We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Backstage Hotel Vernissage

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 129: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

absolutely fabulous hotel we just loved it. Great location, exquisite views of ice rink and matterhorn. Glass and modern design, stylish and hip and very very comfortable beds and pillows and nice linen, The breakfast was superb, the spa was amazing. We felt at home here and very very comfortable. An amazing cinema too. Only complaint is no gluten free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmeyers2015
san juan, pr
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the perfect hotel for a vacation that involves skiing as well as enjoying the nightlife of Zermatt. It is perfectly located in the town so that you can easily walk to the lifts and at night you can also easily walk to town to enjoy the many restaurants and bars of Zermatt. We traveled with our kids (18...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelyari
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked one of the cube rooms and were impressed by the style and design. Although not to everyone's taste, its certainly different. On a skiing holiday you appreciate a good bath and soak after a day on the piste, the bath took over 40mins to fill up! The design is quirky and if you are in a new relationship...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a deluxe double with Matterhorn view. The room was on the first floor and had a funky design. The shower and toilet is behind a glass wall (not 100% private), the bathroom is integrated in the room and very limited in space. For 2 person for a longer winter holiday, the room is too cramped, but for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luxuryvoyage
Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Zermatt to experience a White Christmas. Unfortunately this did not materialise, but everything else was perfect. To get to the snow, we had to travel up the ski slopes, which was magical. The Backstage Hotel and Spa was the perfect place to return to at the end of the day, or simply to relax if you needed a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marius K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unique little hotel in the centre of zermatt with outstanding designer work and creativity. If you're a person who values attention to detail and innovative approach in such a small mountain town this should be a place to stay in for one night at least. To have such a beautiful transformative area like cinema/club/gallery where a Michelin star chef makes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martina V
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Zermatt is a great ski resort and the Backstage Boutique was well situated in the middle of the town. The cube loft was perfect and luxurious allowing us to enjoy the room as there was space to walk around, swing several cats, watch tv on the sofa or bath and using the 2nd tv to watch from the bed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sammyjo1966
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our hotel room was stunning, staff are very nice and helpful, views were amazing all over this hotel. I loved the spa and it was all included. Breakfast was included with out room and it was a buffet, lovely food and a good selection.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zoe M
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended hotel, in the center of Zermatt, with a fantastic spa. The cube rooms are modern and well designed, with a nice terrace. Attentive and refined service, friendly staff at the front desk as well as in the spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Llt A. C
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

A friend and I came to enjoy a short getaway and was immediately disappointed with the hotel. It looks nothing like their website. It is so small and cramped and every walkway/hall is super narrow. We got the Cube Suite but that was horrible, too. I guess the designer was going for pure looks and not practicality. First of all,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank stephenie0317
BackstageZermatt, Owner at Backstage Hotel Vernissage, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would personally like to apologise, as architect and owner of the Backstage Hotel, for the unfortunate experience you had with us. Please let me explain below .... If you were looking for a comfortable, straightforward Hotel, Restaurant, Cinema and Wellness area then you would have found yourself in the wrong place. If, however, you are looking for...

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (58)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 km away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#31 of 109 in Zermatt
408 reviews
0.4 km away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#9 of 109 in Zermatt
175 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 109 in Zermatt
480 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 109 in Zermatt
548 reviews
0.4 km away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Backstage Hotel Vernissage

Address: Hofmattstrasse 4, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Price Range: $261 - $821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backstage Hotel Vernissage 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Backstage Hotel Vernissage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#34 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Backstage Hotel Vernissage staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Backstage Hotel Vernissage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check out whether the nightclub is open as this may affect sleep quality.”
 of 5 bubbles cliver182, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“deluxe without Matterhorn view”
  • deluxe room with Matterhorn view
  • balcony deluxe room with Matterhorn view
  • view from deluxe room with Matterhorn view
  • deluxe room with Matterhorn view
  • deluxe room with Matterhorn view
 of 5 bubbles luxuryvoyage, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I believe any room would be great!”
 of 5 bubbles desavinicius, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“To choose a good room, choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles NataliaStavskaya, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms in the chalet are awesome! My only advice is stay here if you can!”
  • View of the Matterhorn from the hot tub after rising through the roof!
  • View of Zermatt from the hot tub after rising through the roof!
 of 5 bubbles RobandNancy, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay