We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 286: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful location, excellent service. Here you can find anything you need for a wonderful stay, between SPA and mountains. The assistance at the reception was superb! We enjoyed food in the barry restaurant a lot

Helpful?
Thank Marica B
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review - we are very happy that you had an unforgettable stay with us! More 

Saxapahaw, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Eiger for just one night when we randomly took the train to Grindelwald and wanted to stay there after loving the views. We did not have a reservation, but the front desk staff greeted us warmly and gave us a room with a stunning view of the actual Eiger! I just sat on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben B
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the food in our restaurants! More 

Launceston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

You know you are on a good thing when the owner stops by at breakfast and has a meaningful conversation with every guest. It shows a personal interest in guests and sets a high bar for customer service for the rest of the staff. We stayed in a Lifestyle room, south facing, with terrace and view of the Eiger. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lonnielayabout
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your excellent feedback! We are very happy that you had a great time with us - best wishes from Grindelwald! More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

.My wife and I stayed in hotel Eiger for 2 nights ( 24 Sept -25 Sept 2016 ). The hotel is very well located, within walking distance from the railway station. The scenery as seen from the hotel is magnificent! Views of Mt. Eiger are excellent, even from the room window! The breakfast served was also very good, with good... More 

Helpful?
Thank lawrenceteh46
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your lovely review - great, that you could enjoy the mountain view! More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Stayed in the suite as part of honeymoon and it was great. The balcony was really big and gave unbroken sweeping views of the alps. The price seemed about right when we booked, but after seeing the general costs for hospitality in Switzerland I was amazed at how good value it really was (of course, still not cheap).

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason-ASDF
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review! Wonderful, that you had a nice honeymoon and all the very best for your life together! More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

The rooms are really spacious, could be because we had upgraded ourselves. But even otherwise the rooms are excellent with all sort of amenities provided. The gymnasium is modern and available most of the time and this hotel is located right in the middle of the town. Breakfast was good and the staff very helpful. They would send someone to... More 

Helpful?
Thank saty2
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great feedback! We do appreciate! More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We loved this hotel! We received a free upgrade and a bottle of bubbles as we told them it was our honeymoon on the booking. The town is beautiful and the hotel is in a perfect position for exploring. The staff we very friendly and so helpful. The food in the restaurant is amazing. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Leanne K
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! We are very happy that you had a great time with us! Best wishes from Grindelwald! More 

County Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful four day stay in Hotel Eiger. From our balcony the gold snow tipped Eiger mountains greeted us each morning with the rising sun - a sight to behold! The room was just perfect in every way, with real alpine charm. Breakfast each morning was absolutely delicious as indeed was dinner every night. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank mauramurphycurtin
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are very happy about it and are looking forward to welcoming you again with us! Best wishes from Grindelwald More 

Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Four of us (two couples) of more advanced years came back to Grindlewald to relive some of our earlier visits from over 10 years ago. We weren't disappointed. In the past we stayed in the Eiger apartments which we really enjoyed but this time we luxuriated in the lovely lifestyle rooms. ( Free minibar topped up daily! Real coffee machine... More 

Helpful?
Thank tm282468
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

It was a a big pleasure to welcoming you again with us! Thanks a lot for your great review! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

This was the perfect holiday retreat with friendly staff, generous gifts, delicious international breakfast, relaxing spa and ideal location. I want to return for my honeymoon one day. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!!

Helpful?
Thank Rosie M
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great feedback! We are looking forward to welcoming you again for your honeymoon :-) More 

578 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (307)
Viewed
Amenities (79)
Viewed
Basic Double Room (27)
Viewed
Lifestyle Double Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
Second Basic Double Room (24)
Viewed
Single Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.7 km away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
831 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
725 reviews
0.4 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
269 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
253 reviews
0.7 km away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#8 of 41 in Grindelwald
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Barry's
Barry's
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Grill
Bistro Memory
Bistro Memory
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European, Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Price Range: $231 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#14 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Eiger Grindelwald staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
25 days ago
cardiff
Colombo, Sri Lanka
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Eiger Grindelwald staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Inquire if you are staying in new vs original building”
 of 5 bubbles biggerduck, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms higher up might be better”
 of 5 bubbles nivi_vj, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Best views from Lifestyle rooms on the top floors”
 of 5 bubbles ajlms18890, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the street on high floors have the best views of the mountains. The apartments work well for families.”
 of 5 bubbles ebennike, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“South facing high floor had a fantastic view of the Eiger”
 of 5 bubbles denisep435, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay