Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel

View from rooftop terrace
Traveller (106)
Room & Suite (61)
Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#10 of 34 hotels in Bern
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
This beautiful old townhouse is just a short walk from the main railway station and "Bundeshaus" parliament building. Whether a day's shopping in the historic arcades or a mixed cultural offer. Almost everything is within easy walking distance. Guests can enjoy the various day rooms, small gym and free use of the Internet terminal. FREE W-LAN connections are also available throughout the hotel and at the restaurant. And there are wonderful views of the old town and the Alps from the roof terrace of the Kreuz Bern.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Danish, German and 1 more

Location

Zeughausgasse 41, Bern 3011 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Belp Airport
EuroAirport Swiss
71.7 km
See all flights
Bern Station
5 min
239Reviews9Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 91
  • 36
  • 8
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Navigate50294237941 wrote a review Feb 2023
Sydney, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Incredible location, easy walk from the train station and very lively area. We really loved the hotel (big rooms, modern), the amazing staff and the facilities (buffet breakfast, gym, infrared sauna, tea room, rooftop terrace). We found the hotel was really good value. Only downside was it was a little noisy at night (but we stayed there a Saturday night). We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julia Allemann, Gästeservice/Empfang at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Responded 24 Feb 2023
Dear guest Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit. Sunny greetings from Bern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GillCoventryYates wrote a review Feb 2020
Melbourne, Australia15 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a dinner and accomodation package directly through the hotel. The dinner was a surprise for my husband as we were celebrating our ten year wedding anniversary. The four course surprise dinner at their restaurant Barenhofli was wonderful, the hotel and restaurant staff did a fantastic job keeping it a secret, please see seperate review. The hotel is in a great location near the train station and in old town where many of Bern main attractions are. The room is a good size, clean and modern. We loved the bath and shower. It would be been nice to have a mini bar in the room but we appreciated the environmental incentive. The fitness room is great and the roof top terrace has wonderful views. We had a train cancellation due to the French train strikes and were offered a good room rate if we wanted to stay an extra night. If you’re in Bern this is the place to stay, we highly recommend it and will visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leslie D wrote a review May 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia10 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a great hotel: so thoughtfully designed—not only for attractiveness, but also to satisfy the customer’s needs. Every floor has a common-area room in the middle where one can get coffee or tea all day, read, play pool or other games, or do other things. The floors are filled with light, and the carpeting is tasteful, but also bright. Lights go on automatically when you walk down the hall. Our room was modestly sized, but we had plenty of space to store suitcases and clothing. Choice of things like bathroom drinking glasses, with interesting shapes and colors, added pizazz to our room. A small laundry room was available to guests for washing clothes, for a modest fee. Breakfasts were delicious, with hot and cold items available every day. The cheeses were amazing! Staff was courteous and helpful. Location was superb.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sou44 wrote a review Sept 2021
Bern, Switzerland8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is very convenient for its being being in town in bern where all can be attainable on foot. Has a restaurant where the chef is a good one. Were there for two nights and it was very pleasant. It is prepared with facilities for a wheel chair and on the other side of the street there are parking places for disabled. I recommend it for those who have business in town... There are no coffee or kettle tea service n the room but just outside on the floor you can find them.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicolas Lluis, Gästeservice/Empfang at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review, which we appreciate. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and restaurant. We would be happy to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Nicolas Lluis Administration
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BrakiWorldTraveler wrote a review Apr 2022
Belgrade, Serbia18,626 contributions5,365 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Kreuz was one of the better hotels on our 8 day Swiss tour.
The very central location is very convenient for tourists, as everything is within walking distance. For further destinations the hotel provides you with the free Bern public transport card to use the capital's great public network.
There's no parking in front as it is the sole city center. Nearby garage is pretty expensive at 40 CHF/night, but kind receptionist directed us to Neufeld garage which is 10 min drive at 18 CHF/night.
Check in was quick with helping tips of a kind lady working.
Room was nice, overlooking the street, fair spacious with a nice bathroom.
Big minus, because of which I deduct one star is there was no heating in March. Their AC is only for cooling and the radiators were cold. We put a complaint on that, they promised to fix it until night, but it wasn't fixed. No heating at night in March is quite unacceptable for such a hotel.
Breakfast was generous and delicious.
On the rooftop they have a nice terrace, exit by stairs from the gym, which we used for afternoon drink and even brought our dinner there. Great views of the Cathedral and central Bern.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicolas Lluis, Gästeservice/Empfang at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review, which we appreciate. We are very sorry that the heating in your room did not work and that we could not fix it until night. In the meantime, we were able to solve the problem with our housekeeping service. We are pleased that everything else was fine and that you were satisfied with our service. We would be happy to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Nicolas Lluis Administration
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bcbsat wrote a review Apr 2023
San Antonio, Texas55 contributions42 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Front desk not very friendly. No hello, no welcome to our hotel. Room is small as expected but oddly shaped so an entire corner was unusable. Bed is set flush to side wall on one side so we asked for sanitizing spray to clean the wall. The evening front desk lady was very nice. Nice coffee/tea spot open 24 hours. Breakfast was good, plentiful. Clean and sanitary also. Walking distance to train station a big plus. Lots of shops & food sources close by.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julia Allemann, Gästeservice/Empfang at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Responded 27 Apr 2023
Dear guest Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were not served as you wished at the reception. We do our best to ensure that our staff are well trained. We take feedback from guests, whether positive or negative, very seriously. This way we can improve wherever possible. It is nice that you noticed our central location and the breakfast buffet. We would be pleased to welcome you again. Sunny greetings from Bern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cdsw wrote a review Sept 2020
Port Louis114 contributions94 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel in the centre of Bern is on a quiet street. Inside has a spacious, quiet, comfortable feel. I had a small single room, clean and well-appointed. Each floor has its own special space: one has a little playroom, another a hot drinks room and on the top floor is a gym! The only downside of the hotel is that the WiFi didn't work in my room, otherwise I would recommend it without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Capisce wrote a review July 2023
North Vancouver, Canada461 contributions197 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Interesting to compare our experience to some of the ones written by others here. Although the hotel is not luxurious, just being a 3-star for short stays, it is adequate. I found it quiet (and I am very sensitive to sound), modern, comfortable sized rooms and bathroom, centrally located with air conditioned and a lift. Besides it is clean and the front desk staff was courteous.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julia Allemann, Gästeservice/Empfang at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Responded 12 July 2023
Dear guest Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much, we will gladly pass on the compliment to our reception staff. We would be pleased to welcome you again soon. Best regards from Bern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne M wrote a review Feb 2020
Randolph, NJ15 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Convenient to all transportation, centrally located, nicely appointed...clean and modern, very nice breakfast and friendly staff.

The only reason I couldn’t award five stars is because I was given a street view room after I specifically requested (twice) a “quiet room.” It was noisy until midnight and then again at around 5:30 am! They moved me to a very nice quiet room the next day and gave me a small token of compensation for the aggravation. I would rather have had two peaceful nights sleep 😕

Having said that, knowing what I know about the rooms I would happily return and insist upon a quiet room at check in.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chance wrote a review Feb 2022
Singapore, Singapore49 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location-wise it is perfect, given the very short walk from the central station itself. Morning breakfast was incredible with plenty of options. The staff was also extremely friendly and pleasant to interact with, and the room looked a lot better in person than the already great pictures. Overall, I was very surprised at how great of an experience I had considering it wasn't as expensive as I imagined it could be.

Most definitely returning here the next time I am back in Switzerland and travelling around the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicolas Lluis, Gästeservice/Empfang at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2022
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review, which we appreciate. We are delighted to read that you loved the location of the hotel, the breakfast buffet, the staff as well as the hotel room. We will be happy to pass on your compliments to our staff. We would be happy to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Nicolas Lluis Administration
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Piep v asked a question Sept 2018
Denver, Colorado22 contributions6 helpful votes
We are traveling with bicycles. Is there a bicycle storage area or may we store these in the room?
Answer from KatherineB2011
Melbourne, Australia78 contributions38 helpful votes
I'm sure they would let you store them in your room, but I also imagine they would be happy for you to store them near the reception where staff can keep an eye on them.
Renata_10 asked a question Mar 2018
North East20 contributions25 helpful votes
How much does it cost for overnight parking and is it nearby? Thank you
Lucerne, Switzerland25 contributions51 helpful votes
There’s public underground parking (Waisenhausplatz) directly adjacent, but I don’t know if they offer special rates for guests; you may have to ask. The hotel offers a complimentary day pass valid for all public transport, so you could park anywhere more convenient for your trip.
Answer from Roger Burkhadt
Bern, Switzerland3 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Dorothy A. Thank you for your question. We don't have park spaces, but there is a car parking calling Metro Parking near us.
Answer from elainequang
New York City, New York238 contributions106 helpful votes
We came by train as well and didn't notice there's a parking lot nearby.
ilona99 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Baar, Switzerland29 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking right next to the hotel, but also trainstation only steps away."
Read full review
swissone00 wrote a tip June 2022
Seattle, Washington19 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No taxi needed from train station. You will get a free ticket for all local travel needs during the time of your stay. "
Read full review
GregA6614 wrote a tip Oct 2019
Madison, Wisconsin54 contributions57 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else if you want a comfortable room."
Read full review
audocmo wrote a tip July 2019
Auburn, Alabama17 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for a room in the main building, not the small second building"
Read full review
C J wrote a tip Oct 2018
Boston, Massachusetts94 contributions71 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"We chose a "courtyard" (really an alley) facing room to ensure quiet at night."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bern area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$267 - AU$465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kreuz swiss q bern
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kreuz Swiss Q Hotel
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBern Mittelland DistrictBern
NUMBER OF ROOMS
97
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KREUZ BERN MODERN CITY HOTEL (AU$267): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Switzerland) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Old City (0.4 km), Parliament Building (0.2 km), and Bundesplatz (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Noumi, Wein & Sein, and Mille Sens.
Is Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Bern.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Danish.
Are there any historical sites close to Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Käfigturm (0.09 km), Zähringerbrunnen (0.4 km), and Einstein House (Einsteinhaus) (0.4 km).
All Bern HotelsBern Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BernHotels near Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars