be told bar is closed! When seeing other guests getting served. Asked for room services to told it’s not being served at this time. What is the point of room service if people at the bar are being served and you can’t get water to the room. Currently staying in room 816 and will be leaving tomorrow morning to find another hotel!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Ruby, Marketing at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 27 Dec 2023
Hey Sunshine, Thank you very much for your visit. Our hotel follows the Lean Luxury philosophy, which sets us apart from other hotels. We deliberately refrain from offering traditional features and services like room service and long-lasting check-in processes; instead, we make smart use of technology to simplify things. With our unique concept, we focus on what truly matters, such as central locations, healthy breakfast options, unique designs and layouts, and value for money. On the second to the sixth floor, you will find free hot drinks and a Maxi bar to buy other bits and bobs in our Galleys. Otherwise, pop downstairs to the bar for a drink or a bite to eat. However, we regret that you had the impression that our hosts at the bar didn't want to serve you. We're not sure what went wrong as our team is always happy to mix up some delicious drinks for our guests. We apologize if that wasn’t your experience though. Rest assured, we’ll have a word with the team to make sure our service is always up to scratch and hope you’ll give us another chance sometime. Your Ruby Emma Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andreea M wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
We stayed at Ruby Emma Hotel for 3 nights and although the rooms and the hotel has a beautiful design and looks exactly like it is presented online, the services have really let us down. 1. When we entered the room we were very pleased with how it looked however after being in the room for a few minutes we realised how cold it was. After asking the staff to adjust the room temperature because we had adjusted it on the tablet and nothing changed, we were informed that the temperature in the room was around 18°C and they would higher it a little bit however after a few hours the temperature remained the same. They brought us an electric heater which had a strong burning smell from which we got a terrible headache so we had to turn it off and continue to keep our jackets on. The staff tried their best to resolve this issue but only after our continued complaints and our suggestion to give us a warmer room, they have done so. 2. A different issue we had was a different day when we have asked to purchase breakfast and we were not informed that the breakfast was going to end in about 10 minutes from the time we purchased it. We paid €48 for breakfast with a very poor selection which has been cleared a few minutes after we joined. We saw online that we could also order breakfast (poached eggs, scambled eggs etc.) and there was no such option, only boiled eggs, bread and very poor selection of ham and cheese. When I asked the barrista to make me a coffee I was told that breakfast time had ended and they couldn’t make us coffee anymore. 3. There was no phone in the room so the only way to reach reception was by going downstairs each time we had an issue (in our case at least 10 times). 4. We had paid to check out late on our last day (€35 to check out at 3pm instead of 11am) and the lights, tv, room key, stopped working a few minutes after 11am. Again, an issue that was resolved after going downstairs to reception however added another minus to our overall experience. 5. There were no slippers&bathrobe in the room, we purchased slippers at the vending machine on the hallway which was fine but a bathrobe would’ve been expected especially considering the temperature of the room when coming out of the shower. My suggestion for the hotel would be to ask each visitor which room temperature they are comfortable with and adjust it before their arrival or consider changing the heating system as the one they have now is very slow and takes 2-3 days to reach the desired temperature (that’s what we were told). Another thing they could improve on would be to add a phone in the room to reach reception easier in case of any issues or questions. Inform the guests about breakfast details. Add slippers & bathrobe in the room. If these issues would all be resolved we would probably return to the hotel because as I mentioned, the design was beautiful and the rooms we had stayed in were clean but the services have really taken away our initial excitement.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Ruby, Marketing at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 27 Dec 2023
Hey Sunshine, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us in detail. Our interior design team works hard to give each hotel its own unique style and ambience, so we're glad you enjoyed our hotel as much as we do. Our air conditioning system is designed to be energy-efficient and environmentally friendly. Fresh air at a constant temperature is supplied directly through the ventilation system, ensuring a continuous supply of oxygen 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The heating and cooling of the rooms is done through the ceilings, with liquids heating or cooling the concrete to create a comfortable atmosphere. We are sorry to hear that you have experienced problems with our environmentally friendly air conditioning system and that it has taken our team longer than expected to resolve the issue. For sustainability reasons, the electricity in your room is linked to the room card. Unfortunately, when the card is deactivated, which should happen one hour after check-out time, the power is also switched off. It seems that there was a technical problem that caused the card to be deactivated too early. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. While we don't provide complimentary slippers in our rooms, you can pick up a pair from the Maxi Bar machine in the Galley. It is all part of our Lean Luxury approach. By removing things that not all guests want, we're able to offer central locations, characterful design and top-notch comfort with a touch of luxury - all at a great price. You can be sure that we value your feedback and will pass it on to the right person. We hope to welcome you back soon for a second chance. Your Ruby Emma Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Taylor H wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for a long weekend at the beginning of November, it was an amazing hotel very clean and staff where very very polite. Was only 10 minutes on a train from the city central, train station was a 1 minute walk from the hotel. Perfect
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Ruby, Marketing at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Hey Taylor, Thank you so much for telling us about your trip. It sounds like you had a brilliant time – we love that. We hope to see you again soon. Your Ruby Emma Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$160 - AU$339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
QO Amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamAmsterdam East / De Omval / Watergraafsmeer
NUMBER OF ROOMS
288
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RUBY EMMA HOTEL AMSTERDAM (AU$160): 2024 Prices & Reviews (The Netherlands) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include The Axe Effect (0.3 km), Jumpsquare Amsterdam (0.3 km), and Power Zone Club (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ventuno Skylounge, Thuis Aan de Amstel, and Juniper & Kin - Kitchen Garden & Bar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (3.4 km), Portuguese Synagogue (3.4 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (3.7 km).
Is Ruby Emma Hotel Amsterdam accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.