Hotel Matthiol
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Matthiol

Traveller (347)
Room & Suite (69)
They serve cheese fondue in these igloos outside
Dining (42)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#59 of 102 hotels in Zermatt
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Immerse yourself in an innovative hotel experience at the foot of the Matterhorn. Nestling in the incomparable Alpine world and facing the Horu (the local name for the Matterhorn), our two timber and stone chalets are an authentic oasis of peace and relaxation for discerning individualists and families. Rustic and modern, traditional and trendy – in Matthiol, contrasts collide and blend into one harmonious entity. The exclusive charm of our hotel is reflected not only in the attractively appointed guest rooms and suites but also in the culinary finesse of our chef de cuisine. Our spa promises balm for body and soul. Escape everyday routine and tank up on new energy.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Skiing
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

Moosstrasse 40, Zermatt 3920 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
Sion Airport
41.4 km
See all flights
Belp Airport
102.5 km
See all flights
245Reviews2Q+A36Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 184
  • 31
  • 18
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lisa K wrote a review Mar 2020
Sonoma, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at Hotel Matthiol in 2015, and returned this February for our second stay. The hotel is under new ownership, and they went from 22 rooms to 33 rooms. We loved this hotel because of it's ski in/ski out access, and since it's at the top of the town, it is quiet and peaceful and employed top notch staff. The staff has changed quite a lot. Although the young staffers were friendly, Hotel Matthiol used to employ people from the top European hospitality schools, now the staff seems more like young kids taking a break from college to work in a ski town, who lacked deep knowledge of the area and services. The service has declined in quality, and the front desk is understaffed. They would benefit from a concierge, with knowledge of the area and local services, especially have two people during peak periods of check out, getting out in the morning etc.
The rooms have been remodeled and are much smaller than before. In some, they have squeezed in a private sauna, which is a lovely amenity, however, finding a place to put winter luggage and ski gear was challenging. The fans cycle on constantly in the bathroom, which is bothersome in the middle of the night when you're trying to sleep. The ski room is no longer heated, nor do they still have boot dryers. which is an important and desirable amenity for skiers!
The hotel does not have shuttle service, and the bus does not run late, so you if you have dinner in town, you will be relegated to either walk back or take an expensive taxi back. We didn't find this to be an issue, and since you can ski in and out, you are not subject to waiting for a bus with space at the bottom of the hill when returning from skiing.
We dined at the restaurant for dinner twice, mainly because we didn't feel like going into town. The food was good, the restaurant is lovely, but they were short on wait staff. The main waiter, was running around to all the tables, practically sweating he was running so much. This type of service, although with good intention, is not what I would expect for an pricey sit down atmosphere. We do hope some of the rough spots in the hotel are smoothed so we would consider returning again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms facing the Matterhorn actually face a large yellow Chalet, Views other direction are...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah S, Manager at Hotel Matthiol
Responded 30 Apr 2020
Dear globaldeva Thank you for your review and your feedback! Kindly note that the owner is still the same but decided to renovate the hotel as we got too many requests and had to refuse guests. This is why the big suiteshave been split into smaller double rooms. We are sorry that you felt that the staff was not on the level you wished but be assured that we are selecting our staff carefully and we are a bit surprised that the front desk members could not give you advice on the area as most of them are locals who grew up in Zermatt. We will check about the fans in the bathrooms and apologize for this matter. Regarding the luggage and ski gear, we do have a luggage room at reception where you could have left your suitcases and the skiroom offers enough space for the gears. Also, the skiroom is heated and inside your room locker, there are boot dryers for 2 pair of boots. Each room has a locker. We would be pleased to welcoming you back to change the negative impression you had into a positive one. Best regards Laura
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erica W wrote a review Feb 2020
Palo Alto, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked hotel Matthiol on the advise of our Swiss friends. I saw on their website that they had a Snow and Relax package that looked like a good value because it included some meals, ski passes and a massage. I have been to Europe many times so I have reasonable expectations for hotel quality. I think this is a very lovely boutique hotel. Here are some things I really loved about the experience:

We were about a 10 minute walk to the Gondola to the mountain. There is a ski in and ski out option, you just have to walk a little bit...

We were upgraded to a top floor room (3rd) and our room included a small private sauna, bathtub next to the bed and a waterfall shower with a steam feature. We liked that it was a king sized bed, rather than being two twins pushed together. Our package included a bottle of wine, salami plate and two pieces of chocolate. It was a nice touch. Room has a smart TV which I could play music on from my phone. The hair dryer was also excellent quality. Bed was a little hard for our taste but us Americans tend to be bed snobs and understand when traveling the rest of the world mattresses just aren't as comfortable in the rest of the world.

Having a good spa, sauna and steam room is essential for a good Apres Ski. This hotel had two saunas and a steam room and an outdoor hot tub. Its always so fun to be in an outdoor hot tub in the sun. The wellness center also had hot tea, dried fruits and nuts to snack on.

The staff was extremely helpful and courteous.

The hotel has a wonderful restaurant called Filet et Fils which I will also review separately. It was fantastic!!! We had a tomahawk steak, excellent side dishes and a fantastic meal. The server was incredible. We loved his dinner recommendations and he gave us great advise on skiing too. He would talk to us when he saw us in the hotel over the following few days and it wonderful to have such a friendly experience.

The hotel rate includes a breakfast. It has coffee, tea, croissants, breads, yogurt, cereals, salamis and chacuterie, juices and jams. They also have pancakes, eggs and omelettes to order, I tried the eggs and omelette and they were amazing.

The bar food and snack menu was quite good! We really liked the fish soup, hamburger and beef tartar.

We would return if we ever have a chance to come back to the Swiss Alps!!! Definitely a place for couples, don't bring your kids here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the matterhorn, the view on the other side isn't bad either. The...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah S, Manager at Hotel Matthiol
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear 193ericaw Thank you for your review and your rating! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be very pleased to welcoming you back in case you plan to come back to the Alps on another occasion. It is like you say, the hotel is more for couples but we have nice alternatives for families with our different apartments we host in Zermatt too. Best regards Laura
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elisabeth Fransdonk wrote a review Aug 2021
Lausanne, Switzerland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are gorgeous, especially after the renovation. The location is on walking distance from the center of Zermatt, ideal if you want to combine the quiet of the mountains with the buzz of Zermatt at a 10 minutes walk. The price of the bar and the restaurant however was a bad surprise. After having been invoiced 11 CHF for a bottle of water we decided not to eat or drink here. Its a shame, if they would make their restaurant and bar prices more reasonable we would have definitely spend more money there. Penny wise, pound foolish...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: the spa rooms are amazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
swissbarracuda wrote a review Apr 2021
Bern, Switzerland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to that four stars???? hotel (that should be a 2 star instead) and we had our room not cleaned in two nights. No clean towels, no clean glasses, no blanket exchange. In any 3 star hotel around the world, rooms are a lot better cleaned than in Matthiol (and as far as I remember, it was announced on a paper in the lift that they clean daily).
At arrival, we were informed that the minibar is for free. Yes sure. In a room for two, it has one single small beer, one single small coca cola, one single small apple juice and not to mention the tap water which costs in the restaurant 6.- CHF! What a generous gesture!
We booked the mountain view believing we would see the Matterhorn as they show in the pictures on the webpage. WRONG! Only when leaning dangerously over our balcony, we got a glimpse of the very tip of the Matterhorn. I believe that maybe two or three rooms on the left of the hotel can see the Matterhorn.
Now, the restaurant is called fillets & fils. You will expect a good piece of meat there, right? Wrong, totally wrong! To start, I need to say that the ladies of the service start to clean the restaurant after 7:00, when the first guests should be allowed to sit and have their breakfast in peace. Instead, we were surrounded by the noisy vacuum and 4 service ladies trying to make the delayed job in a total chaos (on both mornings).
Concerning the kitchen, I liked that you can see that they kept it clean, however, I was astonished to see everybody in the kitchen without a face mask! Currently, normal restaurants and bars are not allowed to open due to safety risks, and the workers at Matthiol don’t even bother to follow the national rules.
What I really appreciated was that they freshly prepared eggs and omelets for breakfast. As well as the friendly treatment of the young ladies working at filet and fils.
The meat was in almost all cases, half meat, half bones, not always prepared as demanded and with some vegetables that looked plastic. All cold and tasteless. The manager called Michael, an absolute unprofessional and arrogant guy who was more acting to disturb the clients than to help them.
And for the hotel manager called Laura, if you will “copy and paste” the same answer as you have given since more than two years, it’s not up to your guests to react instantly and complain. I tried to enjoy as much time with my partner as possible rather than fixing and signaling the many things that went wrong. This is not my job. It’s yours. It may be in your interest to react and solve something that is mentioned several times since years.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Schwarzenbach, Owner at Hotel Matthiol
Responded 29 June 2021
Dear Swissbaracuda, Thank you very much for taking so much time to write your experience on TripAdvisor. Our room cleaning takes place daily in the hotel, except when the do not disturb sign is posted or at the request of the guest. The fact that your room was not cleaned for two days is not according to our service. We have different room categories at Hotel Matthiol. The views from the rooms are different, we have rooms with a view of the Matterhorn and others have a view of the mountain panorama of Zermatt. This is clearly shown on all our room descriptions. Our restaurant is ready for breakfast at 07:00, with the aim that you can eat your breakfast in peace and start the day energised and fresh. Masks are compulsory for everyone, including our kitchen, everyone has to wear them. The quality of our food is very important to us and we give great importance to it. Everything is homemade, from our pasta to our breakfast dishes. Our chefs spend a lot of time and passion to make our dishes. We have different cuts of meat on our menu; some with bones and some without. The dishes should always be served hot and with the right level of cooking and not different. If this was not the case for you, please let us know directly at the table next time so that we can find a solution immediately. We are very sorry that your stay with us at Hotel Matthiol did not meet your expectations. We have very high standards for ourselves as a hotel and team with the aim that our guests feel comfortable and can enjoy their holiday with us to the fullest and that they will return. We have also taken your feedback very much to heart, also regarding our staff. If you would give us another chance, we would be very happy to welcome you again to fully meet your expectations! Best regards, C. Blaser & the Matthiol team Hotel manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Swissshamoo wrote a review Apr 2021
Bern, Switzerland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We book in this "4 star" hotel for two nights. We paid 882 + 220 for two dinners. The gave is room N° 28.
First we will like say that we were satisfied by the attention and the good manners we received from Gucci (at the reception), Viktoria, Monika and Szidonia as housekeepers, and Myriam, Simone and Dominika at the restaurant service and breakfasts.
However, the restaurant manager (we think he's an Austrian called Michael) was extremely arrogant, and very unfriendly with us. He melted like a margarine in generosity if the guests were from Germany or German speakers, but he seems to be anglophobic intolerant and unprofessional when nationalities are not from his culture. He was able to turn our dinners in a bad moment we always try to reduce to the minimum of time possible. He was not able or willing to recommend to us any main food and less the wines. For others, he was all the time giving advice. He was all the time screaming "Alles klar?" from one corner of the room to the other to his favorite german speaking guests, or making signs to the waitress that they need to move faster for his priviledged guests.
This guy ruined our only two dinners. If we will be at the direction of that hotel, he will be fired on the spot.
The other negative points were related to what the hotel advertise and offer and what in reality we got.
Restaurant was cleaned during our breakfast time, not before. So very noisy with the vacoom and the moving of tables and chairs
No mountain view for us, and aceptable only at the left wing of the hotel (standing at the main entry), our room was never changed (towels or glasses) neither the garbage we generate was removed. The room is extremely narrow and filled with an horrendous furniture that have no harmony with each other. One lavabo do not evaquate the water as it should, and the shower flooded the bathroom floor due to a lack of a good sealed door.
We could continue, but that hotel is not worth our time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Demand before booking if they will guarantee Matterhorn view, not simply mountain view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James S wrote a review Feb 2020
Park City, United States
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel is located the furthest away from City Center. It can be good if you are skiing, so you can ski out and in. Getting to city is a long 20 minute walk, uphill on way back, or a bus ride or a spendy taxi. The Facilities are nice and staff is friendly.
I am not recommending due to an unfortunate event that was handled poorly.
We had a nice room and facility looked nice. After further inspection there were these little flying bugs all over the place. We informed house keeping and they were kind enough to come attempt to clean and remove bugs. Unfortunately their attempt failed. My wife and I woke up with bugs over us, on legs, in ears. It was terrible.
They were unwilling to move our room or refund our evening. We attempted to move to a different hotel, but we were there for only two nights, and couldn't find a room for just the one night. Housekeeping again tried to clean room, but it was not a success.
Upon checkout, I asked if they would do anything adjusting our bill for the disgusting bugs. They said sorry, no. but manager would be contacting me. I waited three days, he did finally respond but said he needed more time.
I still have not heard anything.
Bugs in room, bed, shower, bathroom are not acceptable. Not removing them and ending up all over my body is disgusting.
Be advised of this place and its insect problems!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose one without BUGS if they have them
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah S, Manager at Hotel Matthiol
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear James Thank you for your comment and your previous emails. As we already informed you by email, the bugs were fruit flies and are absolutely harmless. Also, we already replied to you that this is due to our location next to the forest that starts at the back of the hotel. Due to the warmer temperatures than usual, it is possible that nature awakens earlier and so do all the bugs and flies. We tried our best to solve the problem during your stay by putting fruit fly traps in your room and cleaning it. These are the only possibilities we had on your 3 day stay to solve the problem and even if you have fruit flies at home, you could not do anything else. It is also not fair to threaten us that you will denigrate us if you don't get a refund as per your email: Sorry to hear about your decision. It will cost you more that One or Two Hundred Euros, which was all I was looking for, for the inconvenience. I have posted on Yelp and Trip Advisor my experience and now will continue to post on my Travel Agencies (Americas Travel Agency) website,facebook, instagram, as well as our IATA contacts for the region. Of course I will advise my clients traveling in your region of my experience there as well. James Best regards from Zermatt Laura
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LuckyDog3 wrote a review May 2022
New Jersey
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My adult daughter and I stayed for 2 nights in early April. Despite terrible weather which sadly meant no sighting of the Matterhorn, we really enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious with comfortable beds and a sweet patio. Our favorite part of our stay was dinner in one of the magical Fondue Kotas on a snowy evening! The little huts have heating and music and we were treated to a wonderful selection of meats, cheeses and pickles as an appetizer, followed by the most delicious fondue (and bread) we have ever had! What a fun and special way to spend an evening. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, especially since we were looking for bad weather options. The hotel’s private pick-up service was not available when we arrived but the hotel paid for our taxi. The hotel is located about a mile outside of the center of town, but we found it an easy walk and never needed a taxi. On our second night, we took advantage of the outdoor hot tub and spa after dinner and had it all to ourselves. It is a new and beautiful facility. Breakfast is complimentary and includes a plentiful selection and fresh options including wonderful omelettes. Also delicious coffee. Highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Matthiol, Inhaber at Hotel Matthiol
Responded 22 July 2022
Dear LuckyDog3, Many thanks for this lovely review. We really appreciate it when people take their time to describe their experience in detail, as this will be helpful and valuable to future guests. We are thrilled to hear that our staff and our personalized service stood out to you as well as the breakfast options. It was a pleasure to have you both with us and we thank you again for choosing the Matthiol for your vacation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Safe travels and warmest regards from Zermatt! Your Mattiol Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JodieH1984 wrote a review Aug 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff in this hotel are so smiley and proactive. They couldn’t do enough to help. When we arrived our room wasn’t ready so they offered us a complimentary welcome drink. The steam room in our room broke, they offered to reimburse us without us having to ask and were very apologetic.
The electric shuttle picked us up from the train station and took us back without any issues. We just emailed them our estimated arrival time and it was there waiting for us.
The room was large, decorated nicely and spotlessly cleaned every day. There were fresh towels, robes and slippers provided for us and we were really comfortable. The balcony was huge and had perfect views of the mountains.
The outside area and bar were really chilled and laid back with relaxing music playing. The spa is free to use and is also lovely. We spent about 2 hours in there just unwinding.
The food in filet and fils is delicious - we really enjoyed Jonny’s bbq on the Friday night. Buffet breakfast had lots of choice and they prepare the eggs fresh to how you like them so they’re not sitting out for hours.
The hotel is a bit out the way - about 25 mins from the main town of Zermatt but that’s perfect if you want some peace and quiet. Beautiful views of the Matterhorn and surrounding mountains.
Couldn’t recommend highly enough. We would love to come back and see it in winter
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Matthiol, Inhaber at Hotel Matthiol
Responded 17 Sept 2022
Dear JodieH1984 thank you very much for your kind review here in tripadvisor! We highly appreciate your positive feedback and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back here with us one day at the Matthiol. For anymore questions we remain to your full disposal. Best regards from Zermatt Mareike Szelkowski
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Montana Marie H wrote a review Jan 2022
Playa Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very rarely do we find a hotel that we are this satisfied with! Everything from pick up at the train station, the impeccable service at the reception from Gucci, Felicia and Sara, to the friendly restaurant and bar staff such as Luca, Suzanne, and everyone else was flawless.

The new spa experience is lovely after a long day on the slopes, just make sure to pre book ahead of time due to Covid. Breakfast is small and simple, but well done, also offering a la carte options. Dinner at the restaurant is a treat, especially if you pre book a little house and in the mood for a lovely spread of Swiss cold cuts and fondue!

The rooms are stylish and cozy, ours included a steam room and sauna, with views of the mountains and great privacy. The bed is very comfortable and house keeping does a fantastic job every morning and evening.

Again, I have to give another mention to the reception staff. Any needs you may have before or during your stay they will be happy to immediately tend to without hesitation. Gucci, Felicia and Sara are lovely ladies that in my opinion should make this a 5 star hotel.

Thank you again team Matthiol for a lovely one week stay during our family holiday.

We will be back!

- Montana, Christina, Duncan and Dominic
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with the Matterhorn view if this is what you are coming for.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Schwarzenbach, Inhaber at Hotel Matthiol
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Dear Montana, Christina, Duncan & Dominic Thank you so much for spending the Holidays with us and for sharing your experience here. Our team members mentioned here above are thrilled to hear your kind words. We strive to offer a very personalized experience in an amicable environment and are happy to hear that this has been noticed. Thank you for mentioning our brand-new spa as well, it is indeed a very unique experience and we are pleased to hear it offered you the relaxation and quiet you were looking for after an exciting day out on the mountain. Again thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you here and getting to know you over the course of your stay. All the best to you all, stay well and we hope to welcome you soon again. Kind regards from the Swiss Alps! Sarah & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lori H wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Hotel Matthiol for 2 nights while in Zermatt. The place was super cool mixing the rustic look of a Swiss chalet with the accents of a chic hotel (copper chandeliers against jewel tones throughout). The rooms did not disappoint - between the views of the Matterhorn from the balcony to the steam shower and saunas in every room, the hotel was super clean and inviting. Though we didn’t use the free standing dinner huts (our group couldn’t fit), the restaurant catered to our group of 9 with excellent meals (breakfast and dinner) and fantastic wine and spirits.

Ingo, Luca, Flavia and Zouhra were incredible hosts and went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. Ingo personally brought up a bottle of wine for my husband’s birthday and Luca helped prepare a roll away bed for my daughter while we were in town.

This hotel and its team delivered top notch experience. Thank you for adding to an already incredible family trip and memory! We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ing11 asked a question Jan 2016
Palm Beach3 contributions6 helpful votes
Is this a good location id interested in skiing?
Jaehoon L asked a question Dec 2016
When the breakfast is served??
MLP0316 wrote a tip June 2024
Bethesda, Maryland54 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room with a view"
Read full review
Shidah C wrote a tip Feb 2024
West Malling, United Kingdom139 contributions92 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Quieter location from centre but well worth it. Plenty of accommodation nearby with view of the Matterhorn. About 5 mins electric taxi ride "
Read full review
Kevin K wrote a tip Aug 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This place is very special. It was better than the four seasons in my opinion "
Read full review
David wrote a tip Aug 2023
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is situated in a quiet area on the outskirts of Zermatt, Matterhorn Express and the Glacier Paradies are a must !!"
Read full review
julie s wrote a tip Apr 2023
19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make all reservations on time"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Zermatt area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$526 - AU$652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandSwiss AlpsCanton of ValaisZermatt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL MATTHIOL: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Zermatt, Switzerland) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Matthiol
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Matthiol?
Nearby attractions include Alpine Ski School (1.0 km), Matterhorn Museum - Zermatlantis (1.0 km), and Mountaineers' Cemetery (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Matthiol?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Matthiol?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Matthiol?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Julen, Alpine Gourmet Prato Borni, and saycheese!.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Matthiol?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Matthiol?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Matthiol?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Matthiol?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Matthiol?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mountain guides’ memorial (1.0 km), Kapelle Blatten "Maria Rosenkranzkönigin" (0.7 km), and Beresina-Haus (1.5 km).
Does Hotel Matthiol have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Zermatt HotelsZermatt Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ZermattHotels near Hotel Matthiol
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars