We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Machiavelli Palace

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Machiavelli Palace
See the most recent reviews
Showing 497: English reviews
Malta
Reviewed 24 January 2008

Machiavelli Palace was the last stop of our honeymoon after Paris and skiing in Livigno. We stayed there between 30th Dec - 6th Jan 2006. Since we got there in the last two days of the year, the room was a bit pricey (150 euros per night) considering that the hotel is not very modern and the furniture is slightly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ritienne
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Stayed here for four nights in September. We rented the Jr. Suite (195 E/night). First keep in mind that this building is from the 1700's. So we expected some dated features. But they note in their literature that it was completely renovated in 1990. Hmm.. almost 20 years ago--and it shows. Sorry to the others, but there really is no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smcg720
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review

We are pride ourselves on our property upkeep and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay and for that I am truly sorry. I have shared your comments with my management team for review and will take your cue from your complaints to improve service. We hope to see you again so soon,...

UK
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Machiavelli Palace. I think if you read the last few reports from people who have stayed at this hotel, you will get a very good flavour of it. In fact there were lots of good points, but a few not quite so good. Location is perfect - a 5...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank curlycat
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 October 2007

The Machiavelli Palace is so closed to the train station that we actually walked passed it, not expecting to be there already! We were quite apprehensive as the hotel is in a very busy street, but once in the room, we were very pleased. We could not hear a single sound from the busy street as our room was facing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveldoves
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 September 2007

I stayed in a single room (Room 501) that was compact but not cramped. The Room was absolutely spotless and the air conditioning was very effective. I had a fabulous view of the city. I was five minutes from everything and there were lots of little restaurants nearby that were perfect for lunch/dinner. The staff were very friendly and almost...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RHNIreland
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 July 2007

With a trade fair on in Florence at the time of our stay, accommodation was extremely scarce. The Machiavelli would not have been our first choice it is true to say, but on the whole was a fairly good choice. The reviews on this site are very mixed and that is because the Machiavelli is an old and somewhat weary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CurlyandMe
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review

We are pride ourselves on our property upkeep and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay and for that I am truly sorry. I have shared your comments with my management team for review and will take your cue from your complaints to improve service. We hope to see you again so soon,...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 8 July 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 3-week European vacation. It's a short two-block walk from the Termini -- ideal if you are arriving/departing Florence by train. See directions below. Our room, #411, was a good size, with nice furnishings. The decor is a little worn but quite attractive overall. It's clean. Others report that the beds...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank screen-gem
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

Paris, France
Reviewed 22 June 2007

lovely hotel, very friendly staff and very good location, just a few minutes from the train station. rooms are really nice, not too large but fine. bed was comfortable. good airconditioning and very good hair dryer. i would definately reccomend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JosephKinn
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

Ireland
Reviewed 19 June 2007

If you like your sleep and comforts do not stay here! Although the staff seemed friendly and the room was a nice size (although I think we were just lucky!) the hotel did have its faults. A double bed is really two singles pushed a little closer together. The mattresses are so hard sometimes I felt like I was sleeping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TAAC
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review

We are pride ourselves on our property upkeep and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay and for that I am truly sorry. I have shared your comments with my management team for review and will take your cue from your complaints to improve service. We hope to see you again so soon,...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 10 June 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a 2 week vacation. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, assisting us with reservations for the galary and providing directions, etc. Hotel was clean, everything worked and morning breakfast was very good. Located only a couple of blocks from the train station and in the heart of Florence,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJ99
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

641 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (296)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (343)
Viewed
Junior Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Standard Room (28)
Viewed
Suite (42)
Viewed
Superior Room (Balcony) (34)
Viewed
Superior Room (Balcony with Dome View) (30)
Viewed
Superior Room (Wood Beams Ceiling) (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)
Viewed
Triple Room (26)
Viewed
Triple Room (Light Parquet Floor) (29)
Viewed
Triple Room (Wood Beams Ceiling) (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#130 of 421 in Florence
1,087 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#127 of 421 in Florence
1,339 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#137 of 421 in Florence
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#129 of 421 in Florence
766 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#187 of 421 in Florence
1,273 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
#81 of 421 in Florence
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Lorenzo

Neighbourhood Profile
San Lorenzo
San Lorenzo’s lively merchants shout out from behind stalls with an array of products in one of the most traditional neighborhoods in Florence. Different ethnic groups join together in the large outdoor market of San Lorenzo and in the Central Market, a vast multi-floored building. Visitors are bound to fall in love with this area and in particular, with its variety of food, especially those focusing on Florentine dishes as well as international selections. Nobody leaves San Lorenzo without a shopping bag in hand or with an empty stomach.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Florence and built on a Templar church, just a few hundred metres from Santa Maria Novella train station and the Fortezza da Basso, the Hotel Machiavelli Palace is the ideal location from which to explore the city's secrets and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes.Multilingual staff 24h.Rich buffet breakfast.Air conditioned.Exchang service.Wi-fi service and internet point. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Machiavelli Palace

Address: Via Nazionale 10, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Price Range: $100 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Machiavelli Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Machiavelli Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machiavelli Palace Florence
Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Machiavelli Palace staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Machiavelli Palace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a terrace; them with pleasant views on the upper floors.”
 of 5 bubbles hoosierz, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't book a single room”
 of 5 bubbles Bedfordangel, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a top floor with city views”
  • View from balcony
  • Comfortable bed
  • Character furniture
  • from balcony
  • Lovely old bathroom
 of 5 bubbles MaggieC585, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“stay as far away from lifts as possible”
 of 5 bubbles traceyj1971, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back look on to busy street with trattorias and cafes so it can get noisy and stay noisy until the early hours”
 of 5 bubbles huytonhoofer, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5