We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Hostel Venice

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

888 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 569: English reviews
Pennsylvania Grand Canyon, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the hostel for a couple days and prepaid my breakfast. However, at the end of my stayed I saw the attendant name Francesca refund a guy 's money for unused breakfast, so I approached her thinking that I will get the same treatment. Oh boy, was I so wrong! She was so rude and discriminatory to me.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tefy25
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is perfect, and the aesthetics are outstanding... But, beware, some of the staff can be extremely arrogant and rude. Also, the shower areas are tiny with little privacy and only one sink and mirror for an entire floor. There were additional handicapped showers, but they were kept locked, I guess the cleaning staff was as lazy and rude... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank F9978PRchristophert
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear F9978PRchristophert, Firstly can I thank you for sharing your Generator experience with us after your stay in Venice. I was sad to hear that we had perhaps not met the mark on this occasion and would like to hear from you if you have any further feedback at all. I can be reached on: keti.camillo@generatorhostels.com Please rest assured all... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Venice for a couple of days tagged onto the end of a business trip. The hostel is brilliant, lovely atmosphere, nice food, great bar. The dorms were warm, comfortable and everyone was helpful. The staff were brilliant also. It's on the lower Island of Venice so you have to jump on a water taxi but that's part of the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VARogers1
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear VARogers1, Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay here in Venice, we are glad to hear that you loved our staff and location. We suggest to all the guests to purchase a tickets that covers the length of the stay in order to save money and that allows to reach all the corners of the lagoon We... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Chilling out in the common room/ dinning area. The hostel is clean and has every thing you need, clean towels for €3 and if you need a lock then it's just €3.50 The breakfast for €4.50 is pretty basic so I opted for the scrambled eggs with bacon for €2 more (€6.50) is by far better. Breakfast is from 7-10... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jinxme99
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Jinxme99, Thank You very much for your review We love receiving feedback from our guests, therefore, give us the opportunity to implement improvements. We hope to see you again as soon as possible! Sincerely Yours, Generator Venice Team More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Here is one of the best places that you can find in Venezia, but you shouldn't expect too much. First you should consider that you have to buy a ticket for boat which costs 30€ for 3 days to arrive to this location, then bring a lock with yourself, otherwise you should buy it. (3,50€) I stayed here 2 nights... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shiva S
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Shiva S, Many thanks for sharing your experience online after your stay in our hostel. Our hostel is located on Giudecca Island, in front of St. Mark's basin, just 5 minutes by boat from the city center. We suggest to our guests, to purchase a ticket that cover the length of the stay. . The Rolling Venice Card is... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel gets the basics OK, comfy bed, hot showers, lockers, a bar and food but the music i. the common area is too loud and no one is listening to it anyway. You need to turn it down, choose more relaxing music like they have at Starbucks and provide a quiet room for people who want quiet. I have... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deptford1593
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Deptford1593, thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. We have taken on board your comments concerning the music, we hope however you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you here soon best wishes Generator Venice Team More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved the location and the building! Awesome atmosphere and multicultural environment. Everything is new and the lounge bar is really cool. The rooms are big but not the toilets: their cleanness could be better. Overall, a great experience for the cheapest price in Venice.

Helpful?
Thank Daria I
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Daria I, We were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your time with us here at Generator Venice, Your comments and feedback will be really well received by the team, who work tirelessly to ensure our guests are getting the best possible service and enjoy a memorable time with us. So pleased to hear we’ve met the mark... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel was very clean and professionally maintained. However, I found the reception staff to be pretty curt and they would talk down to people, and they seemed to have no knowledge or recommendations on the area. To be honest I wasn't particularly impressed.

Helpful?
Thank Shane C
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Shane C, thanks for sharing your thoughts after your stay with us at Generator Venice. we were disappointed to hear that we had not quite met your expectations on this occasion but we really do appreciate your feedback. Please accept our apologize for any inconvenient that you could have it. We assure you that your complaint and feedback will... More 

Sorrento, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I got food poisoning from their "restaurant." Staff wasn't friendly nor helpful. My room was very dark and my bed light was broken so I was constantly in the dark. Location was decent and beds were comfortable, but I wouldn't go again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 576lillianh
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear 576lillianh, Firstly can I thank you for sharing your Generator experience with us after your stay in Venice. I was sad to hear that we had perhaps not met the mark on this occasion and would like to hear from you if you have any further feedback at all. I can be reached on: keti.camillo@generatorhostels.com Please rest assured all... More 

Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very modern hostel and provides brilliant rooms, the thoughtfulness put into the design of the rooms, beds and quality of the linen provided was very high. Just a water bus away from all prime tourist places with a bar and restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jaynem892
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear jaynem892, Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay at Generator Venice. We are thrilled to read such as good review and to understand that you really enjoyed your stay in our property the hostel is facing st.Mark's square with magic landscapes and is located in a central location few minutes from the core of Venice Our... More 

453 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Large Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Private Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Small Dorm with Ensuite Bathroom (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#115 of 385 in Venice
459 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 385 in Venice
779 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#156 of 385 in Venice
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#47 of 385 in Venice
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Giudecca

Neighbourhood Profile
Giudecca
Giudecca is a retreat for Venetians away from the crowds. Symbolically, six metal teeth represent Venice’s six sestieri (districts); the seventh, Guidecca, points away from the others – part of Dorsoduro, but separated by the Giudecca Canal. Giudecca evolved from a center of shipyards and factories to a quiet residential area with a sprinkling of restaurants and bars. The majestic harmonious Redentore church stands as thanks for delivering Venice from the plague, hosting an annual heartfelt festival.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Venice

Address: Fondamenta Zitelle, 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Price Range: $40 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Venice 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Generator Hostel Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Venezia Hotel Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Venice staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Minneapolis, Minnesota
over a year ago
Eugene, Oregon

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Venice staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“13 beds room not a problem!”
 of 5 bubbles LuliChap, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring headphones as you cannot control who will be in your shared rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles Cheyenne0515, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“best views, cheap food & drink, lovely food, great staff, clean rooms, ideal location”
  • View from location
 of 5 bubbles jenniferfT5705KJ, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“As with all hostels, the large dorms are cheaper, small ones are nicer.”
 of 5 bubbles DawnMarieGoz, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just ask the reception”
 of 5 bubbles KevinSaey, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay