We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Basilea

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Basilea
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 23: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was the most horrible hotel where i've ever stayed. Dead bugs on the wall, dirt everywhere. No wifi, just in the lobby. We couldn't planned our day from out room. We had to go to the lobby, and sit there in out pajamas. Our window was broken, the shower was very tiny, and stinky. So the room was disgusting,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra Á
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We stayed in this hotel in July and we had 2 rooms full of bedbugs and we woke at night to find bedbugs crawling on them and the walls/beds. staff refused to accept responsibility even when we showed evidence, videos and photos. our whole group had to move hotel we had 4 nights in our stay but after 1 night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guestwebdesign
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed here last summer and the hotel overall was good. It's an older hotel that could use some renovations, but hey, it's Europe you are staying in a city with so much history. The front desk was very helpful, they gave us suggestions for dining and coupons. The beds and rooms aren't luxurious, but I always got a good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tran N
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

The mattress was painful!! I have never wanted to spend a second night in a hotel less. It actually caused me anxiety to return to this place. Mould on shower curtains, power would go out if you plugged in your phone, no wifi in our room because it was buried in the back corner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ramjacket
San Diego
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Great location to walk to all points of interest in the city. Nice, helpful staff. Shower was broken but useable. Room was clean. No AC/Was loud on the street with windows open. Had a good free breakfast. Overall a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristenl62
Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Could not believe the quality of this hotel. Stains all over the sheets and pillows, mould all behind the fridge and in the bathroom. The room didn't look like it had been cleaned at all with dust everywhere. The only good thing about the hotel was the exit.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jamie21315
Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Only stayed at this hotel for an hour, after seeing numerous reviews about bed bugs I was a bit disappointed my travel agent booked me into this hotel but we thought it was fair to give it a chance. Right from the beginning the atmosphere was strange, as we walked in we were greeted by I'm assuming the owner, shouting...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank lp72811
BASILEA H, Responsabile reception at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we are sorry to read your complaint about our hotel. As written by you, when you arrived you had already decided that the hotel wasn't enough good for you. You took the key and after an hour you come back to the front desk and you told us that you weren't able to stay in the room because...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Situated In a quiet area but the ultimate location for exploring Florence. We were on the second floor and had a gorgeous view of the famous Duomo (4th largest cathedral in the world and a must see) We had a little balcony and the room was basic but a great size with mini fridge and bathroom. Staff were excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nroberts42138
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The room was dirty , The ceiling light was held on too the ceiling by tape. The mattresses on the bed where stained and the sheets had holes in.The windows led on to a tiny balcony it was covered in cigar ends and slime. the view was a roof that had what looked like rags. We did get the room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jenniferbird1950
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

I am currently writing this review at 2.00 am at this hotel. We have seen 4 bed bugs so far crawling up the walls and I'm sure there will be more. We are on a school trip and are partaking in many activities throughout the day but cannot sleep due to the fear we will be bitten. We cannot complain...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jessica K

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#311 of 422 in Florence
217 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#362 of 422 in Florence
375 reviews
Hotel Meridiana
#280 of 422 in Florence
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#332 of 422 in Florence
514 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#141 of 422 in Florence
932 reviews
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#253 of 422 in Florence
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Lorenzo

Neighbourhood Profile
San Lorenzo
San Lorenzo’s lively merchants shout out from behind stalls with an array of products in one of the most traditional neighborhoods in Florence. Different ethnic groups join together in the large outdoor market of San Lorenzo and in the Central Market, a vast multi-floored building. Visitors are bound to fall in love with this area and in particular, with its variety of food, especially those focusing on Florentine dishes as well as international selections. Nobody leaves San Lorenzo without a shopping bag in hand or with an empty stomach.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Address: Via Guelfa 41, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Price Range: $54 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Basilea staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Atlanta, Georgia
Newbridge, Ireland

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Basilea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for en suite”
 of 5 bubbles BelfastMarie, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“My room had a doble window, so there was no noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles WGilgen, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Get out before you commit!!”
 of 5 bubbles hedney, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“the money i paid for that room was not satisfactory”
 of 5 bubbles andreaskG336GK, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles U8DL_, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay