We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Hotelbern

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Reception staff was efficient, not too friendly though. The room was reasonably big and colorful. Bed was comfortable. Room had a nice alley view. Hotel was conveniently located near a supermarket. About 15min walk from the train station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Go4Snow
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback about your stay! Hope to seeing you soon again. Best Western Hotel Bern Team

Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 5 September 2014

We are a large family of 18 including 10 children under the age of 13 yrs. This is a tourist hotel in an extremely convenient location in the Old Town. You do not see other guests as it is used by large groups, mainly Chinese, who check in late and leave early. Do not expect a large lobby, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review

thanks for your comment, Hotel Bern.

Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed in many Best Western Hotels in many cities, this is not one of the bests. Everything is just enough. Room was small, however, in Switzerland standarts I may say that it is not too small because I spent some nights in smaller ones. Cattle and coffee are so beautifully hided I hardly found them in the wardrobe. Otel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bulent D
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback about the breakfast, we're trying to getting better and hope to seeing you soon again. HOTELBERN

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I spent one night in this hotel. It's very close to the center, and the parking is within a few minutes. The room is spacious and nicely furnished. The beds were very confortable, except for the pillows (too soft!) but i reckon this is a typical swiss/german style. It lacks the air conditioning, but i don't think it's really necessary....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro M
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you were happy and thanks for the compliment for our staff team. best regards, HOTELBERN

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is - really ugly: there is absolutely no charm whatsoever, the rooms and corridors are old and ugly. Last renovation was probably in the 1970's ! - rooms are small and not functional - you also have no view, the duvets are too small (hence you are never fully covered) - staff is absolutely not friendly, this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MakesSense
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your comment and the feedback you've given about your stay. We are not happy with your comment. We are trying hard to making our guests happy. So we will take your criticism to getting better and we hope to seeing you soon again. best wishes The Management HOTELBERN

Vancouver
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent a night recently at the Best Western in Bern. It was centrally located with many choices of restaurants within walking distance. The room was great with complimentary wifi. The free breakfast offered everything one would need. I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Bern.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank langleybott
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, it's good to hear that you enjoyed the HOTELBERN. BEST WESTERN HOTELBERN

Sharpsburg, Georgia
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Rooms were efficiently, but tastefully decorated. The beds were comfortable, and the hotel was quiet. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We had to leave our bags for about ten hours after we checked out of the hotel, and the staff were very accommodating with our request.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GBMINI
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comment! We are very pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us. Hope to seeing you soon again. BEST WESTERN HOTELBERN

Cotonou, Benin
Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you need central location, clean and functional rooms, fast free wifi in the rooms and courtesy free card for local transport during your stay in Berne, this hotel is perfect! I tried many places in the capital, but this is good value all around.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Soumo99
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review

thank you very much for your good comment - we are pleased to hear that you had a good time with us! HOTELBERN

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Is a good hotel founded by the labor union movement, Volkshaus means the house of the people, it also has good restaurants on ground level. There are congress rooms with wonderfull tapystery made by a now still painting 102 years old painter called Erni.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heinzjacobi
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your good comment about your stay! Hope to see you soon, best wishes HOTELBERN

New York
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice hotel. Nothing fancy but, perfectly functional, clean, great location. Nice reception staff. Nice fluffy white comforters and pillows. Small refrigerator with bottled water and safe in room. Not elegant but, good for the price. Only obvious downside: there's construction going on on the street. Loud construction noise stars at 7 am. Didn't bother us but, may bother others. Eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank artgirl331
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment and sorry about the noise! Hope to seeing you soon

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
705 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
475 reviews
0.2 km away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
945 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.1 km away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#21 of 30 in Bern
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotelbern

Address: Zeughausgasse 9, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Bern Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Price Range: $208 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotelbern 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotelbern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#6 Family Hotel in Bern
#8 Business Hotel in Bern
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hotelbern staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Zurich, Switzerland
9 months ago
North Carolina, USA
Columbus, Ohio
5 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hotelbern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the courtyard will be quieter. No traffic and fresh air if you want it.”
 of 5 bubbles trunge, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the street side are a litle bit noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 743cristinac, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the front of the hotel and there was some street noise, I would suggest a room on the back side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Mike_B52033, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Street side can be a little noisy, yard side side has the local bell tower chiming every 15 mins - your choice”
 of 5 bubbles dojd, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for bigger rooms with view”
 of 5 bubbles ljavier34, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5