We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 375: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
 Click to rate
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel does not deliver for the price you pay. I know it is Switzerland and you have inflated prices but this is a low quality, albeit convenient, hotel. As the title of the review says, with exactly half of the price it would be a perfect choice, with the price it has, it misses the mark. The good: The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ec_grs
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is extremely conveniently located right near the main train station and there are numerous side streets with bars, cafes and shops to explore close by. The staff were really friendly, pleasant and welcoming. Room was nice and clean and also comfortable, yet it felt a little 'clinical' with not a lot to break up the all-white walls. Also be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrThomas1981
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was perfectly clean and tidy. I had clean sheets, iron and ironing board, safe, a selection of coffees and teas, TV, phone, Zurich map, hair dryer, three towels and amenity kit in the bathroom. There's also a mini-bar with different drinks (this is charged extra, depending of what you have drank). The bed was made up every day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir T
Fassbind, Leiter Front Office at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review

Dear Vladimir T, Thank you so much for your excellent review. We were delighted to read all the positive things you mentioned about our hotel. We are trying every day to offer the most comfortable stay to our guests. It would be our pleasure to have you back with us soon again. Yours sincerely, Matthias (Front Desk)

Salsibury
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a one night stopover here on a train journey from Paris to Salzburg. This modern hotel had a great location for our purposes very close to the station and within easy walking distance to the old town. Staff were professional and polite. Our room was very clean and had tea/coffee making facilities and a comfortable bed but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
Fassbind, Leiter Front Office at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review

Dear Judy C, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion. I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay with us. As to the noise level: the great location comes at a certain price, unfortunately. I do hope that you change your mind and come back for another visit. You will always...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 30 January 2017

The best thing of this small hotel is its location right in the core of the city center, a few steps from the central station.Second good point: staff is nice and friendly. Third good point: good hair dryer in the bathroom. Here come the bad points: tiny room and nano bathroom. You can only bear a one night stay. Impossible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simona M
Fassbind, Leiter Front Office at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review

Dear Simona M, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the location and our friendly hotel staff. We do apologize for the inconveniences caused by the failure of the heating which happens like once every 10 years and which was solved after a couple of hours. The room category...

portchester
Reviewed 21 January 2017

I have marked this down, due to the poor sleep quality. We asked for a quiet room, but got room 412 right next to the busy road. Traffic goes past all night, and when the trams stop, the street cleaning begins. The room was also too hot and lacked any controls, so we had to open the window to cool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iris g
Fassbind, Leiter Front Office at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review

Dear iris g, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We are working hard on fixing the issues you mentioned to improve the quality of everyone's stay at our hotel. The do not disturb sign and the remote control are both in place and fully functional now. As of the sleeping quality: in most cases there is...

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights. The location is very good as close to central station and central tram crossroads. Easy to walk everywhere in the city from here. On edge of old town which is nice to wander around. It's a hotel without a bar/lobby area so it's in and out. Rooms are ok. Nothing special even for the so called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorraine c
Fassbind, Leiter Front Office at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine c, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to read that you appreciated the location. Due to our central location some noise coming from the street cannot be avoided that is true. We see ourselves as very reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area. We would be delighted to welcome you again here....

San Gwann
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

As the tram station states this place is so central to all your necessary public transport. I mean you totally have everything you need... Great boutique hotel, wonderful staff, spacious rooms, excellent location to catch local transport, surrounded near loads of coffee shops, restaurants and shops. The lake itself is wonderful to walk along and the hotel itself is in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xarmejnzizzi
Fassbind, Leiter Front Office at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review

Dear guest, many thanks for your excellent feedback. We are very glad to read that you had a great stay at our hotel. You are always welcome to come back! Yours, Hotel Du Theatre

Flat Rock, MI
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Had a great stay here! The rooms are tiny with no frills and few accommodations at the hotel. However, the location is perfect. Less than 5 mins from train station, and you'll pass a convenience store, Starbucks, and McD's in route here from your train. Room was clean and had a small fridge. It is noisy at night until 1am'ish....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eric_woelkers
Fassbind, Leiter Front Office at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review

Dear eric_woelkers, Many thanks for your feedback, we are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to welcome you here again soon. Kind regards, Hotel Du Theatre

nyc
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Great location in Zurich. Tiny room - but with all that is needed (hot pot, tea, coffee, desk, full size closet) and with fun modernish decor. You can pay slightly more if you want a wider bed. So worth it, given how narrow single swiss bed can be.excellent for price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dccymbal
Fassbind, Leiter Front Office at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review

Dear dccymbal, Many thanks for your feedback we appreciate it a lot and hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Hotel Du Theatre

418 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (259)
Viewed
Mini Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Standard Single Plus Room (33)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (28)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (32)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#36 of 138 in Zurich
499 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#87 of 138 in Zurich
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alexander
#39 of 138 in Zurich
456 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
701 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#28 of 138 in Zurich
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind

Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Price Range: $179 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#61 Business Hotel in Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I have stayed here only once so I can't really give a good room tip.”
 of 5 bubbles vladimirt864, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the side facing the main street since there is a tram”
 of 5 bubbles 74simonam, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room, and maybe you would get one, but maybe not.”
 of 5 bubbles irisg179, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you really care about the noise (which wasn't that bad for me) ask for a room not facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles 654obinnao, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a room facing the alley.”
 of 5 bubbles frisk_anders, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5