We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

0.1 km from Grindelwald centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
See the most recent reviews
Showing 306: English reviews
Helsingborg, Sweden
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel , in two different rooms. The first night, in the front building, in a renovated room, small but clean, with comfortable bed. The only observation i can make is that you hear everything : the steps of the people over you , the doors next to you , the showers, etc.The hotel entrance...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vimu2008
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, Thank you for your honest feedback. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations and apologize for all your inconvenience. You stayed in the second night in one of our apartments (3 star standard). We regret that we have not exactly explained this to you and not show you the apartment before. Unfortunately it was...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The location is about 5minute walk from train station. The room is big, and so that the bath room size. Our room has a living room and from the terrace you can see the great mountain view. Very nice and peaceful.The staff are nice. The breakfast is standard. Overall, I think, the room rate is a bit high for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris_th2010
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you have felt comfortable with us and were able to enjoy the mountains and our nature! Our hotels stays open all year around, therefore we offer in mid-season attractively priced special offers . Take a look on our website www.eiger-grindelwald.ch where we publish this offers or sign up for...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have stayed in this hotel 6 times now and have never been disappointed. It is the most friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff and owners are amazing and so friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel is excellent. The owners of the hotel take a very active role in the hotel and take time to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo540
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovey review! Great to hear that you had another unforgettable stay :-)! With our best wishes from Grindelwald Daniel & Gisela Heller and the Eiger Team

East Yorkshire, England
Reviewed 30 June 2013

A very nice hotel the décor in the rooms is a little dated, but never less very clean. we had a room in the second building and on the 5th floor with excellent views of the Eiger. Very good reception staff. The breakfast was very good as was the evening meal once you had sorted out what was available in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JCDurkin8
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, Thank you very much for your great review! Great to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us :-)! Greetings from Grindelwald Family Heller & the Eiger Team

Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Heartly welcome with a glass of white Wine offered an "old fashioned" quiet room away from the street... after 12 hours by The Glacier Express and other regular trains, just what 2 Senior Danes needed to prepare for next day's returntrip via Jungfraubahn to "Top of Europe". Cheese fondue and Swiss beer in the hotel's interesting restaurant rooms served in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ole R
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Dear Danish guests :-) We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your "Swiss" stay with us! Thank you very much for your feedback and best regards from Grindelwald Family Heller & the Eiger Team PS: The "old fashioned" rooms will be renovated in spring 2014!

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is family run and we think the best hotel in Grindelwald. Ensure you pick a room with an Eiger view. The breakfasts are excellent and there are three restaurants to choose from for dinner - Barry's is a must. If you are staying midweek make sure you book yourselves on the mountain BBQ - it isexcellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasper57
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, Many thanks for your wonderful review - we are very glad to hear that you had an unforgettable stay with us and on the BBQ up on Männlichen! Best regards from Grindelwald Family Heller & the Eiger Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2013

You can imagine,after a gruelling 7hr drive from Lake Garda via Milan in exceptionally bad weather and traffic jams@Gotthard Tunnel you need something special when you arrive!!?? Well,after being greeted by the staff at the Hotel Eiger we knew straight away this was going to be a 'special' 2 night stay. The staff/hotel and food in the bar was just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clivewilliams
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us :-), thank you very much for your feedback and best regards from Grindelwald Family Heller & the Eiger team

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2013

From the moment we arrived we were impressed at how friendly and helpful the staff were. Melanie was on the desk when we checked in and helped in any way she could. The staff in the bar were also very friendly, we were in every night and they recognised and made us feel very welcome. We ate in the memory...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kyliep78
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback - we are glad to hear that our team looked well after you :-) For harder pillows we have some different kind of pillows on request - please just let us know. Our front desk team will help you. Looking forward welcoming you again, we remain with our best regards, family Heller &...

Manchester
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed in the Eiger hotel for two nights with friends. We had one of the apartments which slept 4 people. We arrived and were made very welcome by the person at reception, we were offered a glass of wine as welcome as well. I was staying with friends in Basel and we came down by train, it's a short...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Scotty118
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment - we are very glad to hear that you had a great time with us! Best regards from Grindelwald Family Heller & the Eiger Team

Leeds, UK
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Our stay here was 7 day Crystal ski package. It was beautiful. The front of the hotel does not stand out but inside is lovely. Th staff all care very much that the guests are having a nice time. The owners both make a point of coming and introducing themselves which I think is a nice touch. Our room had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LJYLeeds_UK

602 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (307)
Viewed
Amenities (79)
Viewed
Basic Double Room (27)
Viewed
Lifestyle Double Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
Second Basic Double Room (24)
Viewed
Single Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.7 km away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 42 in Grindelwald
864 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 42 in Grindelwald
738 reviews
0.4 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 42 in Grindelwald
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 42 in Grindelwald
266 reviews
0.2 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 42 in Grindelwald
288 reviews
0.7 km away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#8 of 42 in Grindelwald
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bistro Memory
Bistro Memory
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European, Bar
Barry's
Barry's
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Grill
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Price Range: $227 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#14 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Eiger Grindelwald staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
3 months ago
cardiff

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Eiger Grindelwald staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The front rooms have balconies and excellent views. They vary slightly in size.”
 of 5 bubbles twovass, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter when there's live music in the bar!”
 of 5 bubbles Heidi457, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views of the North Face of the Eiger are from the rooms at the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles andyg148, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have magnificent views of The Eiger mountain,may be noisy at night and in the morning with traffic and delivery vehicles.”
 of 5 bubbles 385margarete, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want quiet don't get a room facing the road/Eiger”
 of 5 bubbles yosemite65, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5