We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel St. Gotthard

Show Prices
#27 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel St. Gotthard
Hotel St. Gotthard
Panoramas (48)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

841 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Gotthard
See the most recent reviews
Showing 575: English reviews
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 11 August 2015

I travel for business frequently so I think I can give an opinion - this is a very comfortable, very central hotel, first class service and impeccable, quiet rooms. The rates are quite reasonable in view of the category this hotel falls in. You will not be disappointed. One thing it is not, it is not an uber-trendy design hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TylerTravelsEuro2015
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear TylerTravelsEuro2015, last year we celebrated our 125th anniversary ot our Hotel and we are very happy to know that you like our traditional style with a lot of charm and history but with modern technical installations in our rooms, free wi-fi and best Location directly on the world famous Bahnhofstreet, in the middle of the Shopping area of Zurich....

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 9 August 2015

we stayed in the city center of Zurich and it was just great. Every thing from arrival to departure. Service is just great . Especially the staff on reception always there to help no matter which time. I think its the service who makes difference. and thats what we realized during our stay. I would definitely recommend for everybody who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nira S
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Nira S, thank you very much for your great review. We highly appreciate your excellent feedback about our hotel, staff and service. Your motivating words were forwarded to our staff. Your recommendations are very important for us but also for the following travellers, interested in Hotel St. Gotthard. Looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in...

Reviewed 4 August 2015

This is a small very cozy and recently updated hotel at the best location in zurich. close to the central station and in the heart of the city. staff are very friendly, rooms are decent and the recent renovation made my stay very comfortable. the bathroom and shower are superb. everything was thought of during the renovation. the beds have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaj K
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Kaj K, thank you for great review and the time you have taken to write this very positive feedback. All your recommendations are higly apreciated and we forward your motivating comments also to our staff. During our renovation in 2012 we specially adapted to international Standards like power outlets by the bed, free wi-fi in all the hotel and...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Porter came for baggage. I made a mistake and booked a month late. However they found a room they were friendly and efficient. Check in was good (its Switzerland). Room was very nice with a Bahnhoffstrasse view and double glazing. Very comfortable nice thick duvet. Very nice linen all perfect. Bathroom was very nice and well stocked with soaps and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Gary D, thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor. We are very glad that you liked your stay and our service and location. We highly appreciate your recommendations to stay again but we also take note of the Information about the bathroom, which must be one of the fews that were not renovated. Our breakfastbuffet inludes broiled and...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel has a really good location very close to the main train station and 10 mins away from the lake. The receptionists are friendly and helpful especially Fransciska :) However, the rooms are very small but it wouldn't really matter if ur going to spend most of the day out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amnamzq
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear amnamzq, Thank you for your kind review. With pleasure we will forward your motivating comments to Franziska, our reception clerk. We offer several room types from the small single rooms, standard double rooms, deluxe rooms with a bigger size, junior suites up to the biggest suite on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, our "St. Gotthard Suite" with 84m2. We are...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect and while in a busy area of the city, we found our room on the first floor was surprisingly quiet. In fact it was fun looking out on the street activity. Our room was an upgraded one and we enjoyed our pleasant room. The room was very clean and had good amenities. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristchurchStewarts
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear ChristchurchStewards, we are very proud that you, as aTop Contributor of Tripadvisor, took the time to write your Feedback. Thank you very much for recommending us. We are very glad that you appreciated our double isolated windows in the rooms, facing to the world famous Bahnhofstreet, to assure a quied stay to our guests. Your motivating comments about our...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and found it too expensive and having little if any welcome / personal contact with the staff. we tried to contact them six times over a four hour period to say that we would be late but no one answered the phone. It had been "modernised" recently - unfortunately in a cheap and gaudy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Philip R, thank you for your review and the time you have taken to inform us about your experience with us. We are very sorry, that your phone calls were not answered. There must have been a technical problem because our reception - telephone service attends 24h a day. Thanks to your information we can check our phone system....

Jeddah
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel One of the main concerns to us was the Location. If you are planning to visit outside Zurich and go on tours, the location is PERFECT. It is only a minute walk from the main station and 5 minutes walk from the excursions area where you can take many tours in Zurich and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xxSushixx
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear xxSushixx, Thank you very much for your kind comments on Tripadivsor and recommending our location, in the very city centre of Zurich.We are very sorry that you did not like the asian design and would certainly upgrade you during a next stay with us in a deluxe design room.. In our Hotel you can find a choice of different...

Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Reviewed 25 July 2015

This hotel is located at a very convenient location, right in between the Zurich Hauptbahnhof and the world famous Bahnhofstrasse. They have just completed their renovation and the rooms feel new, for me. The best part, albeit a small one, was the personalized greeting when you switch on the TV. So that was a nice touch. It's very quiet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank two5kid
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear two5kid, thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you liked our personalized welcome message on the TV screen. It is our goal to offer ot our customers a personalized service in our hotel. We highly appreciate that you mentioned our perfect location directly at the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, 2 minutes from the railwailstation and in...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Newly renovated hotel. Quiet & Cozy, despite being on the main shopping area. Very clean & comfortable beds. Good powerful hot / cold showers. We were there during a very hot summer, our initial room was quite warm, upon complain they immediately upgraded us. Bellboy was very helpful. Location excellent, right in front of Zurich HB station, Shopping & Eateries....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinod S
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Vinod S, thank your taking the time to write your important review about the Hotel and its important surrounding for shopping, Transportation and sightseeing. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and with pleasure we forward your positive comments to our staff. $ We higly appreciate your recommendations and are looking forward to welcoming you...

613 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (397)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (50)
Viewed
Executive Suite (76)
Viewed
Junior Suite (46)
Viewed
Queen Comfort Room (47)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
St. Gotthard Suite (103)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#47 of 139 in Zurich
346 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#18 of 139 in Zurich
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Plaza Hotel
#42 of 139 in Zurich
646 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#16 of 139 in Zurich
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range: $252 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Family Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel St. Gotthard staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St. Gotthard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the main street is a bit noisy at night.”
 of 5 bubbles pkhappy, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the courtyard are very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 861ivanm, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for the Junior Suite for the extra amenities and space”
 of 5 bubbles karachimom, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room facing courtyard is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles HillpeopleAustralia, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lower floor, as the top floor is a former attic which has low ceilings.”
 of 5 bubbles globaltrotter800, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5