We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Metropole Hotel Interlaken

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (341)
360
Panoramas (23)
Room & Suite (262)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#12 of 41 hotels in Interlaken
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Hotel Metropole is located in the Bernese Oberland, surrounded by beautiful mountain landscape. It is towering majestically above the rooftops of Interlaken.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian and 1 more
977Reviews11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 355
  • 365
  • 154
  • 63
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Alan S wrote a review 16 Apr
Battle, United Kingdom23 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
Very poor standard hotel, a 2 star at best. The hotel is undergoing renovation and our room was ‘old’ style. It was tired. Carpet threadbare. Bathroom tiny and with a shower curtain. Haven’t seen a shower curtain in years! Food was school dinner standard. For the price I was incredibly disappointed. I would expect better from the youth hostel near the station. Avoid it if you can.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sanna wrote a review 6 Apr
16 contributions1 helpful vote
Extremely rude staff I have asked for shuttle well in advance 10 days prior They backed last moment Because they forget to put it in a remark Raymond at the call not helpful at all Not welcoming at all Very disappointed I told them well in advance
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Abi01 wrote a review Mar 2024
Mumbai15 contributions6 helpful votes
Excellent hotel and stay. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Views were amazing. Travelled with kids and will definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quality property in Interlaken. Keep up the good work.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
carlos23nyc wrote a review Feb 2024
Charlotte, North Carolina4 contributions
The staff was very friendly and helpful any time we needed them. The thing that stands out was the beautiful views from our room. The location was also very convenient to everything. We also had dinner at the restaurant in the rooftop and it was great and of course the wonderful views.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
vivek v wrote a review Feb 2024
Bengaluru, India6 contributions4 helpful votes
Excellent rooms, friendly staffs and good breakfast. View from room balcony is awesome. Staff at breakfast restaurant were very friendly. Good foods options. 500 Meters from Interlaken West train station. Indian restaurants nearby.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco von Euw, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Responded 5 Mar 2024
Dera guest, Thank you so much for your very positive review. How glad to hear that you enjoyed the views and breakfast and could benefit from the central location of the hotel. We will gladly welcome you again in the future. Best wishes, Your Hotel Metropole Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mike G wrote a review Feb 2024
Wettingen, Switzerland46 contributions4 helpful votes
From the outside, this looks like an ugly 1970s office block. Inside though, this is a great hotel. Rooms are modern but small - after having a shower, I had to leave the bathroom to have enough space to dry myself (!!) The balconies look over the mountains... really beautiful. Breakfast is crazy expensive, 25 CHF per person, but there's a free coffee machine on the 1st floor and a Coop Pronto across the road. We weren't the only ones bringing food into the hotel for breakfast..! There's also a really nice, large gym on the 1st floor. The location is perfect, halfway between Interlaken Ost and West, so easy to walk to the train station. The room prices are good at the weekend, but double during the week... There are bars, restaurants and shops on your doorstep. Overall, an amazing hotel, brilliantly friendly reception staff, and highly recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco von Euw, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Responded 5 Mar 2024
Dear Mike, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We appreciate your kind words concerning our rooms, the view and the great location our hotel has to offer, and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here thanks to that. We gladly take into account your feedback about the breakfast. All the best, Your Hotel Metropole Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pierre M wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Nice location hotel but the reception is incapable to print your invoice incase you booked in Expedia or booking (they’re excuse because we pay commission), Reception is unkind specially the gentlemen at night with the glasses, (there is a way to talk to the client, we don’t work at hotel your hotel so I’m not interested about your commision system!! And they’re carpet in the room smell bad!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Reception is not so nice so if your in business travel not recommendable at all
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco von Euw, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Responded 20 Feb 2024
Dear Pierre, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the reception did not assist you with printing your documents. All guests have access to our business corner in the terrazzo area where they can print for free. If that doesn't work, the reception would usually be there to assist you. We will make sure, this won't happen in the future. We are also sorry about the bad experience you had with our night staff. We have noted your feedback and will look into it. Thanks again for your comment and we hope that you still enjoyed your stay in Interlaken. Best regards, Your Hotel Metropole Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lonesome_Road99 wrote a review Jan 2024
Al Hofuf, Saudi Arabia1 contribution
Overall it was good but I did not like that I could not have my own water heater until I sign some papers! Bathroom does not lock for some reason 🤷🏻‍♂️. Other than that the location was great and the staff were friends
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco von Euw, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Responded 7 Feb 2024
Dear guest, Thank you for your much appreciated feedback. We have decided not to equip our rooms with boilers, as some guests have used them to cook instant pasta or other inappropriate drinks/dishes in them. Therefore, they are only available upon request at our reception. The bathrooms cannot be locked for safety reasons, which is the case in many hotels. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite these small comments from your part and would gladly welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Your Hotel Metropole Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Edgewood48 wrote a review Jan 2024
Llangollen, United Kingdom336 contributions335 helpful votes
Externally this hotel is so ugly but ideally located between the two.railway stations and at the centre of the town near all amenities. Some of the rooms are big, some are small. Some rooms are in the 1970's, others have been updated. Rooftop terrace is lovely. All staff were extremely friendly and so helpful. Breakfast were excellent. Plenty to eat and a good selection. The manager is fully involved in this establishment, going out of his way to help and acknowledge all guests. Housekeeping staff went out of their way to be helpful. Bar staff were also customer orientated. Now to explain my confusing title. On New Year's Eve we had the most wonderful evening. There was good live music and a buffet meal to die for. In fact it was the best buffet meal I had ever experienced. My thanks to the chefs and waiting on staff. Absolutely superb. Unfortunately, the next evening the meal in the restaurant was probably the worse meal experience. The beef was so salty it was inedible. Most of us left it and no questions as to why from waiting on staff. Summing up, we did enjoy this hotel and would still recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco von Euw, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Responded 25 Jan 2024
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such an extensive feedback and for all your kind words about our staff. We are so glad to hear that you had a good time here and that you especially enjoyed spending New Year's Eve with us. What a great compliment that you had the best buffet meal that day! However, we are sorry to hear about your negative experience in our restaurant the night after. Of course, we endeaver to offer the best possible experience to all of our guests. Therefore, we gladly take into account your comment and will look into it. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future, Your Hotel Metropole Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sundaycafe wrote a review Jan 2024
Taichung, Taiwan1 contribution
Excellent downtown location with great mountain view Year-end Dinner with free soft drink would be perfect. Walking distance to Interlaken West Station. Price on Dec 30-Jan.1 were not cheap, rest are all great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Interlaken area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$317 - AU$563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
interlaken metropole hotel
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandInterlaken
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

METROPOLE HOTEL INTERLAKEN: 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Which popular attractions are close to Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Nearby attractions include Harder Kulm (0.2 km), Hohematte Park (0.3 km), and Interlaken Activities (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Conveniently located restaurants include Husi Bierhaus, Layaly Beirut, and Korean BBQ Restaurant Aare.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Metropole Hotel Interlaken located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Interlaken.
Are any cleaning services offered at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Metropole Hotel Interlaken offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.