We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Il Granduca

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Il Granduca
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Il Granduca
See the most recent reviews
Showing 34: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

We were in Room one, yes there was a mosquito but the manager gave us something for the room. He was very helpful and friendly as was the receptionist. The room was cleaned every day. Good value and great location. Not much choice at breakfast but good enough and we were late but was still allowed to have something one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cerri_11
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Decline room 1. It has bathroom under the stairs. I've never seen anything like it. No soap. Ask at reception. The floor is always wet. The room mosquitoes. Poor breakfast without fruit. The location is good. The hotel is not 3 stars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StefanL64
Mumbai
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The best part about this hotel is that it is located on the route of the hop on hop off bus tours. The management charged us for a baby crib which we did not use. The hotel locality is slightly deserted and is scary to walk alone during nights

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nitin B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay there especially the owner and receptionist!!! When we mentioned we are going to come back late, they gave us a key from the main door so we could get into the hotel. Helpful staff, private secured parking per 15 euro, old fashioned design, furniture and elevator! Great breakfast too. 10- 15 minutes to Cathedral. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank junkerrr
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Il Granduca and have slightly differing views. My wife felt it was quite old fashioned in decor and furnishings, which she did not like. However, I felt it fitted in with the feel of the hotel and it was not an issue for me. One thing we did agree...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiandpeter
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Staff was incredible nice and helpful!! Great Cappucino :) Excellent service! Rooms are quite simple, but equipped with new bathrooms and everything was always clean. Attractions are in walking distance and parking is available upon request.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agatka M
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 28 February 2016

This was a pretty unpleasant experience, the only one actually, we had during our stay in lovely Florence. To begin with, the hotel is no less than 30 minutes on foot from the historical center and 35 from the train station, and we are fast walkers. So beware if you want to take day trips as you will have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrinaIs
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Il Granduca was a good choice of hotel for us: location was perfect, within a 15 minute walk from the historic centre, but not right in the middle of the tourist hustle and bustle; the price was reasonable, and the staff were excellent, helpful and friendly. Positives: - friendly helpful staff - beautiful quirky building with an old style lift...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tatous
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I am sorry to say that I staid in a poor room and also paid twice for it. An experience like this simply ruins your vacation. The staff was simply disappointing as I felt no effort has been made for me to receive my money back. I wasn't just left without my hard earned money I also wasted a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silviu5555
Giovanni F, Proprietario at Hotel Il Granduca, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we are astonished reading these two reviews you made. If you recall what happened and how we managed this case, you'll surely remember that we wrote to you FIRST, informing you about the unwanted mistake of the double payment happened on your credit card. And the same day we started the process of refund asking the credit card...

Reviewed 19 February 2016

We staid this hotel in summer thinking we were going to have a lovely vacation in Florence. Unfortunately it ended with great disappointment as the hotel charged us for the room twice. We did everything possible to receive our money back without success. It is like we talked to a wall. Incredible. Thank you Hotel Granduca.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramona S
Giovanni F, Proprietario at Hotel Il Granduca, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we are astonished reading these two reviews you made. If you recall what happened and how we managed this case, you'll surely remember that we wrote to you FIRST, informing you about the unwanted mistake of the double payment happened on your credit card. And the same day we started the process of refund asking the credit card...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Panama
#241 of 421 in Florence
402 reviews
Soggiorno Michelangelo
#305 of 421 in Florence
50 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#132 of 421 in Florence
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#170 of 421 in Florence
133 reviews
Hotel Emma
#223 of 421 in Florence
280 reviews
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#279 of 421 in Florence
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Marco

Neighbourhood Profile
San Marco
The pleasant atmosphere of this residential area, a stone’s throw away from the Duomo of Florence, surprises everyone. A continuous flow of backpacking students provides the tranquil surroundings for the elderly residents who sit in Piazza San Marco to read the daily newspaper. Home to several universities, including the Academy of Fine Arts, San Marco is one of the most vibrant cultural centers in the city. A bridge connecting the modern cultural activity of Florence to its classic art, represented by the everlasting magnificence of the original David, resonates as a symbol of Florence and of Italy as a whole. Get lost in a Neoclassic world, a journey back in time through historic buildings like Spedale degli Innocenti (Hospital of the Innocents), San Marco church, Basilica della Santissima Annunziata, and natural jewels like the Botanical Gardens.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Hotel Il Granduca

Address: Via Pier Capponi 13, 50132, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Price Range: $87 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Granduca 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Il Granduca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Il Granduca staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Il Granduca staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not the standard type, not the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles IrinaIs, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room if needed!”
 of 5 bubbles 769ailingc, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
2 of 2