We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Antica Dimora Johlea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Antica Dimora Johlea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Antica Dimora Johlea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 303: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Nice location, quiet, well furnished room. Very helpful staff. Only issue was it was very hot outside and air conditioning did not work well. Nice breakfast. Staff interested in helping you anyway they can. Beautiful roof top terrace.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaySF84
Antica J, Responsabile reception at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review

Dear RaySF84 thank your for you kind comments! We are very happy to read you have appreciated our Staff . I hope you have asked us about air conditioner settings because sometimes they are not on max mode. We are happy that you could enjoy your stay in Florence and hope to see you again soon! Best Regards The Staff...

Reviewed 15 September 2016

We had a great experience at Antica Dimora Johlea starting with check-in! The location to the old city center was just 5-10 minutes walking. The room was awesome with high ceilings, great furniture and large bath. We really enjoyed happy hour on the roof top patio with views of the Duomo and the city overall. I would recommend this location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Antica J, Responsabile reception at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review

Dear Mr Steve R Thank you very much for this kind review. We are very happy to know that your stay with us has been so nice! We do all our best for our clients and we're happy when it works out well! Look forward to welcome you again in Florence. Best wishes The Staff di Antica Dimora Johlea

Midlands
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Brilliantly positioned within easy walking distance of the Duomo. Lovely staff who could not have been more helpful. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable room with excellent air conditioning but next time I would book a room not overlooking the street. It is a quiet street but one morning at 5am there was a crane doing something right outside the window and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank halftidy
Antica J, Responsabile reception at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind comments and we are very glad that you liked the hotel and that our staff were friendly and helpful. About the noise in the street, we are very sorry but we are in the centre of the city and sometimes they start to work too early in the morning. Anyway we hope that...

Adelsdorf
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Everything perfect, from booking to arrival, breakfast, recommendations, friendly conversations, beautiful room, roof top terrace, perfectly running heat and hot water (not always a given in Florence), kettle and choice of tea/coffee in room, beautifully appointed common areas ... would return any time!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kerstin B
Antica J, Responsabile reception at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review

Dear Kerstin B. We would like to thank you for your kind words. We are glad to know that you appreciated even the smallest details in our Dimora. We are waiting to welcoming you again and we send you our warmest regards, The Staff of Antica Dimora Johlea

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 22 July 2016

My husband and I stayed for two nights in late June. The location is great; you are within walking distance to most attractions. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly -- they mapped out walking routes for us, made suggestions for dinner, and printed out train tickets. The rooms were a bit small, but clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gayeswan
Antica J, Responsabile reception at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review

Dear Gayeswan Thank you so much for your kind review. We remember that the weather during your stay was quite hot and unfortunately during those days we had a problem with the air conditioner. We are really sorry for that. Anyway we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to the pleasure...

Sauze-Vaussais, France
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This B&B is located within a 15 minute walk from the Duomo on the top (4th) floor of a large imposing Florentine building. The room was very comfortable and well-equipped and in addition to the breakfast room there is a sitting room/library for the guests and a roof-top terrace from which one can look across the roof tops to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 63healey
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Antica Dimora Johlea is a very cozy and particular B&B in the heart of Florence, but in a quiet and lovely street. You can really experience the warmth of a typical house in Florence. My room was colorful, with attention to little details and very clean. The staff was great, very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. There is also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank aieia84
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We absolutely loved our stay at Antica when we were in Florence, they have really put a lot of effort on attention to details and service was impeccable. Unfortunately we could not stay longer but its for sure whenever we visit Florence next this is where we are going to stay. The rooms were very good and so was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ally123
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Antica Dimora Johlea. We were warmly greeted on arrival. The staff were very friendly and we were made to feel comfortable and very welcome. We were offered an upgrade being able to choose between two lovely rooms. We loved the four poster bed and antique style decor. The room was very spacious and beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DLTT2015
Antica J, Responsabile reception at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for the details the other users can read and imagine our residence with canopy bed and nice decors. We hope next time will be very soon! Kind regards All the staff

Medford, Oregon
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Antica Dimora Johlea is a quiet, comfortable B & B in an excellent location. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had everything one would need. The front desk personnel could not have been nicer. Federico was very kind and helpful and spoke excellent English. Everyone we dealt with were very nice. They were very helpful with directions and ideas...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelBug5619
Antica J, Responsabile reception at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review

Dear Travelbug, Happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Antica Dimora Johlea. We do our best to make your trip in Florence pleasant and with good memories. Looking forward to host you once again soon! Kind Regards, the staff of Antica Dimora Johlea

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Antica Dimora Firenze
Antica Dimora Firenze
#81 of 659 in Florence
532 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Duomo
Palazzo Galletti
Palazzo Galletti
#135 of 659 in Florence
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
#67 of 659 in Florence
302 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#5 of 659 in Florence
902 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#18 of 659 in Florence
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Marco

Neighbourhood Profile
San Marco
The pleasant atmosphere of this residential area, a stone’s throw away from the Duomo of Florence, surprises everyone. A continuous flow of backpacking students provides the tranquil surroundings for the elderly residents who sit in Piazza San Marco to read the daily newspaper. Home to several universities, including the Academy of Fine Arts, San Marco is one of the most vibrant cultural centers in the city. A bridge connecting the modern cultural activity of Florence to its classic art, represented by the everlasting magnificence of the original David, resonates as a symbol of Florence and of Italy as a whole. Get lost in a Neoclassic world, a journey back in time through historic buildings like Spedale degli Innocenti (Hospital of the Innocents), San Marco church, Basilica della Santissima Annunziata, and natural jewels like the Botanical Gardens.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Harmonious, elegant, and full of light, this Florentine residence is situated on the top floor of a beautiful 19th-century palazzo. The rooms, all uniquely designed and decorated, have walls in soft hues of natural earth and mineral pigments. The curtains and the canopies of the four-poster beds are made out of precious oriental silk, while pure linen from Florence's renowned, artisan fabric manufacturer, Antica Tessitoria Busatti, is used to decorate the breakfast hall and living rooms. The bathrooms are done in Carrara marble or in hand-painted tiles. Perhaps the nicest surprise, however, is the rooftop terrace, from which you will be able to admire Brunelleschi's dome, Giotto's bell tower, the crenellated silhouette of Palazzo Vecchio, and the magnificent bird's eye view of Florence's historic center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Antica Dimora Johlea

Address: Via San Gallo 80, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Price Range: $137 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Dimora Johlea 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Antica Dimora Johlea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora Johlea Hotel Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Antica Dimora Johlea staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Medford, Oregon
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Antica Dimora Johlea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you travel by car you should tell the number of your car to the reception to avoid fines.”
Reingleiv, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It is a small boutique hotel - all of the rooms are no doubt perfect”
  • Fabulous in-room hospitality, and considerate details
641milenap, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The executive suites with canopy beds and a gallery.”
eilatnegev, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask the staff, they are very helpful”
magine2016, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Single room with a double bed positioned at the back, not huge but I did not Some rooms face the road, not a busy road. .”
  • Single Room
sixtyishuk, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5