We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hotel Bolognese

Show Prices
#1,037 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Bolognese
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2016

It was the worst place i stayed in my entire trip. Hosts were awful and not at all hospitable. Breakfast was for name sake and really bad. Very small and congested rooms.No ventilation and bathroom was tiny.

Helpful?
Thank Parul G
HotelBolognese, Proprietario at Hotel Bolognese, responded to this review

Good evening, first thing thank you for writing, but I regret to contradict you, because our policy is based on reception of the customer, the friendliness and the availability and cleaning characteristics that distinguish us. If you had had so much trouble as you says, in order to improve, however, you would have to do directly in order to make... More 

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2016

I booked this hotel as it was an affordable option just to crash a few hours at night before taking a train in Termini at 8.00 AM Cons: - The hotel is actually two apartments in a typical Roman housing block. So you have to ring the bell or they have to give you a key and a passcode to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Danudanu
HotelBolognese, Proprietario at Hotel Bolognese, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente, La ringrazio per la recensione rilasciataci su TripAdvisor. L’Hotel Bolognese sorge nella zona centrale della città, a pochi... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for just one night. We for the most part enjoyed our stay in a twin bed rather then the usual hostel. The rooms were for the most part clean and pleasant. The bathroom was small and the hot water a bit inconsistent. The decoy was a bit out dated but generally were we happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank tomdI8173MZ
HotelBolognese, Proprietario at Hotel Bolognese, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente, La ringrazio per la cortese recensione rilasciataci sulla community di TripAdvisor. Mi fa estremamente piacere sapere che Ha... More 

1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay for three nights in their Room #4. People were very cordial. There was some problem with the door of the bathroom and its lock was not also working, although we did not complain. The wifi was good in the room. The place near the dining table did not have signal.

Helpful?
Thank Utpal C
HotelBolognese, Direttore at Hotel Bolognese, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente, La ringrazio per la cortese recensione rilasciataci sulla community di TripAdvisor. Uno dei tratti che maggiormente caratterizzano l’Hotel... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2016

It is a fine accomodation,in case one does not have great expectations. Slept here for the night,chose it location being near the Rome Termini station. It does not have a lift, but at the same time Marco,rushed down to help me with my bag. Being a family run unit,they are doing their best. Although it has a free wifi,had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChandraS3
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Don't expect anything special and it will be ok. Good location (both metro lines are close and lot of bus posts) for move around city, but lack of anything interesting close to hotel. We will not take this hotel for 2nd visit to Rome

Helpful?
Thank Boris M

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Stayed here as part of INTREPID Tour package. I plan to come back to Rome to visit other places I missed but I would not stay here again.The stairs are hard work. It is not that close to the station or anything else. There's also too many heavy doors to get through before I get to the room. Everything was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 50inE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

I would never stay at this hotel again. Noisy, rude students and teenagers were banging on doors and screaming throughout the night. The rooms are small and with very limited services. Difficult to even find someone to check in/out with.Worst hotel I've ever been unfortunate enough to spend time in.

Helpful?
2 Thank loretta s
HotelBolognese, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Bolognese, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente, La ringrazio per la cortese recensione rilasciataci sulla community di TripAdvisor. L’Hotel sorge a pochi passi dalla Stazione... More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

Recently stayed here as part of a group tour. Rome was over 40 degrees at the time and the room only had a fan, which barely worked and made a loud noise. Uncomfortable bed, loads of mould in the bathroom and the reception phone rang all night! Avoid at all costs!

Helpful?
1 Thank hannahdaisy19
HotelBolognese, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Bolognese, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente, La ringrazio per aver impiegato parte del suo tempo per rilasciare una recensione sulla community di TripAdvisor, I... More 

1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Room so small didn't have anywhere for luggage. Owners didn't have our paperwork Room had large patches of mould on wall right next to where we sleep. Shower does didn't work Electrical leads without insulating to too ot off ......no hot water.

Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
HotelBolognese, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Bolognese, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente, La ringrazio per aver dedicato parte del suo tempo a recensire la nostra struttura sulla community di TripAdvisor,... More 

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Generator Rome
Generator Rome
#513 of 1,291 in Rome
50 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#480 of 1,291 in Rome
270 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#868 of 1,291 in Rome
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#889 of 1,291 in Rome
52 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#976 of 1,291 in Rome
128 reviews
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#712 of 1,291 in Rome
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighbourhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighbourhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighbourhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic centre. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Bolognese with its 14 guest rooms is able to accomodate any type of guest, from family to singles. The two star Hotel Bolognese in Rome is the ideal choice for tourists looking for a friendly and affordable hotel, located at the entrance of the historic center of the city, between Porta Pia and Termini Station. Nearby, also, it is the largest park in Rome, Villa Borghese; Via Veneto home of La Dolce Vita; and the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Bolognese

Address: Via Palestro 15, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Price Range: $57 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bolognese 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Budget Places, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bolognese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Bolognese staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Tauranga, New Zealand

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Bolognese staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get 1st floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles asantham, 23 Apr 2015 | Read review
“They would all be susceptible to the noises”
 of 5 bubbles 560JohnM, 4 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Ask for one with airconditioning, as some of my friends' rooms were not aircon'd.”
 of 5 bubbles istanbulonfood_Leisa, 25 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Just don't.”
 of 5 bubbles cjml87, 25 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Don,t tell them you are on a tour party”
 of 5 bubbles consumerman, 17 Jul 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay