We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Basilea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hotel Basilea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Basilea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 28: English reviews
Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Could not believe the quality of this hotel. Stains all over the sheets and pillows, mould all behind the fridge and in the bathroom. The room didn't look like it had been cleaned at all with dust everywhere. The only good thing about the hotel was the exit.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank jamie21315
Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Only stayed at this hotel for an hour, after seeing numerous reviews about bed bugs I was a bit disappointed my travel agent booked me into this hotel but we thought it was fair to give it a chance. Right from the beginning the atmosphere was strange, as we walked in we were greeted by I'm assuming the owner, shouting...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank lp72811
BASILEA H, Responsabile reception at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we are sorry to read your complaint about our hotel. As written by you, when you arrived you had already decided that the hotel wasn't enough good for you. You took the key and after an hour you come back to the front desk and you told us that you weren't able to stay in the room because...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Situated In a quiet area but the ultimate location for exploring Florence. We were on the second floor and had a gorgeous view of the famous Duomo (4th largest cathedral in the world and a must see) We had a little balcony and the room was basic but a great size with mini fridge and bathroom. Staff were excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nroberts42138
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The room was dirty , The ceiling light was held on too the ceiling by tape. The mattresses on the bed where stained and the sheets had holes in.The windows led on to a tiny balcony it was covered in cigar ends and slime. the view was a roof that had what looked like rags. We did get the room...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jenniferbird1950
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

I am currently writing this review at 2.00 am at this hotel. We have seen 4 bed bugs so far crawling up the walls and I'm sure there will be more. We are on a school trip and are partaking in many activities throughout the day but cannot sleep due to the fear we will be bitten. We cannot complain...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Jessica K
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 6 May 2016

BED BUGS BED BUGS. Hotel is very old and out dated. If you don't mind bed bugs and a out dated hotel then this place is for you. Also very loud at night. Bathroom was very smelly and did not flush very well.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank jerry12342016
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Don't stay here. Extremely dirty and disgusting place. We had bedbugs, mold in the bathroom, stains of blood on towels, dust everywhere and dirty walls in the room. When we told the manager about it, he got really upset and was rude. I have stayed in basic places in Southamerica and Asia but this is the worst and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank CykelmyggenDK
Nambucca Heads
Reviewed 16 April 2016

My previous review of this hotel has been removed as have other reviews by members of our group. Stayed here as part of a school group in September 2015. I would have to say that this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my many years of travel!! Staff were rude, food inedible and our students did...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank angb61
DRod83
Reviewed 13 April 2016

When we arrived we were given a room with no en suite bathroom even though we had specifically booked one with that characteristic. We were told the room was not available that day but that they would upgrade us to a larger room than what we had booked and with en suite bathroom the following day. The guys at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniella R
Belfast
Reviewed 7 April 2016

My room did not have an en suite had a private bathroom across the hall very clean but was not told about this when booking . As a 60 year old solo traveller this was not good for me . Did ask to be moved but they were booked with a school party nevertheless disappointed that they should have taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BelfastMarie

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#245 of 421 in Florence
487 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#364 of 421 in Florence
387 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#123 of 421 in Florence
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Meridiana
#278 of 421 in Florence
340 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#284 of 421 in Florence
540 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#289 of 421 in Florence
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Lorenzo

Neighbourhood Profile
San Lorenzo
San Lorenzo’s lively merchants shout out from behind stalls with an array of products in one of the most traditional neighborhoods in Florence. Different ethnic groups join together in the large outdoor market of San Lorenzo and in the Central Market, a vast multi-floored building. Visitors are bound to fall in love with this area and in particular, with its variety of food, especially those focusing on Florentine dishes as well as international selections. Nobody leaves San Lorenzo without a shopping bag in hand or with an empty stomach.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Address: Via Guelfa 41, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Price Range: $62 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Basilea staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Atlanta, Georgia
Newbridge, Ireland

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Basilea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Never be tempted to book here, although it is centrally located.”
 of 5 bubbles hoyeba, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for en suite”
 of 5 bubbles BelfastMarie, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“My room had a doble window, so there was no noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles WGilgen, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Get out before you commit!!”
 of 5 bubbles hedney, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“the money i paid for that room was not satisfactory”
 of 5 bubbles andreaskG336GK, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5