We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 350: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last weekend , it will be the third time we have visited here, first time was 10 years ago- 2nd was last year! I think we shall be arriving for my birthday treat every year now! I was given the choice of every hotel in Montreaux but I chose this one again! We always have... More 

Thank DerbyshireMousie
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Close to the lake but old building and old furnitures in the rooms. I am disappointed by my stay in this hotel for many reasons: I could not sleep the first night because it was too noisy with a permanent AC noise The second night I moved to a smaller room and the bathroom was not cleaned (the amenities products... More 

Thank laurencx2016

Travellers are raving about these Montreux hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a night there,nice hotel with its coffee making facilities..gave me a comfortable stay...unfortunately I misplaced my wedding ring searching all over couldnt find it.....only to realize it maybe hidden near the bedside phone..but then I had flown home to Malaysia....sad......wishing somebody will find it....remember it was at r 525.....

Thank Hamimah H
Royla_Plaza_Montreux, The Management Team at Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux, responded to this review

Dear Hamimah, Thank you very much for your nice review. We are sorry to read that you lost your wedding ring, please note that we have searched the entire room 525 and unfortunately didn't find anything. We sincerely hope that you will find it in your luggage. With our kindest regards, The Management Team More 

Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A nice Hotel next to the are with a wonderful view. unfortunately guests are not really welcomed. I was there early and my partner had my passport so even I could give the all my details of the reservation they didn't let me in. After that I have to pay before and also a deposit just in case I am... More 

Thank Viator M
Royla_Plaza_Montreux, The Management Team at Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux, responded to this review

Dear Viator, We would like to thank you for your review. Your reservation was probably in the hotel Villa Toscane which is situated in front of the Royal Plaza Montreux & Spa, on the other side of the road. Concerning the payment upon check-in, this situation can only happen if you had booked a non-refundable rate (the payment should even... More 

TOUILLON, Burgundy
Level Contributor
166 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Having paid for a room with a full lake view we were unimpressed to be given a side view of the local children's park with a glimpse of the lake. When challenged, the hotel stated all lake view rooms were taken. Our room was very run down with tired decoration, burn marks on the carpet, dirt on the sofa and... More 

Royla_Plaza_Montreux, The Management Team at Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux, responded to this review

Dear PRolland, We are quite surprised and sad to read your complain as it was already registered twice, once directly with our colleagues at the reception and secondly with Voyage Privé. You were accommodated in the Deluxe room n°520 with a wonderful view on the lake and the alps. Our Front Office Manager proposed you to move into another Junior... More 

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This hotel seems to be frozen in time in the 70's. The decor hasn't changed since then, neither has anything other than the TVs been upgraded or repaired. The air conditioning was so loud I had to switch it off. The stuffy room has stains on the carpet, discolored and dirty patches on the walls, and the corridors were beaten... More 

1 Thank FlyingDutchmanYVR
Royla_Plaza_Montreux, The Management Team at Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for having taken the time to review our property. Our hotel is not yet renovated but we are doing our best to ensure quality and comfort for every guest. Would you please contact us and give us the room number where you were staying in order to check your bathroom as well as the availability of... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

The exterior of the hotel could do with some updating but the mountain views are stunning. I went for a weekend spa break with a friend, the only criticism would be the spa allowed children which with screaming French kids wasn't as relaxing as I'd hoped. The treatments were on the expensive side which is to be expected in Switzerland.... More 

Thank Gemsxxx
Royla_Plaza_Montreux, The Management Team at Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux, responded to this review

Dear Gems, Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that you were annoyed by some children screaming in the spa area, they should not be using the pool without their parents. We are so happy to learn that you had a good time in the restaurant. Please come back to Montreux very quickly and use the promotional... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Beautiful hotel at the border of Lac Leman, we got upgraded from Villa Toscane. the hotel is big and has many services, the decor was amazing in the past but it needs some renovation, specially the rooms and the bathroom, not really great for a 5 stars hotel. There are better options in Montreux if you really want a luxury... More 

Thank Arantxa R
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We only stayed one night at the beginning of a Tauck trip. It is a lovely, modern hotel with a fantastic view of Lake Geneva. The rooms are quite large and comfortable. Be sure to get a room with the lake view and enjoy the balcony. We only had a group dinner and the buffet breakfast at the hotel, but... More 

1 Thank swrtzmk
Royla_Plaza_Montreux, The Management Team at Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux, responded to this review

Dear swrtzmk, it is a real pleasure to receive such a nice feedback, thank you very much. We are looking forward to welcome you again with Tauck. With our best regards, The Management Team More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife for four nights on the suite with full lake view. It was one of the best hotels in visit there. The only problem thats there was no hot water in the morning and in the night it wasn't that hot. Every thing else was perfect. You have to pay for the parking like all... More 

Thank Faisal A
Royla_Plaza_Montreux, The Management Team at Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux, responded to this review

Dear Faisal A, Thank you very much for having taken the time to review our property so nicely. Please note that we have special packages on our website that includes the parking (bed and breakfast rates) and you can also use the promotion code “ROYALPRIVILEGE” in order to enjoy a 10% off on your next booking. With all our congratulations... More 

482 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (315)
View from Room (38)
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Bathroom (17)
Room/Suite (66)
Dining (3)
Family/Play Areas (4)
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Videos (1)
Other (132)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (167)
View from Room (1)
Hotel & Grounds (142)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (5)
Dining (5)
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.4 km away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.5 km away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
1.2 km away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#11 of 17 in Montreux
613 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 17 in Montreux
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Cafe Bellagio
Cafe Bellagio
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, European, Swiss
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux

Address: avenue Claude Nobs 7, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Price Range: $205 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montreux
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
over a year ago
Tel Aviv, Israel

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“upper floors and angle rooms”
 of 5 bubbles laurencx2016, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure that you have a room with a full lake view. Better, don't stay.”
 of 5 bubbles PROLLAND, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a high floor room on the lake side. On lower floors views are obstructed by trees.”
 of 5 bubbles FlyingDutchmanYVR, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lake view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 429arantxar, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a balcony and a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles swrtzmk, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay