We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Victoria

TravelocityUSD 326*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Victoria
 Click to rate
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The spot of the hotel is beautiful, but except from that nothing positive to mention. Room size is ok, but it smelled like an old celler. It is very noisy and we have never ever had such bad service! This people don't understand what service is about. So no value for money. They charge you for everything extra, parkinglot, babycot.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fanny V
Marina del Rey, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The knockout view from our room was fantastic. It was so fantastic that we didn't mind the size of the room which was pretty small. That would have been insignificant but a few things did trouble us. There was really room for a small bedside table, but there was no table. No bottled water was provided, and no water glasses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quarterdeck
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lake Como has many luxury hotels where you will be pampered and if you wish you can never leave the property and still be quite happy. I suspect that if you are reading this; this is not you. You've come to Lake Como to explore the area, the villages and experience the ferries, boats and villas. A good place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence826
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed in Royal Victoria for a couple of nights in a lake view room. The view is pretty amazing even from the bed you get a great view of Bellagio and other towns on the lakeside. It feels very private as most of the shops on the lakeside are on a different side of the hill....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _ela_t1
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much!

Stoughton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not bad, but I expect more for the price. Long for the good old days, remember dial up modems in the early internet days? You can relive that experience here. It’s slow, unusable. Like the sound of running water? You can hear it from the room next door as you are trying to sleep. Breakfast has a limited selection for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlamencoFlame
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your review. We're afraid if something didn't seem to be good for you. The breakfast buffet had different choices hot/cold sweet/salty and a cooker is Always there for any extra need. We never had complained about noise in the rooms also because it's an historical building with great walls. We hope to welcome you...

Oxford
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel and the staff were great overlooking the lake the views were amazing Varenna is quiet and not much going on there but a short trip and you can visit a really busy Bellagio. The hotel operates a high and low season but no mid season price structure which is crazy. The weather is mixed and the number of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMG53
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your good review. The management agreed low and high season according to the life of our Village. May is high season at all, also our hotel have great occupancy already from last year. We also orgainize special offers in different periods of the year always visible on our web site.

Washington DC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Some work colleagues and I stayed here one night after attending the Isalone fair in Milan. It was perfect! The hotel itself is lovely and the rooms are comfy and nicely designed with a crisp modern look that manages to be warm and inviting. Spend the extra $ for a lake view and you will not be disappointed. The breeze...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjelen1
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much! We hope to welcome you again!

Buckeye Lake, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lake Como and the surrounding towns are the key players. We really enjoyed our room and the fantastic views from our balcony. Varenna is a beautiful small town with little of the glitz of Belagio. We had come from Florence and the high octane choices to see. Here, we could veg out but also plenty to see if so motivated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeteMyer
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thank so much for your beautifull words. We hope to welcome you again Regards

Rangeley, Maine
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here five nights on our recent trip, having spent one night to regret at the Villa Cipressi. Service was impeccable and the views, well, simply spectacular from our tiny terrace. Some rooms have larger ones. On our last trip we stayed at the Hotel du Lac but couldn't get in this time. My wife took a bad fall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We 're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It has been a pleasure to welcome you when you walked in needing a last minute accomodation. The fornitures in some of the lake view rooms are antique pieces chosen during restoration works. They have been chosen from our architect to maintain the old historical style of the hotel.

Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On a brief visit to Varenna we happened to stop at The Victoria for a drink and a chance to take in the views. We didn't stay here but will one day. The position is just lovely, just minutes from the village but secluded. The terrace & pool area have wonderful views from the different levels & down to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beechcroft
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much!

550 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (266)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (123)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Junior Suite Manzoni (35)
Viewed
Lake View Room (34)
Viewed
Outdoor Swimming Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Square View Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
3.4 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.5 km away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
724 reviews
0.6 km away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,000 reviews
2.9 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
5.9 km away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Royal Victoria is a four stars hotel facing the lake, situated in the historical centre of Varenna, a charming medieval village and one of the most appreciated tourist destinations of lake Como. The recent renovations have preserved its XIX century aspect; the rooms offer all modern comforts while maintaining the atmosphere of a charming hotel. The bright and comfortable hall provide a refined and attractive atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Victoria

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Price Range: $335 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Varenna
Royal Victoria Hotel Varenna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Victoria staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Victoria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The extra fee for a balcony is well worth it.”
Laurence826, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“best views”
_ela_t1, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Nice spot for a reception or an expensive business conference.”
FlamencoFlame, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Lake view with balcony”
AMG53, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Lake view, lake view, lake view!”
rjelen1, 11 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 326* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 327
Booking.comUSD 327
Expedia.comUSD 326
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates