We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,842 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 820: English reviews
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel does not deserve its four-star status. -No hot water for two days in a row -Unfriendly and unhelpful staff -Poor selection for breakfast (no fresh fruit or vegetables) -Twin room was actually two single beds put together Only for those with very low expectations.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sachiko A
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Buses coming buses going full of crazy chinese tourists with cameras .The Elevator is working or not, you never know. Breakfast is terrible for 4 star hotel. The staff in reception are unfriendly and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone except great enemy. There is mold in the rooms. The only good things about this hotel has nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jurnalistus
hotelmedfi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review

Dear Readers of Tripadvisor, we need to inform you that we have already replied to this comment twice; this Client posted it for the third time; we respect his opinion also if part of it is not true! We think that all comments are very important for us because help us to improve our services, but in this case we...

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel is located just a couple blocks from Santa Croce and Piazza della Signoria. The rooms were large and clean. And this place had a multi-device charger in the room! The staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel also had a very nice breakfast buffet. Wifi was available for a fee.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Nancy W
Reviewed 9 March 2012

After bouncing around Europe for two months - from France, the Ukraine and Turkey - this was the hotel my girlfriend and I enjoyed the least. The room we had was lovely. Clean, great view. The breakfast was good as well and it was a fine location. The problem was the service. Upon arrival the staff at reception were simply...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Isk752
Westbury, New York
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Just arrived home from another wonderful eight days at the Grand Hotel Mediterraneo. As usual everything about this hotel was perfect. The staff is terrific and extremely helpful. Our room was clean and spacious as the housekeeping staff is very attentive. The breakfast was varied and delicious. It is in a great location with just a short walk into town....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank newarkgirl158
hotelmedfi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review

Dear Clients & Readers of Tripadvisor, We thank you for your feedback. We inform you that you could ask to the booking office for a special client code, in order to receive affordable rates. We’ll happy to greet you again in Florence, at Grand Hotel Mediterraneo when you’ll want. Best regards, Alessio Maggi, Web Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Thıs hotel is obvıously on the student hotel list as they arrived ın bus loads not noisy but certainly lots of them. Basic breakfast but have to pay for fresh juice rather than squash. Ok for weekend away but takes 20 mıns to walk from Duomo to hotel so taxi ıs better but quite a pleasent walk along the river...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 150londonjp
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Good service, clean rooms, comfy beds. It was a 20 minute lovely walk to the main squares. The food was ok in the restaurant for a buffee at dinner and breakfast (part of the tour). I was happy to stay here as I did not know if advance the hotels when I booked the tour through Air Canada vacations, 5...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HojasRojas
hotelmedfi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review

Dear Clients and Readers of Tripadvisor, We thank you for your comment and for your appreciation. You was able to effectively evidentiate the strength points of our Hotel. We inform you could require the special client code to take advantage of discounted rates. Best regards, Alessio Maggi, Web Manager.

State College, PA
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I probably would not have stayed here on my own, it's not my kind of place, but it was nice and I didn't notice any mold at all. Bed was firm and comfy, room was quiet and clean, bath very clean and the bidet was quite convenient. Lots of space, for a European hotel. Wake-up calls were prompt and front...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chanteuse45
hotelmedfi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review

Dear Readers and Clients of Tripadvisor, We thank you for your description of your stay in our Hotel. We are very glad to inform you that now you are our Client and you could require a special client code in order to receive discounts for you or your friends for the future reservation in one of the FH HOTELS. Best...

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel has black mold everywhere!!!! It made the entire group on our trip sick and hospitalized 3 people in the group. Their solution to the black mold.... wipe it off and paint over it!!!! Aweful, do not stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank m m
hotelmedfi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review

Dear Clients and Readers of Tripadvisor, We’re really sorry for this comment, but it's the first time we receive such a critique. We also asked for further details on the issue, but we got no response. We do not think at all that there is mold everywhere, or we are all blind! In any case we expect clarification regarding the...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We found the rooms very nice, fresh and new with all amenities working very well. We had no noise at all in the room and a nice view over some rooftops. The bathroom really spacious. We ended up having breakfast outside though as we wanted something small but authentic and good quality and Florence is fullof such places. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marion s
hotelmedfi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review

Dear Clients and Readers of Tripadvisor, we thank you very much of your positive feedback and of your indications about our staff. We usually receive compliments about their cordiality, but we’ll check immediately this missunderstanding. We inform you may ask our Booking Office for a regular customer discount code, to take advantage of the promotional rates on our website. Sincerely,...

1,025 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (569)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (126)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (59)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (127)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (208)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (397)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Business Room (30)
Viewed
Classic Room (23)
Viewed
Golden Suite (64)
Viewed
Junior Suite (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite with City View (30)
Viewed
New Style Room (21)
Viewed
Panoramic Deluxe Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Superior Room (26)
Viewed
Superior Room with City View (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#102 of 422 in Florence
714 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#220 of 422 in Florence
1,060 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#219 of 422 in Florence
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#81 of 422 in Florence
577 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 422 in Florence
822 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#52 of 422 in Florence
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Lungarno Del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Price Range: $129 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Found our room to be very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles clif4d4, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“City View.”
 of 5 bubbles GSquared2013, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the elevator”
 of 5 bubbles Dee_in_DE, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“When booking simply ask for a quiet room not close to the conference rooms or lobby.”
 of 5 bubbles 995antonisl, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For westerners, some of the rooms are really small so if you ask to change your room, they will gladly do so.”
 of 5 bubbles 288kayh, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay