We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel Venice

PricelineUSD 191*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 212*
USD 191*
Great Deal
USD 195*
USD 212*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Venice
See the most recent reviews
Showing 638: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The Generator hostels are stunning, raising the bar for backpacker hostels everywhere! This beautiful boutique style hostel felt more like a designer hotel. The attention to detail and design in the communal area is stunning, unfortunately the thought didn't quite make is to the sleeping areas. Our dorm was ridiculously crammed and the bathroom facilities was much to be desired

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank angharadg2017
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear angharadg2017, Wow, thank you for your amazing review! We are thrilled to hear that you are satisfied with our service. We would love to welcome you back here in Venice soon. Best wishes Generator Venice Team

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 27 January 2017

This hostel is really nice decorated! all the first floor has a really nice atmosphere and is always clean! The common areas are very confortable and the wifi connection works perfectly fine! I was in the second floor and the room was it was big, spacious and confortable. Each bed has its own locker to put all your private stuff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslee B
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Leslee B, Thank you for your review and feedback after your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and be a part of your Venice adventure. Thank you for choosing Generator Venice and I hope we will see you again in the future. Best Wishes, Generator Venice Team

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Cool place, doesn't feel like a hostel when you walk in. Aside from the dormitory style rooms, I wouldn't really call it a hostel. There are no kitchen facilities, not even boiling water or a microwave. Although the place has some cool relaxing common areas, it would be good if you could bring in your own food and drink, esp...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinead_AU
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Sinead, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay with us in Venice. We appreciate all your comments, the hostel is located 5 minutes away from the city center and is the right place for enjoying amazing landscapes. Our cafe' and restaurant provide a wide range of plates for all the tastes, that is...

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Without a doubt one of the better hostels! Great vibe as soon as you walk in. Beautiful location the second photo was the view from bed. Dorms were clean and good size. The lobby has a cafe and a bar that even locals seem to come for a few drinks. Short ferry trips get you to main parts of Venice!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julian M
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Julian M, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Venice. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the place and your stay so much and really great to read such positive comments. We hope to welcome you back to Venice for another great stay. Kind regards Generator Venice Team

Reviewed 19 January 2017

Request to not be on the first floor. We could not sleep because of extremely loud music. The speakers are in the ceiling above the bar... and so disrupt anyone trying to sleep right above.. There are no self-catering facilities. The food is awful and over-priced, especially the breakfast. Bathrooms had a very strange layout. No privacy in the showers...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank schmizabel
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear schmizabel, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay with us in Venice. We appreciate all your comments, the hostel is located 5 minutes away from the city center and is the right place for enjoying amazing landscapes. Our cafe' and restaurant provide a wide range of plates for all the tastes, that is...

Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The location is basically in Germany. The food is over priced garbage and the facilities were falling apart. I would highly recommend never ever staying in this hell hole. They have let the generator name down, which is a shame.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank IronyHunter
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Gian K, Thanks for your positive feedback. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us in Venice and you have found the facilities up to your standards. I am disappointed about the comment in relation to the customer stay and I would welcome you to drop me an email so that I can understand what has gone...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Very good and comfortable accommodation, there was a beautiful view from the window of my room. Bath and bed very clean, but the staff wasn't in a good mood. at the restaurant, they were running out of several options of the menu

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gfcamargo
Province of Brescia, Italy
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We loved staying in this hostel, the private room was great and clean. The hostel is very stylish, and the people that we met were so nice! Everything was perfect except we found the food a bit expensive. I would definitely recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beatriceplz
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear beatriceplz, Thank You very much for your review We love receiving feedback from our guests, therefore, give us the opportunity to implement improvements. We hope to see you again as soon as possible! Sincerely Yours, Generator Venice Team

Reviewed 10 January 2017

Generator Venice is a great place to stay. It is in Zitelle, opposite St. Marks Square. Hop on the ferry and go there. Rooms are clean and Bathrooms are good. They give each of us a box to keep our stuff. Venice is an expensive city. So I get it food at the hostel is expensive too. Overall, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thedarkdefender
Hannover, Germany
Reviewed 9 January 2017

clean hostel, friendly staff. worst breakfast ever. nothing for vegans. no kitchen for self cooking. expensive. nice view from our room. you only get there by using the vaporetto, which is expensive as hell! but the little island is nice as there are not as many tourists as on the main island.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariej445
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear mariej445, thank you for sharing you recent feedback after your stay at Generator Venice. We are thrilled to hear from you that you enjoyed your time with us and that you loved our clean hostel, we have taken on board all you comments concerning the breakfast in order to ameliorate our quality of services. , we offer a wide...

473 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (245)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Large Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Private Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Small Dorm with Ensuite Bathroom (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#128 of 385 in Venice
483 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#152 of 385 in Venice
2,044 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#108 of 385 in Venice
818 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#105 of 385 in Venice
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Giudecca

Neighbourhood Profile
Giudecca
Giudecca is a retreat for Venetians away from the crowds. Symbolically, six metal teeth represent Venice’s six sestieri (districts); the seventh, Guidecca, points away from the others – part of Dorsoduro, but separated by the Giudecca Canal. Giudecca evolved from a center of shipyards and factories to a quiet residential area with a sprinkling of restaurants and bars. The majestic harmonious Redentore church stands as thanks for delivering Venice from the plague, hosting an annual heartfelt festival.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Venice

Address: Fondamenta Zitelle, 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Price Range: $59 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Venice 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Generator Hostel Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Venezia Hotel Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Venice staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Venice staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dividers between dorm rooms are wall topped by glass, so noise carries. Bring earplugs or get a smaller room if you are a sensitive sleeper.”
H6140SCmichellem, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Wifi is something to be desired, stock up on mobile data.”
TheMadraver, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“clean room”
731hanym, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“13 beds room not a problem!”
LuliChap, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring headphones as you cannot control who will be in your shared rooms!”
Cheyenne0515, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 191* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 195
Hostelworld.comUSD 212
Hotwire.comUSD 195
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates