We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Schoenegg

Save
Share
Wengen 3823 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 236
View deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Expedia.comUSD 236
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (233)
Room & Suite (92)
Dining (44)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 21 hotels in Wengen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Hotel Schoenegg is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Wengen, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at Hotel Schoenegg offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

A concierge and newspaper are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A sauna and free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special.

While in Wengen, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Hotel Schoenegg, including Da Sina Pizzeria (0.0 mi), Pasta & More Restaurant (0.1 mi), and Chez Meyers (0.2 mi).

Enjoy your stay in Wengen!

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
350Reviews6Q+A65Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 303
  • 37
  • 6
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jjejheinzelmann wrote a review Feb 2021
Basel, Switzerland1 contribution
What a great fantastic experience, friendly staff from the front desk to the restaurant. Great dinner and breakfast. Accommodation is well kept and clean. Front desk went beyond normal expectations, even arranging sports gear to be delivered to the station. Worthy of another visit in the summer!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
MMB wrote a review Mar 2020
20 contributions26 helpful votes
I previously wrote a very positive review about the Schoenegg, as over the past 15 years, it has been one of our favourite places in Wengen . However, on 2 recent visits we were bitterly disappointed to find a new menu in the main restaurant and worse still a new front of house maître d'hôtel who was simply terrible. We have been going to the Schoenegg for nearly 2 decades and always been personally welcomed and made to feel special as regular returning guests. On both accaisons we were totally ignored. I would have thought that a new maître d'hôtel would at least ask his guests whether they were first time or previous visitors and make them feel welcome. Customer service is often the difference between 2 venus and unfortunately we will not be going back. Finally, the menu in the main restaurant has been simplified from the previous fine dining which is a shame as it is now the same as many of the other restaurants in Wengen (and every course we chose was extremely salty!). They have lost their USP over the others. A great shame.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Connector51513612898, Manager at Hotel Schoenegg
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear globaltraveller747 Thank you for your feedback and for your visit at our restaurant. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed about our restaurant. We always welcome our guests warmly and our goal is to offer our guests an unforgettable stay. We apologize that we could not do this for you. We are a little surprised to hear that you find our menu too simple, as most of our guests are very satisfied with the menu and so far, nobody has complained that the food was too salty. But everyone has a different taste… For our menu and as well for our service we have received many compliments. We would be pleased if we could welcome you once again in our restaurant and make it your favorite place in Wengen again. Kurt Ropers Host
Read more
Annbosteels wrote a review Jan 2020
Aalst, Belgium6 contributions
we 've been at this hotel several times but this time was really wonderful everything was perfect and we want to thank the whole staff and we will be back soon once arrived everyone recognized us and were as helpful as eve
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: take te chalet rooms quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Meander39443 wrote a review Oct 2019
4 contributions
We stayed here almost 45 years ago, part of our honeymoon, and would love to return for our 45th anniversary. But without backpacks this time! The rooms and view were good, and the food and service, we still remember how good it was, after all these years! The best. Invite us back for our anniversary in May! We would be there in a second. Thanks Hotel Schoenegg, for the memories.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
TedandMo wrote a review Oct 2019
March, United Kingdom116 contributions54 helpful votes
A member of staff from the hotel was at the train station to meet our train and took us directly to the hotel which was ideally located near to the centre of the town and less than half a mile away. The cable car to “Grindlewald First” was also a mere 5-minute walk from the hotel. Check in went very smoothly and we were shown to our room. We had pre-booked a room with a balcony and a mountain view. We were not disappointed. The room was indeed comfortable with a spacious balcony and a fantastic view of the Eiger. However, we did notice that the large king-sized bed was in fact two single beds pushed together and there was a bit of a gap between the mattresses. We requested additional pillows which were duly provided. The en-suite bathroom featured a shower above the bath. However, for some reason the showerhead was not positioned overhead but was about 4 ft up the wall making it virtually impossible to stand in the bath and take a shower, our attempts to do so often led to a wet bathroom floor. The hotel facilities included a good-sized swimming pool, a jacuzzi hot tub and a separate, private sauna suite including steam room, plunge pool and multiple places to “kick back” and relax. We found all staff at the hotel were very cheerful, friendly and extremely helpful. The reception staff were happy to book train tickets to the Jungfrau for us. We were provided with a free welcome drink from the bar on arrival. The hotel provided home-made potato crisps in the bar every evening. The food offered at the hotel was always excellent. There was a self-service buffet style breakfast with fresh fruit and juices, a choice of scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, pastries, a selection of breads and rolls with cold meats and cheeses. The evening meals were always very tasty and beautifully presented. They usually consisted of 5 courses. This started with a self-service salad, followed by a “served” set starter. There was then a choice of 3 different main dishes followed by a dessert and rounded off with a self-service cheese and biscuits/crackers course. On checking out of the hotel on our final day we were given a large bag of the hotels “home-made” crisps for the journey which we thought was a nice touch.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 234 - USD 399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
schonegg hotel wengen
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandJungfrau RegionWengen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Schoenegg
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Schoenegg?
Nearby attractions include Skiset Wengen (0.1 km), Rocks Bar (0.2 km), and Central Sport (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Schoenegg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Schoenegg?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Schoenegg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Baren - The place to eat, Restaurant Caprice, and Hotel Schonegg.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Schoenegg?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Schoenegg located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Wengen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Schoenegg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Schoenegg?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Schoenegg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Schoenegg?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Unspunnen Castle (8.3 km) and Rothenfluh Ruins (8.4 km).
Does Hotel Schoenegg have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.