Grand Hotel Miramare
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Grand Hotel Miramare

Via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure Italy
Traveller (933)
Miramare Suite
Room & Suite (689)
Beach
Pool & Beach (109)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

AU$1,306
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 22 hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Trovare l'hotel romantico ideale a Santa Margherita Ligure è semplice. Benvenuto al Grand Hotel Miramare, un'ottima opzione per i viaggiatori come te. In posizione ideale vicino ad alcuni dei principali punti d'interesse di Santa Margherita Ligure, come Convento dei Frati Cappuccini di Santa Margherita Ligure (0,5 km) e Castello di Santa Margherita Ligure (0,5 km), il Grand Hotel Miramare Santa Margherita è un'ottima destinazione per i turisti. Grand Hotel Miramare Santa Margherita offre agli ospiti diversi servizi in camera come TV a schermo piatto, minibar e aria condizionata e la connessione Wi-Fi gratuita. L'hotel offre reception 24 ore su 24, concierge e servizio in camera per rendere la tua visita ancora più piacevole. In questa struttura troverai anche una piscina e una colazione inclusa. Gli ospiti che viaggiano in auto hanno accesso al parcheggio privato a pagamento in loco. Quando visiti Santa Margherita Ligure, perché non provi i aragosta in uno dei ristoranti nelle vicinanze, come Padò? Santa Margherita Ligure è conosciuta anche per fantastici giardini, tra cui Parco del Flauto Magico, a poca distanza dal Grand Hotel Miramare. Il Grand Hotel Miramare non vede l'ora di darti il benvenuto a Santa Margherita Ligure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more

Location

Via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Cristoforo Colombo Airport
1,223Review38Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 917
  • 231
  • 48
  • 19
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TheBestOnly_13 wrote a review Apr 2020
Miami, Florida196 contributions84 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Continuing our Italian vacation, we stopped for a few days in this beautiful Italian Riviera City. The Grand Hotel Miramare served as our gateway to Cinque Terre and Portofino by cruise ferries. A Leading Hotels of the World member, the Grand Hotel Miramare is impeccably maintained considering the property is over 100 years old. As such the guest rooms are very small for a luxury hotel, averaging less than 200 square feet or so. The Restaurant staff was excellent, but the reception and room service staff were not as expected in a luxury property. The more recent pool area and amenities are tranquil and relaxing. The Hotel is walking distance to the center of town and its many restaurants and shops as you stroll through its waterfront promenade and of course its many and frequent ferries to nearby places. If you drive, the Hotel will valet your auto as parking is off the property at a charge of 30 Euros per night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Sea view rooms with balconies are the best even though balconies ate tiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ivan Parodi, Altro at Grand Hotel Miramare
Responded 21 Apr 2020
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and with the other travellers. Thank you for mentioning our strategic position. The Grand Hotel Miramare benefits from a superb location: walking distance from the center of Santa Margherita Ligure, Portofino and of course in front of the sea. As you mention, the hotel is over 100 years old, and in historical buildings such as ours, it is common to have rooms of many different sizes. For this reason, the Owners have started a gradual renovation plan started in 2016, and every year our inventory is reduced to create larger rooms. Several new suites and junior suites are ready for our guests to enjoy, so we hope you will be able to return and experience our new and more spacious rooms. We have noted your comment about some members of our staff, and I can assure that actions have been taken with the relevant heads of department – every year we organize trainings for all our employees, as we want to guarantee the highest standards of service to our guests during their stay with us. We value all comments from our guests, it helps us to constantly improve the experience during the stay and meet and exceed their expectations. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Ivan Parodi Jr. Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
libby K wrote a review Sept 2020
11 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here at the tail end of August/beginning of September. The Hotel has a fantastic pool, a great beach club and largely great staff. A special 'shout out' to the chamber maids who happily co- ordinated the movements of our dog with when they could clean our room.

Breakfast is included and is broad in it's contents.

Unfortunately the major draw back of staying at this hotel during the height of the season is the 'policy' with regards to the beach club across the road that the hotel owns and advertises as a facility of the Hotel; so one would assume can be used by guests. Think again, during the season; June until the end of September more than 90% of the beds at the beach club are rented out to non residents for 4000 euros each. What this equates to is that upon arrival at the hotel you, as a guest may, or most likely not, will not be able to secure a bed/beds at the beach club. When we stayed there were 26 pairs of beds to facilitate the needs of the entire hotel. They say that beds are allocated on a 'first come, first served' basis but do not make it clear that from the outset most of the beds have already been reserved by non-residents.

If the owners actually prioritised the needs of paying guests above collecting income from people who have holiday homes in the area this hotel would be fantastic. As an aside spending 3/4 days at the hotel costs more than the 4000 euros that securing a bed for the season generate from non-residents!

I have to add that the Imperial Palace, Hotel Metropole etc do not operate this policy and all guests are guaranteed beds at their beach clubs.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ivan Parodi, Altro at Grand Hotel Miramare
Responded 17 Sept 2020
Dear Libby K, From your kind review we read with pleasure of your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. We do appreciate you have enjoyed our service: the fantastic pool area and We are delighted that you judge our staff great. Regarding your experience on the beach, positive and negative comments are really important for us to offer even more extraordinary experiences for the Guests. We have one the largest beach club in Santa Margherita Ligure. The "Bagni Miramare" is an historical bathing facilities, directly in front of the hotel are famous throughout the riviera from Rapallo to Portofino. Access is free for GHM guests. The service includes a lounger, sun umbrella and terry towel, and spaces are allocated daily, although our staff is always at your disposal to reserve in advance the best position that our Guests need (on availability). We wish to thank for sharing your great experience with us and we will be very pleased to have you our guests again in the near future. Best regards, Ivan Parodi Jr. Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jamesashw wrote a review Sept 2020
Sale, United Kingdom95 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This would have been a 5 star review if it wasn’t for one thing... no iron in the rooms and it’s hotel policy to ensure guest are not provided with one???

Looking at some of the previous reviews there are many other guests who have raised this as an issue yet Management are still standing by this bizarre rule citing reasons of health and safety.

Who gets to a point in life where they can spend £500 a night on a hotel room and still not be capable of using an iron without damaging something.

Ultimately this ‘rule’ means that for my wife many of her dresses she was not able to ware unless we paid €16 to have them pressed by the Hotel something which on principal we refused to pay.

This is the only hotel I have ever come across which adopts this policy which should tell the management something... the policy is clearly ill thought out and needs changing immediately.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ivan Parodi, Altro at Grand Hotel Miramare
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Dear Jamessahw, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, it is really important for us. We were delighted to read that You judge our hotel "excellent". We are sorry that you interpreted the not providing iron in the rooms as a disservice. To ensure the maximum safety of guests and avoid unpleasant accidents, the use of these devices is not allowed. We would like to clarify that an internal laundry service is guaranteed for guests and it is active every day. We hope to welcome you back soon; we look forward to your next visit. Best regards Ivan Parodi Jr. Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
InformedFoodie wrote a review Feb 2020
Danville, California45 contributions49 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We requested a beautiful room with a balcony for a very special birthday celebration after staying here in 2018. The room we received in 2019 was a room half the size of the room in 2018 (which was a downgraded room).It was so cramped we had to put a suitcase in the bathroom in order to maneuver around the room. We immediately went to the front desk the evening we checked in, and told them the room was way too small, and cramped, and we needed to move into a more spacious room like the rooms we stayed in and had been shown in 2018. We were told that there was a large wedding party that arrived earlier and that they occupied the bigger rooms and that we would have assistance in moving to a larger more lux room the next morning. The next morning, we went to the front desk personally 5 different times, and called from our room numerous times to get this issue resolved. We were put off time after time in a very arrogant rude manner, and told that the General Manager, Mr. Sapia would be at the hotel to take care of our issue. Finally, the 5th time we went to the front desk we were told Mr. Sapia wasn’t coming and that he rarely makes appearances at the hotel, and we could move into a room that was the same size or smaller. At this time Ms. Monica Agus, the front desk manager stated she didn’t have authority to issue a credit, but that she would speak to the manager in charge of that and work to get us a credit on our behalf. We checked out of the hotel and moved to a beautiful suite (that was less than the room at Hotel Miramare) at the Imperial Palace. Hotel Miramare refused to refund for the 4 nights we paid upfront for, and charged us for the full 4 nights after we checked out staying only 1 night. This hotel should be downgraded to 3 stars, at best.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Fustinoni, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Miramare
Responded 14 Aug 2020
Dear InformedFoodie, Buongiorno from Grand Hotel Miramare and thank you for the time you dedicated to share your feedback. We are really sad to get to know about the negative feelings you had while staying with us and I am deeply sorry if we did not provide you with the standards you expected. Again, my sincere apologies for having failed to give you the most amazing experience as we always wish. I hope you will give us another opportunity when your travels bring you back to Italian Riviera, I can ensure your future stays will be perfect in order to change completely your feelings with us. Kindest regards, Andrea Fustinoni Owner Family Grand Hotel Miramare Santa Margherita Ligure
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen B wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom100 contributions84 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed at this hotel 4 or 5 times as have other members of the family. I reviewed it in 2017 under the title "seaside luxury" Our latest stay was for 4 nights in a room with a sea view. The room was super-comfortable, with a small terrace. It had effective air conditioning, a fridge and a good bathroom.

The breakfast was impeccable and the facilities and service including pool and a well stocked poolside bar left nothing to be desired.

Basically it is still an excellent hotel. COVID means that more of the guests are Italian, and that there are precautions to be taken, but these are handled without spoiling one's enjoyment.

Guests' cars are now conveniently accomodated in the nearby new but unobtrusive municipal car park,

We, and other members of the family, have enjoyed our time at the hotel very much.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ivan Parodi, Altro at Grand Hotel Miramare
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Dear Stephen , From your kind review we read with pleasure of your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. It is a great pleasure for us to receive such positive evaluations also, and above all, from a loyal customer. We are delighted to read that you consider our property an excellent Hotels. We do appreciate you have enjoyed our services and you judge our breakfast impeccable. We wish to thank for sharing your great experience with us and we will be very pleased to have you our guests again in the near future. Best regards Ivan Parodi Jr. Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lislander wrote a review Sept 2021
New York269 contributions180 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay as the setting is beautiful, the service excellent and the rooms very comfortable. We arrived by car and as soon as we pulled up, a porter came out unloaded our bags and parked the car for us. When we left the car was loaded and fresh cold waters were placed in the cup holders- a nice departing touch.
The front desk staff were particularly charming and friendly. Not only were they helpful with suggestions on where to dine but they listened attentively when we returned from our outings. We mentioned we were celebrating an anniversary is passing conversation and the next day a bottle of champagne was delivered to our room so we could enjoy it on our balcony at sunset.

Due to Covid, buffet breakfasts are served by waiters- you point and they give you a plate. Here, they do it differently which we liked. All the food you could want is delivered to your table. No need to get up and choose. Bar service was supper attentive and friendly. This was by far the best hotel experience of our two week visit to Italy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grand Hotel Miramare, Altro at Grand Hotel Miramare
Responded 24 Sept 2021
Dear Mr. Lisander, greetings from Santa Margherita Ligure! The feedback of your stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare has filled us with joy and we thank you therefore. We are so glad that every single service, from your arrival until the departure, has been apreciated and made your accomodation at ours worth remembering. Attentive care of our guests expectations making them feel comfortable is one of our main goals and reading your words has given us proof that we are walking the right way. We will share your review with all our staff, it will be a great encouragement for everyone of us. We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back soon at the Grand Hotel Miramare and send you hereby our warmest regards. Yours sincerely, Lorenza Oddone Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Holt-Miller wrote a review July 2021
Geneva, Switzerland31 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first weekend break since lock-down but when we arrived the cleanliness, mask wearing and meticulous disinfecting left us feeling very confident and reassured during our vacation. Additionally, I was here during my birthday. Although we had not mentioned this to staff my husband and I were pleasantly surprised that the hotel had left a card and complementary Prosecco in our room to help our celebrations. Fantastic attention to detail and excellent staff!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grand Hotel Miramare, Altro at Grand Hotel Miramare
Responded 16 July 2021
Dear Mrs. Holt-Miller, greetings from a sunny Santa Margherita Ligure, First of all, thank you for your splendid evaluation of your stay at Grand Hotel Miramare, it was a pleasure having you as guest. We would like also to thank you about your comment and it means a lot for us. We are trying to adopt procedures in these days, in the respect of our guests and the safety measurements. We are really happy to hear that you have enjoyed your sojourn!! We are looking forward to have you again here iat Grand Hotel Miramare. Warmest Regards Andrea Bianchi Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laurencarrozzi wrote a review Sept 2022
Pittsburgh17 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have family in Italy and visit from the USA every other year to different parts of Italy, twice to Positano. Usually we stay in local apartments and not hotels, and were wondering if we would miss the authenticity of our usual mode of travel. We were celebrating my retirement from 33 years of public school teaching and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The staff, the surroundings, the service and the VIEW were magical. Even though it is a tourist area like the Amalfi coast, it is filled with Italian visitors enjoying the lovely seaside passegiatas and lively appertif hours we had come to love. The town of Santa Margherita is so accessible from the hotel; an easy 5 minute, flat stroll full of restaurants and shops. Smaller yacht filled Portofino is minutes away as is larger Rapallo where we took a pesto cooking class. There is enough to do for lots of interests, or nothing to do but soak in the view and beauty of this region of Italy, as was our purpose this trip. Seafood is the main staple of all menus, although pizza is available. A cute little boat in the port serves cones of lightly fried seafood with plastic cups of wine in contrast to the elegant dinners at Vistamare. We loved and would repeat both.
We stayed for 5 nights in the Portofino suite. We were welcomed by the manager with a prosecco and some history of the family owned hotel. The pool was beautiful, relaxing and with a serene view of the Coast of Dolphins. Our suite was a splurge, but worth every penny to lounge on the terrace in the afternoons or enjoy the complimentary and expansive breakfast at our leisure. Cleaned multiple times through the day, comfortable king mattress, and the softest of linens. There are more reasonably priced rooms as well that still give you access to the wonderful staff, amenities, and wonders of the Italian Riviera.
We thank the wonderful hosts at the Grand Hotel Miramare and can't wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you can splurge, get a terrace.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grand Hotel Miramare, Altro at Grand Hotel Miramare
Responded 16 Sept 2022
Dear Laurencarrozzi, Thank you very much for choosing Grand Hotel Miramare for this special occasion of your retirement from thirty-three years of public school teaching, and for sharing your amazing experience with all the TripAdvisor’s readers. I’m very glad to read that you loved the magical view from our Portofino Suite and that you appreciated especially our warm welcome upon your arrival, the comfort and the cleanliness of your room, the wonderful Staff, the pool, the delicious dinner in our Restaurant Vistamare , and all our service. We strive every day in order to surprise our Guests and make them feel specials, reason why your compliments are a great motivation to continue to deliver an amazing Hospitality. I’m thrilled to know that we have fully surpassed your expectations in every single aspect, as well very glad you were able to discover the very essence of Santa Margherita Ligure and its surroundings and took long lasting memories away with you. Thanking you once again , we looking forward to welcoming you soon for a second memorable experience at the Grand Hotel Miramare! With my best personal regards, Veronica Canestrelli Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GoddardMalaga wrote a review June 2020
Malaga, Spain275 contributions101 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just outside Portofino and in an excellent elevated position. The rooms with the sea view have an excellent vista to wake up to each morning. The pool area is very spacious and when we went (June '19) was not at all crowded and has excellent poolside service.
The beach /lido in front gets very busy but the water is warm and clear.
There is a very good spa/massage service on site, not inexpensive but then nothing in this hotel is. However the location and the service is excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: sea view with balcony to really appreciate your stay here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ivan Parodi, Altro at Grand Hotel Miramare
Responded 26 June 2020
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and with the other travellers. Thank you for mentioning our strategic position. The Grand Hotel Miramare benefits from a superb location: walking distance from the center of Santa Margherita Ligure, the train station, Portofino and of course in front of the sea. Moreover, we are very pleased to learn of your satisfaction about SPA service and the poolside service. We will be very glad to have you our guests again in the near future. Best regards, Ivan Parodi Jr. Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
john_tillett wrote a review Aug 2023
Adelaide, Australia219 contributions205 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I previously reviewed this hotel on a stay in 2016. The Grand Hotel Miramare remains a gorgeous coastal hotel, oozing character with a wonderful sense of place in Santa Margherita. The hotel remains immaculate, with beautiful, subtle renovations particularly to the lobby level. The service staff, particularly at the pool restaurant, were just wonderful.

Our stay as a family group in four rooms was largely flawless, though we did feel that certain requests made prior to our arrival were not appropriately managed. I do feel this impacted on our stay. We raised these concerns to management, and this was very sensitively and thoughtfully addressed. All requests after arrival were very attentively managed. At the price point, the rooms are somewhat small (though standard for Italy), and the breakfast buffet of good standard rather than excellent.

It is important to note that the beach is public- though we were always given wonderful attention and position as hotel guests. It feels far more casual and relaxed than other five star hotel beaches we have stayed at. Drinks here are cheaper than the hotel. I found the change in atmosphere a charming compliment to the more formal hotel setting, though others in our group did not.

A few notes:

I think many people choose between the Miramare and Imperiale Palace, and recently the Miramare seems to charge more per night. There are pros and cons to both hotels. The rooms themselves are very similar.

I would give the edge to the Imperiale Palace if staying as a couple. Though it is perhaps a little more dated, and dark. It is set back from the road, with a more glamorous breakfast service, and a more romantic atmosphere. The beach is far more dramatic and private for hotel guests. It is closer to the train station if touring the Cinque Terre or Camogli, and for access.

The pool at the Miramare makes it seem like a more family friendly location (why we chose it). The poolside summer restaurant under a pergola is gorgeous. It is closer to Portofino and Paraggi. The property feels somewhat more polished and well maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Veronica Canestrelli , Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Grand Hotel Miramare
Responded 30 Aug 2023
Dear Mr. Tillett, Thank you very much for choosing to stay once again at the Grand Hotel Miramare during your recent vacation in the Ligurian Riviera and for sharing with us your detailed review. It is a great pleasure that the timeless Charme of our Hotel continue to impress you even after all these years. We are delighted that you enjoyed the exceptional service provided by our staff and the relaxed atmosphere at our beach club. We do regret for the initial issues you may have encountered with your requests prior to your arrival, however, we are delighted that we were able to handle your concerns in a positive and kind manner, ensuring that your experience with us was a memorable one. We really hope to welcoming you in the nearest future and sharing with you an even more exceptional experience. Best Regards, Veronica Canestrelli, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anonymous05 asked a question Aug 2023
New York City, New York1,330 contribution36 helpful votes
IS the outdoor pool heated all year long? If not, what months is the pool heated?
Answer from DW62
Chessington, United Kingdom168 contributions14 helpful votes
Hi, I'm sorry I'm not sure . We went in April & I used the pool. As far as I remember it wasn't heated, but enjoyable all the same
Brad Lund asked a question Dec 2019
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Is there a gift shop in the hotel .
Strasbourg, France10 contributions5 helpful votes
No unfortunately there isn’t...
Answer from GrandHotelMiramare
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy18 contributions
Dear Guest, We do have daily laundry service at the Hotel. Items will be collected by our houseeping in the morning and delivered to our inside laundry for the required service. Best regards Paolo Panzeri Grand Hotel Miramare
Liberty20152015 asked a question Apr 2018
Norfolk, Massachusetts1 contribution3 helpful votes
Meant April 2019
FR wrote a tip Jan 2024
San Diego, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"go to the beach club early to get seats close to the water, enjoy the food at the beach cafe - inexpensive and so delish"
Read full review
HMM099 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Chicago, Illinois196 contributions59 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"MUST Pre-book taxis into/from Portofino. Rooms facing east view the sea. Rooms face west are cheaper and get the full PM sun"
Read full review
Anthony D wrote a tip Aug 2023
Islip, New York289 contributions126 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They have a spa onsite for spa treatments "
Read full review
trwilson12 wrote a tip May 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We flew into Genoa and had car service to the hotel…well worth doing."
Read full review
Laurencarrozzi wrote a tip Sept 2022
Pittsburgh17 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you can splurge, get a terrace."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santa Margherita Ligure area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$1,202 - AU$1,738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel santa margherita ligure
LOCATION
ItalyLiguriaItalian RivieraSanta Margherita Ligure
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND HOTEL MIRAMARE: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Miramare
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Miramare?
Nearby attractions include Spiaggia Minaglia Beach (0.2 km), Spiaggia Regina Elena (0.3 km), and Porto Turistico (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Miramare?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Miramare?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Miramare?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Miramare?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Miramare?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zi'Ninella Ristorante & Bistrot, Rêve Osteria Contemporanea, and Ristorante Da Alfredo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Miramare?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, fitness classes, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Grand Hotel Miramare have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Hotel Miramare offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Grand Hotel Miramare located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Santa Margherita Ligure.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Miramare?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Grand Hotel Miramare?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Santa Margherita Ligure HotelsSanta Margherita Ligure Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Santa Margherita LigureHotels near Grand Hotel Miramare
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars