We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Walhalla

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Walhalla
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 65: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Walhalla
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From the moment we entered this hotel we were greeted warmly on a very cold winters morning. The lobby is small yet inviting. We were told exactly how everything works, from where the breakfast is situated to where we could get a good meal at the hotel restaurant. Don't expect something too fancy or modern however if you have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mario J
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at your hotel 2nd Dec 2016 for 2 nights. Good location, railway station right on the door step. Our room was clean and the bed were comfy. The breakfast was fine, except I went for a second cup of tea and they had run out of the breakfast tea, when I asked the lady behind the server she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackiedoyle
Geneva
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is perfectly downtown near the train station. Room was midsize, clean, but needs soon some renovation process. Reception staff very friendly. Breakfast was included in room rate and was excellent. For a short stay in this city, our choice was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reto1961
MBMueller, Manager at Hotel Walhalla, responded to this review

Dear Reto1961 Many thanks for taking the time to leave a positive comment on Tripadvisor. I am very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast buffet and that your pointing out the friendliness of our reception staff. Our goal is always to improve our service and...

Switzerland
Reviewed 7 January 2017

For the price, the room was ok but not up to 4*. I had a single room on 6th floor which wasn't renovated. I hadn't seen a big old radio in a wooden night-table in a while, maybe your last chance to see one ;-) Bed was fine for me as I am short, but as it had a board...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris77CH
MBMueller, Manager at Hotel Walhalla, responded to this review

Dear Chris77CH thank you very much for taking the time to leave a valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. It is nice to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I really appreciate your comments. It helps us a lot to improve our standard of service and we rely on comments like yours. We actually do have a renovation...

Hua Hin, Thailand
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Nice hotell nerbar the railway station. the room was a family room on the top floor. We realy appriciate the coffee maskin in the room with Nestlee different coffee tastes to choose between. Oterher wise was the room clean fresh and nice. The people at reception was very polite and understanding. More than perfect breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 990magnus
MBMueller, Manager at Hotel Walhalla, responded to this review

Dear 990magnus Many thanks for taking the time to leave a positive comment on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to see that we could convince you of our quality of services. I will pass your comment to the reception staff, who will be very happy about your positive comment. We are looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards from...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Ideal location next to the station and within a short walking distance to the heart of the old town. Check-in was fast, staff was courteous but nothing special. The room on the 3rd floor was facing a courtyard. It had no view but was quiet. Accommodation itself was a mixture of old and new. Some light switches and the wardrobe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliviauk
Paris, France
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Horrible service, Dominique from the reception was very unfriendly and rude. Angelica and Silvio very friendly. Staff from the Restaurant was drunk. Room was ok, breakfast was ok too.I will never come back again. No air condition or minibar in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank inverso01
MBMueller, Manager at Hotel Walhalla, responded to this review

Dear inverso01, We are very sorry to hear that our quality of service was not up to your expected level. I will investigate the issues you mentioned in your comment and you can be certain that I will take immediate action. It is important for us to provide to our guests top service in an environment of greatest comfort. Therefore...

Deventer, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The location is very good in the center of the city Very close the train station and the shops, taxi standing around the station Only it's very noisily because of the train and a lot of people Room is small butt nice but very clean Bed is small Bathroom is complete

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willem S
St. George, Utah
Reviewed 17 September 2016

A good place to stay especially if you are using the train system...just across the street from the station. Hotel is fine, clean and with a good breakfast. Street side can be a little noisy with trams and roadworks but in general...if you get a good deal...no problem staying there. Center city is minutes walk away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UtahBikers
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We arrived here after a long journey by air from Singapore & then 4/5 hours by car in heavy rain from Frankfurt to find St Gallen mostly under repair. We eventually found our hotel & it was quite pleasant. Checked in & then went out for a walk in the continuing rain around the town. As it was a Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carringtonfs

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Gallen hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Dom
Hotel Dom
#3 of 18 in St. Gallen
175 reviews
0.4 km away
Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, St. Gallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sorell Hotel City Weissenstein
0.4 km away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#13 of 18 in St. Gallen
25 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Vadian
Hotel Vadian
#5 of 18 in St. Gallen
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Hotel Walhalla

Address: Poststrasse 27, St. Gallen 9001, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walhalla)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Price Range: $137 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Walhalla 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Walhalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Gallen
St. Gallen Best Western
Best Western Walhalla
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Gallen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Walhalla staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Walhalla staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles Chris77CH, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Back site of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles willems484, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“See above on noise”
 of 5 bubbles UtahBikers, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room overlooked the road & the railway station & was fine on the 5th floor”
 of 5 bubbles Carringtonfs, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are nearly the same”
 of 5 bubbles YTCHENG, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5