We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel St. Gotthard

Show Prices
#28 of 134 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel St. Gotthard
Hotel St. Gotthard
Panoramas (48)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

821 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 559: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Convenient location near to the train station and the famous shopping belt just right below the hotel. Friendly hotel staff. Room is small but not quite unexpected. Basic furnishings and toiletries provided.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny N
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Danny N thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback. We are very glad that you liked our location directly on the world famous Bahnhofstreet and in the middle of the main shopping area of Zurich. We offer several room types from confort to de luxe and we have also 8 suites, one of them...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our family of 5 (3 adult children) stayed here for 4 nights in December 2016. This hotel is situated on the famous Bahnhofstrasse, so you are literally right in the center of Old Town Zurich. Walk outside and your on the main shopping strip! It is also walking distance from the train station (we crossed the street from the train...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romina A
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Romina A thank you for having choosen our Hotel for your stay in Zurich together with your family. We are very glad that you liked our location directly on the world famous Bahnhofstreet and in the middle of the main shopping area of Zurich. Your positive comments were forwarded to our staff. Our Italian Bar "Manzoni" is famous for...

Port Washington, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am in Zurich often, but this is the first time I stayed in this wonderful hotel. The room was spacious, clean and I had a balcony over looking the main street which fortunately was decorated for Christmas time. The Front Desk, Bar and Restaurant staff were all so pleasant and helpful. The place was charming and you felt comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelPer_61
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear MichaelPer_61 thank you for having choosen our Hotel for your stay in Zurich. We are very glad that you liked our location directly on the world famous Bahnhofstreet and in the middle of the main shopping area of Zurich with the nice Christmas lightning. Your positive comment motivate our staff a lot. All our rooms facing to the main...

Nacka
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really bad trieting of the hotels (booking.com) customers. When booking at Booking.com it says "Breakfast Included" and when arriving to hotel the staff tells us that breakfast is not included. Looking at the emailed confirmation letter breakfast is not included but the thing is that it's a mismatch (between pressing the booking button and the confirmation email) and that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathias T
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Mathias T thank you for having choosen our Hotel for your stay in Zurich together with your family. We are very sorry that you had the mentioned confusion with the breakfast. With pleasure we Forward your feedback to booking.com, certainly this is an important input to avoid such missunderstandings in further reservations. We offer a Special rate of 25.-...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is excellent, it is situated on main street and close to Main Train Station. Rooms are clean, some of them facing main street, that you can enjoy illumination of the city; and some - more quiet, however facing to smaller street or inside garden. The staff of the hotel is welcoming and helpful anytime. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irinakuzmina2017
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear irinakuzmina2017 thank you for staying with us and having taken the time to give us your feedback. We are very glad that you liked our location directly on the world famous Bahnhofstreet. Your motivating words were forwarded to our staff. Actually you can enjoy the nice Christmas illumination of the Bahnhofstreet. All our rooms facing to the main street...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I did not stay at the hotel but went there to give a lecture. The staff was extremely kind and helpful both in helping set up computer (a rare occurrence, usually one looses much time trying to find right plugs, screen, etc.) as well as bringing food and beverages in a timely way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Christine B thank you for having taken the time to give us your great Review, we Forward with pleasure to our staff. It is our goal to offer a high standard service in all areas of the Hotel and our location, near the main station is highly appreciated by our banquet and Seminar customers. We offer several meeting rooms,...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an extremely disappointing stay at the Hotel St. Gotthard. We were given rooms on the top floor (likely a former attic with low slanted ceilings). I noticed that there are other positive reviews for this hotel, so it is possible that the rooms on the lower floors are better. However, ours was dusty, outdated, and claustrophobic. Plus, given...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank globaltrotter800
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear globaltrotter800 Thank you very much for staying with us and having taken the time to give us your Extended feedback.We are very sorry that you did not like your stay with us. We take your recommendation very serious and your critics help us to improve our service and installations. We are very sorry that you did not like your...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

centrally located (almost across the street from the main train station) hotel with somewhat modern-ish room decor. ideal for someone taking day trips out of the city since you can quickly walk to HB. The windows face hauptbahnhoffstrasse so the rooms can be a bit noisy on weekends and holidays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank August H
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear August H Thank you very much for your kind rewiev. We are very glad that you liked our location, directly at the world famous Bahnhofstreet and in the middle of the main shopping area of Zurich. We are sorry, that even of our double isolated windows in the rooms facing to the Bahnhofstreet, you had some noise from the...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 night/3 days between Christmas and the New Year. We had booked on line directly and thought the hotel was good value related to local prices. We arrived by train with 2 heavy suitcases and we were delighted to find that the hotel was literally 2 minutes walk from.the station. It was very well-situated for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Robin H thank you for staying with us and having taken the time to give us your Feedback. We are very glad that you liked our Location and Service. We highly appreciate your information about the tea/coffee supplies and the breakfast. Those comments help us to improve our service. There must be a missunderstanding about the continental breakfast, our...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, very near to Zurich HB train terminus and department stores like Manor and Globus. Nice hotel, helpful and friendly crew. Good food at the hotel's Hummer Bar and Restaurant.. Worth to stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 986ben
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear von 986ben, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy that you liked our Hummer Bar Restaurant which is very well known in Zürich. Your nice words will be also forwarded to our crew. Looking forward welcoming you back at our Hotel. Best regards A.Kascioglu Deputy General Manager

604 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (397)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (50)
Viewed
Executive Suite (76)
Viewed
Junior Suite (46)
Viewed
Other (150)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#49 of 134 in Zurich
343 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#21 of 134 in Zurich
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 134 in Zurich
665 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#41 of 134 in Zurich
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range: $251 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel St. Gotthard staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St. Gotthard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a lower floor, as the top floor is a former attic which has low ceilings.”
 of 5 bubbles globaltrotter800, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 986ben, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on the 5th floor. Both rooms 535 & 536 had views of the shopping street and the mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles Buttercarp, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Usual quite rooms of main street, just the opposite if you like to watch outside.”
 of 5 bubbles geoffreyc514, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles BradSouthAfrica, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay