We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Show Prices
#2 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 633: English reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We were most disappointed with our room at the "Grand Hotel" and agree that this hotel may have been wonderful in its glory years. It has been on a downhill slide for quite a while. Our room (for 315 euros) was a high ceilinged box with a ten foot wide alley to the east and a ratty little parking lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Muffe2014
Carola_Caruso, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, which we received through TripAdvisor and we hope our reply finds you well. We are deeply sorry to learn that your experience at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea did not meet your expectations and that you have not been satisfied with your room. Our historic building, preserving frescoes, decorations and original furnishings is dating...

Reviewed 26 September 2014 via mobile

The hotel was beautiful. The rooms and bathrooms well appointed. The food was delicious. There were many options at the breakfast buffet. I just wish it was a little easier to get to town. The internet was a little frustrating and not very reliable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJH1101
Carola_Caruso, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Villa Igiea for your stay and we wish to thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor which I highly appreciate and I am happy to learn that you enjoyed to the fullest your stay with us. Kindly allow me to bring forward that next year we will strengthen our service by...

Lincoln, UK
Reviewed 23 September 2014

We stayed for 10 nights in August 2014. I really wanted to like this hotel which advertises itself as a ‘5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa’ but unfortunately for a so-called five-star hotel it is well off the pace. First there are some great things about this hotel. It is a grand old hotel steeped in history with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank djblincoln
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all thank You for the feedback on Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are awfully sorry about the bad impression that You have had on our Hotel. Your opinion is very important for us. We will surely take your comments in a way to improve our service. We hope to welcoming you...

Reviewed 22 September 2014 via mobile

Great location in Sicily. It more than it was worth from room selection- bad view, food horrible, and stained carpets. The trip advisor report mention airport transportation and that was misleading a taxi call was made. Unfortunately hotel rates for one or more does not exceed expectations. Best part was location and historic part looking on building outside/pool. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dolores T
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you verry much for the time you dedicated to write a review on Tripadvisor. We thank you also for have chosen our Hotel for Your stay in Palermo. We are awfully sorry to know we haven't satisfied your expectations. However, we thank you for your constructive criticisms which help us to focus on what needs improvement...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2014

I can imagine that fort years ago, this hotel was fantastic. I am sorry to say this is no longer the case. We came as a family consisting of three couples, and so had three rooms. Not one of these rooms was up to scratch. Apart from the fact that the decor is past it's time, the rooms were falling...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank LivSordo
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you verry much for the time you dedicated to write a review on Tripadvisor. We thank you also for have chosen our Hotel for Your stay in Palermo. We are awfully sorry to know we haven't satisfied your expectations and we sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience caused to you. In addition, we thank you for...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Very nice hotel, beautiful views, kind and helpful staff, gourmet restaurant serves lovely food and wines. Shuttle service to the city centre but you can also take a taxo (€ 15-25 dependent upon traffick and time). This hotel has got syle and class.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick188590
Carola_Caruso, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much enjoyed reading your positive review and your kind words are greatly appreciated. It is always a pleasure to hear how happy are our guests when they stay with us! We appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Vito Giglio General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2014

In its heyday — when guests included King Edward VII and the Queen of Romania (as pictured in wonderful period photos in rooms and corridors) — this Art Nouveau classic by the architect Ernesto Basille must have been as spectacular as its gardens and seaside setting. Today, it is still the best place to stay in Palermo and area —...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CanadienErrante
Carola_Caruso, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to send your feedback regarding the recent stay with us and we greatly appreciate it. We are very pleased to learn that, overall, you enjoyed your journey with us but we regret you didn't appreciate so much the room. As you know The Villa is an historic building dating th...

Astoria, New York
Reviewed 18 September 2014

What a grand hotel. We had the best summer vacation ever. The rooms were great, overlooking the sea with a balcony. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff went out of their way to be very helpful. Our concierge Filipe as well as the staff at the reception desk were outstanding. Vincenzo at the pool was most helpful as were the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IreneDutikow
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to truly thank you for the beautiful words you wrote about your last stay at our hotel. Nothing gives us more pleasure than to hear that we have fully met your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us. We hope to have the pleasure to see...

New York
Reviewed 16 September 2014

This old hotel harkens back to its glory days too much and needs to spend some money renovating. Service varies from terrific to useless, depending on the staff member. The rooms, in particular the carpets and the AC, need to be redone. Nevertheless the aura of elegance is there and it's certainly an oasis from the gritty, grimy city it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewYorkWendy
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your review about your recent stay in our Hotel. Your constructive criticisms are very important for us because help to identify the problems on which our efforts must to be oriented in order to ensure an even better service to our guests....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2014

Thank you Chiara & Alessia, your service, bubbles and strawberries have really started our honeymoon off with a 'pop'. the hotel is amazung, yes.... there are a fewblittle cracks herevand there but this is a period property and looks and feels amazing. having druven here from London (via the Genoa / Palermo ferry) the staff couldnt be more genuinely helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beershark
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very glad to hear that your stay at The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea has been to your satisfaction. On behalf of the whole staff we thank you very much for your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel, very soon. Best regards, Carola Caruso Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio -...

1,306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (799)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (168)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (395)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (360)
Viewed
Amenities (84)
Viewed
Classic Room with Mountain View (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Room Sea View with Terrace (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Sea View (30)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Senior Suite (70)
Viewed
Superior Room with Garden View (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (147)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
605 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
365 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#3 of 101 in Palermo
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#7 of 101 in Palermo
473 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
564 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#6 of 101 in Palermo
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Cuvee du Jour
Cuvee du Jour
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Price Range: $164 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Camarillo, California
Manchester, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room looking out on water”
 of 5 bubbles Harris14, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I recommend a room overlooking the bay”
 of 5 bubbles Elsie2886, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book the sea side rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MoJupiter, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms looking over the sea side !”
  • View from our room!
 of 5 bubbles bortonoverseas, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Anywhere in the hotel is good.”
 of 5 bubbles 984mablec, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5