We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Auberge Sur Mer

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Auberge Sur Mer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 34: English reviews
Start your review of Auberge Sur Mer
 Click to rate
St. Marys, Canada
Reviewed 15 February 2017

After an extended day trip we realized that we needed to get to the Auberge Sur Mer, where we had a reservation as fast as possible. We phoned ahead to warn of our late arrival and made it just in time to have dinner - a fantastically flavourful seafood risotto on the Prix Fixe menu. And to top it off,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatherineT_M
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We made reservations at the restaurant for 8pm. On arriving just minutes before 8pm I gave my name to the lady who greeted us but she ignored it, and did not check it on any list .We were told there were no tables available now,yet there were definitely some vacant and told us to sit in the lounge area to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lunaraker
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello, We are really sorry that you had to wait for your dinner. On busy nights it is often not possible to arrive before the time of your reservation and there could be a little 10 minutes of wait to give you the best table as possible. At the end of the season it is sometimes hard to evaluate how...

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

This is a charming old inn with adjacent motel rooms. Both are right on the water. What makes this place special in my opinion, is the restaurant. They have skilled servers and chef. I'd recommend including the optional dinner and breakfast...worth every penny! Bon voyage!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen D
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello Miss Eileen, Thank you so much for that great review ! Your satisfaction really is our reward. We hope to see you again. Thank you !

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We stayed on our way travelling from Moncton, N.B. to Mt. Tremblant. We were to stay in the main building (which looks absolutely beautiful), but because we were early and our room wasn't ready, we were offered an "upgrade" room in the attached hotel section. The room was very clean and comfortable, but dated. We assume the "update" must have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SharonDon O
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello Mrs ans Mr O. Thank you for the great review! I think that you agree that being so close to the water is a nice upgrade to any kind of room. We did renovations on a lot of rooms this summer and we are still upgrading the other ones. We really are famous for the quality of the restaurant,...

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We had dinner in this restaurant and it was the best dinner we had in our stay in Canada. Delicious ! Surprising mains, definitively extremely good. The personnel is very nice and quick. The place is old style decorated and classy. We loved this dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oriana P
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Bonjour Mrs. Oriana, Thank you so much for this review. We work very hard to keep that good reputation and we are pleased to read this nice comment. We hope to see you again in the future !

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Ae have been driving from Toronto to the east for many years. We have tried stopping in various places...Quebec City, Levis, Edmonston. But we have settled on Notre-Dame Du-Portage as the perfect place to stop. We have probably stayed there now on 10 occasions for a single night on our journey. You can stay at a simple clean room in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert D
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Dear Mr Robert, You made our day with that nice review ! It is our best reward to know that our visitors are happy with us. L'Auberge sur Mer is a nice stop in between Ontario and PEI or New-Brunswick and many people choose to stay with us every year. We hope to see you again. Thank you !

Reviewed 29 August 2016

The place is amazing but when I got there one room I had booked was not reserved for me. Don't trust this place. I was then overcharged (paid the price for a room with river view and got a back view, with no good conversation or apologies but bad treatment. And I also saw a French guest left our of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norton L
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello Mr Norton, We don't understand your comment. We do not recall such a situation this summer ! Are you sure you were here at L'Auberge sur Mer of Notre-Dame-du-Portage ? You can be sure that we do our best to see all our clients happy. You can contact us directly at info@aubergesurmer.ca and we will clarify what happened that...

Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We came on a rainy day when the river was hidden by fog. The restaurant was fantastic - I wish we had been able to enjoy the sunsets everyone saw. We were warned that our room, in the older section of the inn over the restaurant, might be noisy, but we didn't experience that at all. Rooms are a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello Mr Jan, Thank you for this review. Indeed, the sunset here is one of the best in the world. We hope you will have a better weather next time so you can enjoy the magnificient colors of the sky ! Thanks for staying with us.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Auberge sur Mer is an old three-story wooden building with a two floor motel adjoining it. The third floor rooms in the main building are tiny, cramped, with no space to put luggage down other than the floor. There was no decent reading light, but there was a twelve-inch television. The "beach" is rocky/pebbly and the water cold so plan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for you comment. The rooms on the 3rd floor are not the best. We agree that they are smaller and we always beware our visitors of that fact. However, many people like those because they have a very low price. I would recommend you the room in the motel section they are much bigger and overlooking the...

Rosemere, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I am very familiar and fond of that area. My family tree brings me to the lower St-Lawrence at least every 5 years or so. I love Notre-Dame-du-Portage for it's view of the river as well as it's history. I usually only stay 1 night as we are driving through the area but this time I made it our destination....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy H

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Notre-Dame-du-Portage
3.7 km away
Auberge du Portage
Auberge du Portage
#1 of 2 in Notre-Dame-du-Portage
73 reviews
9.1 km away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#3 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
376 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Universel
Hotel Universel
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
473 reviews
7.3 km away
Auberge Internationale Rivire-du-Loup
Auberge Internationale Rivire-du...
#10 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
39 reviews
8.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Auberge Sur Mer

Address: Du Fleuve Rd | 363, Notre-Dame-du-Portage, Quebec G0L 1Y0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Notre-Dame-du-Portage
Price Range: $110 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Sur Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Auberge Sur Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Auberge Sur Mer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Motel rooms are average. Suggest trying a room in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles SharonDonO, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the third floor rooms, and from the front where road noise can be bothersome.”
 of 5 bubbles Bill_and_Daniele, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on the second floor of the motel section. I enjoyed the view and not having anyone upstairs from me.”
 of 5 bubbles PeggyH383, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Top floor may be better, away from stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Sharonstp, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in the motel, which I think is MARGINALLY less crap than the main building”
 of 5 bubbles Nonworkingmonkey, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5