We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel San Michele

Traveller (165)
Room & Suite (203)
Dining (51)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good30%
  • Average10%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel San Michele is located in the historical heart of Cortona. Born out of a restoration of a renaissance palace, it is listed as national monument by The Italian Ministry of Art and host a 15th century fresco (Masaccio school). Restored with taste, the hotel offers classic, superior, junior suite as well as suites some of them with a private balcony with a view, all equipped with moden comforts. Air conditioning, private bathroom, elevator and covered garage. Massages, cooking classes and tours are available on request. You can also taste a Tuscan aperitif at the Bar dell'Accademia on the first floor. On request: "La Torretta" a relax area with a 360° view and hot tub.
Read more
Property amenities
Channel 1
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Public Wifi
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
71Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
41Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews(246)
Traveller rating
  • 305
  • 161
  • 51
  • 8
  • 9
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Erica G
Fort Lee, New Jersey
132
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Family wedding in Cortona in early September 2018. Could not have asked for a better location---very close to the center of town. Staff was accommodating and pleasant; rooms were very comfortable; good breakfast. Hotel had an old world charm. Would definitely stay at Hotel San Michele on my next visit to Cortona
Thank Erica G
williewanderlust
North Carolina USA
96
Reviewed 29 Oct. 2018
The location just can't be better, steps to the main square and all of Cortona. We loved the historic significance of the hotel. Take time to browse through the hotel and explore all the common areas. We commented on the spectacular mirror in the room where breakfast is served and found out it was in the former library of the castle.

We have stayed outside Cortona before in fabulous accomodations, but it's Hotel San Michele for us next time, The staff is attentive and always eager to make your stay even better. Loved our room and the entire hotel.
Thank williewanderlust
Response from Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele
Responded 30 Oct. 2018
Dear williewanderlust, I was truly delighted to read your very kind words following your recent stay with us at Hotel San Michele. Thank you so much for your feedback which I have already shared with all the team here at the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. My best regards and renewed thanks, Dott. Nicolò Alunno General Manager Cortona Luxury Accommodation
Sertich
Atlanta, Georgia
53
Reviewed 22 Oct. 2018
Hotel staff were very good and helpful! From the minute we drove up to hotel until we left the hotel staff did their best to make sure all our needs were met. The rooms were not what we expected based on hotel website pictures. We reserved a large and spacious honeymoon suite (celebrating our 33 years of marriage) based on website pictures and the room could not have been more different from what was portrayed on the website. The rooms were small and without much outside lighting. In general, hotel staff were very good, location was excellent, breakfast was minimal, and rooms were disappointing.
Thank Sertich
Response from Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele
Responded 30 Oct. 2018
Dear Sertich, thank you for your feedback about Hotel San Michele. I was pleased to read that you had found our front of house team to be extremely helpful and friendly. However, I was very concerned to hear that your experience in one of our suite did not live up to expectations. We have 40 rooms and every room is different by the other ones. When you book online be sure that you are booking the suite that you are looking at on the website or booking.com. We have 4 fantastic suites, three of them have a private balcony ( the Honeymoon Suite has it) and the fourth one was an ancient chapel in the 15th century with a Masaccio's school frescos inside. When you booked online a Suite probably you would wish to have the Honeymoon Suite but maybe was blocked before by another guests or you did not specify at the moment of the reservation. I would love the opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail if you would consider contacting me here at Hotel San Michele. The only thing we could wish is to see you again next year. My best regards, Dott. Nicolò Alunno General Manager Cortona Luxury Accommodation
jltownsend
Eureka, California
84
Reviewed 16 Oct. 2018via mobile
We appreciated the good driving instructions for our arrival and the help with parking the car. The hotel was clean and the room was spacious. The location is great. It is just a block from the main piazza. The staff was helpful with maps and directions. Nice stay in Cortona.
Thank jltownsend
Response from Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele
Responded 30 Oct. 2018
Dear jltownsend, Thank you for your fantastic review! We were delighted to read you enjoyed our location and position. We’re all incredibly proud of our recently refurbished property and the high standards of cleanliness our hardworking Housekeeping Team maintain and the politeness of all the staff. I’ll be happy to pass your feedback on to the Team with regards to the excellent service provided. The only thing we could wish is to see you again next year and make you feel at home again. My best regards, Dott. Nicolò Alunno General Manager Cortona Luxury Accommodation
Kent L
Mason, Ohio
10
Reviewed 15 Oct. 2018
Second stay at this hotel...friendly staff, huge rooms, great location, amazing town. Would definitely stay again. Be sure to reserve parking if you want to park at hotel, it's very limited. However, free parking is relatively nearby as well.
Thank Kent L
Response from Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele
Responded 30 Oct. 2018
Dear Kent L, I was truly delighted to read your very kind words following your second recent stay with us at Hotel San Michele. Thank you so much for your feedback which I have already shared with all the team here at the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. My best regards and renewed thanks, Dott. Nicolò Alunno General Manager Cortona Luxury Accommodation
PreviousNext
12345650
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Bonnie W
4 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Nicolò A | Property representative |
Dear Bonnie W, Thank you for your interest to the Hotel San Michele, At the moment we have 40 rooms, every room is different by the other ones because this is more than a hotel, a large comfortable house, the ancient... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Shelley T
12 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Busytraveler067 | Reviewed this property |
There is a bus that makes the trip every 30 minutes. Much less expensive than a taxi, but there is a short walk from the bus stop to the hotel. Actually, the hotel provides a shuttle for 12 euros. A bargain for "door to... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Our room looked out on the street below and we loved this."
williewanderlust
29 Oct. 2018
Read review
"Upgrade as another reviewer suggested!"
TerryfromToledo
13 Oct. 2018
Read review
"Get the junior suite for a large room with a terrific balcony."
a2grand
2 Oct. 2018
Read review
"Higher floors have small living room like area"
RichardJDoumeng
30 Sep. 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
USD 113 - USD 174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san michele hotelsan michele cortona
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of ArezzoCortona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing