We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Steinbock Hotel Grindelwald

Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (4)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
3 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
17
10
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
17
10
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hard boiled eggs the main street comfortable beds a wonderful stay salvatore balcony alps
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018

We were in a OK to nice room with a balcony overlooking the outside seating area of the pizza restaurant. Plus - clean, comfortable beds, good standard Minus - no air conditioning - it was hot 30C plus and so we had to have the...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Mbale63
Response from Urs H, Inhaber at Steinbock Hotel GrindelwaldResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Steinbock guest, we are sorry, that there was no receptionist at 07.50pm anymore. There must have been some kind of an urgency, that our receptist was not there anymore. Regarding the A/C, we would like to inform you, that not even the 5 star...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018

First of all I have to thank all the staff from the Hotel and Restaurant for their lovely and caring approach to me my wife and kid. For us it was a wonderful time, when we reach Grindelwald it was raining and we thought all...More

Date of stay: October 2017
2  Thank Shelbinmohammed S
Response from Urs H, Inhaber at Steinbock Hotel GrindelwaldResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Shelbin family, many, many thanks for your wonderful review. Also many thanks for having chosen the Steinbock for your stay in Grindelwald. We are very happy to read, that the staff did their utmost to make you happy and we of course hope, that...More

Reviewed 20 August 2017

This is a simple and very delightful little hotel. It was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. Salvatore is an excellent host and all the staff are very efficient and friendly. The only slight downside is the noise of the traffic outside so...More

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank Sarah D
Response from BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Steinbock Hotel GrindelwaldResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Sarah, many thanks for your great review. We are very happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us. The back side of the hotel is definitely quieter, at least until we will install new, triple glazing, windows. But, as it is not...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at Chalet Hotel Steinbock for 3 nights in late July . I immediately fell in love with this beautiful town and the lovely hotel that was welcoming, cozy and family run. We had what I believed was the best...More

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank 52karlr
Response from Urs H, Owner at Steinbock Hotel GrindelwaldResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Sir, many thanks for having chosen our hotel, the Steinbock for your stay in Grindelwald. We are very happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay and that you even have the intention to come back. That are wonderful news. Looking forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Room was clean and spacious. Wonderful views if your room has a balcony or faces the Main Street. Some of the best tap water in the world and recommended for drinking with glasses provided in the bathroom. Highly efficient housekeeping had our room made up...More

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank michael2975
Response from Urs H, Owner at Steinbock Hotel GrindelwaldResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Michael, what a pleasure to read your wonderful review. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thanks for having given so many details in your review to the Tripadvisor readers and people interested in staying in Grindelwald....More

View more reviews
About
Description
The Chalet Hotel Steinbock is a beautiful wooden chalet, right in the centre of Grindelwald, just next to the first gondola (skiing area in winter, hiking paradise in the summer). The Steinbock was mentioned More in books in 1700, but was completely rebuilt in 1991. It is famous for its restaurant - the most popular restaurant in town - with Italian and Swiss cuisine. The restaurant is famous for the huge steaks, the great pizzas, the excellent liver, to just name a few dishes. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Golf Course
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle Bus Service
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Room Service
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
22
Price range
USD 184 - USD 247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Chalet Hotel Steinbock
Location
Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
22
Price range
USD 184 - USD 247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Chalet Hotel Steinbock
Location
Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Photos
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (4)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 nearby hotels
Hotel Alte Post
67 reviews
.04 km away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
473 reviews
.06 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
406 reviews
.11 km away
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
43 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 78 nearby restaurants
Avocado Bar
193 reviews
.22 km away
Restaurant & Bar Golden India
447 reviews
.08 km away
Barry's
507 reviews
.29 km away
C und M Cafe Bar Restaurant
588 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 39 nearby attractions
First
1,564 reviews
.85 km away
Faulhorn
113 reviews
1.30 km away
Grindelwald Tourism
58 reviews
.51 km away
Pfingstegg
242 reviews
.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Steinbock Hotel Grindelwald staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Outside view from the rooms are awesome"
shelbinmohammeds
3 Mar. 2018
Read review
"The street is a little bit noisy so choose a room at the back or side"
sarahcarolinedavies
20 Aug. 2017
Read review
"Make sure you ask for a room with a view facing the Eiger mountain. You will not want to leave this hotel."
jeffreyv154
11 Aug. 2012
Read review
"Ask for a front facing room, view of the Eiger."
Brianandnikki
11 Jul. 2012
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing