We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Yellow

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Yellow
The Yellow
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 698: English reviews
Start your review of The Yellow
 Click to rate
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This very social, modern and very well equipped hostel has an outstanding location, in Rome, within a 5 minute walk to Termini Station. Set in an classical Roman building, this place was designed to be a self-sufficient entity, complete with it's own small cafe, a bar that serves food and drinks as well as nightly live entertainment and even a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DriftersGuide
theyellow, Front Desk Officer at The Yellow, responded to this review

Ciao! Thanks for the great review, it was a pleasure to have you in our hostel and we're really happy that you enjoyed every single aspect of the Yellow. We love to take care of our guests and we want everyone to have an unforgettable stay. Come back soon! :) ps: Susie says thank you! And yes, she's the best...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed at the Yellow for two nights, and had an absolute blast! I stayed in a mixed dorm and the room was clean and comfortable enough, towel was included free. Common room was spacious and a great way to meet people, as was the hostel's bar just across the road. It went off both nights I was there during...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zoe L
theyellow, Front Desk Officer at The Yellow, responded to this review

Ciao Zoe, thank you very much for the GREAT review, it looks like you had an unforgettable stay here with us! We're happy that you loved our walking tours as well as the cooking class (Marco is the best chef!)..and thanks for the special mention to our crew, we hope that you felt like home with us! Come back soon...

Bandung, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place is near Roma Termini eventhough need some time to walk from station to the hostel, very comfy bed, bathroom inside, though the locker is a bit small, my luggage don't fit. Maybe good for backpack. They have cafe serve you american breakfast that taste so delicious, and throw party every night. It has that young & hip energy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendabandung
Albany, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The stay at the Yellow was pretty good, rooms could use a bit of work but overall meet all expectations. The main building's reception area and common space are nice, although it's too bad the common space isn't a bit bigger to facilitate meeting people. The yellow bar across the street also is nice for a night or two if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wvanullen
Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I chose the \yellow Hostel I picked it based on various reasons,the location , th advertising of a bar attached and also the promise for events to be held for travellers to meet other travellers. I was told there was yoga , cooking classes, pub crawls etc however to my extreme disappointment when I got up ready for yoga...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheree H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved it! Such a friendly place. The a bar right across the street and places to eat. People are cool and from all ages. It's right in the middle of the heart of Rome and the train is dealing Distance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana-Patricia L
theyellow, front desk reception at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hey Ana, Thanks for the review, happy to hear you loved it. Being close to termini can help not only with getting around the city but also to other destinations too! Hope to see you again in the future Joe

Mannheim, Germany
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Stayed in lots of hostels across Europe but this one is probably the best. No hidden costs, great security and great fun. The staff were amazing especially; Alex(who has the patient of a saint even when dealing with a drunk Irish guy who has lost his phone) Giannina (so nice but she has my heart broken) Emmanuele(great welcome and didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wally C
theyellow, Front Office Manager at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hey Wally, We really thank you for your nice review. Thanks for considering us the one of the best hostel in Europe. And of course the best staff! As you mentioned. We had good fun reading your review... the last part is a bit hardcore.. Come back again and we will have more fun! Giannina does love you ;) Un...

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Awesome stay at the yellow! Has everything you need in a hostel: bed, safe, lock bin for stuff, free towels, great wifi. Add hooks on the bathroom door please!!! One main issue. The room where you can leave your stuff for the day has VERY lax security. The will give anyone the key (they don't even ask you name). And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgie H
theyellow, Front Office Manager at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hi Georgie, Thanks for your nice review. We are going to change our deposit room very soon, with cages for every guest. At the moment we keep an eye on the camera and staff goes regularly downstairs to have a look. We always recommend our guests to lock their bags to the shelves with padlocks. When the key is missing...

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

This hostel was excellent! They provide an endless amount of amenities to their guests including free towels, wifi, nightly events, free printing, tours, blowdryers, a hair salon, escape room etc etc. I could go on and on! I would suggest booking directly through their website as they will give you extra discounts on EVERYTHING including drinks! Great atmosphere and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arodger1
theyellow, front desk officer at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hi dear, how are you? Thank you very much for the great review, we're glad that you enjoyed The Yellow and its amazing amenities. RIGHT! Book on our website and you'll get the YELLOW bracelet, that gives you -20% on drinks and -50% on tours and activities, such as cooking class and burlesque lessons!! The Yellow is definitely the best...

Reviewed 8 January 2017

This was my first time staying in a hostel and it was a great experience. Although I thought it was a little pricey, this hostel offers a lot of extra events, tours, and accommodations and is located very close to the bus/train station. I stayed in their 6-bed mixed dorm and it was spacious enough for all of us. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
theyellow, front desk officer at The Yellow, responded to this review

Ciao Amanda, come va? Thanks a lot for the lovely review and the rating! We do offer walking tours every day and bike tours twice per week; cooking class, burlesque lessons and language exchanges..the best way to meet new people, know the city, learn new stuff and have A LOT of fun, of course! We aim to offer the best...

364 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (125)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Six Mix Ensuite Room (30)
Viewed
Six Mix Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#281 of 1,292 in Rome
1,221 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#372 of 1,292 in Rome
384 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#311 of 1,292 in Rome
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#33 of 1,053 in Rome
682 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#1 of 1,053 in Rome
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighbourhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighbourhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighbourhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic centre. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YOU are going to love it here if:- YOU like to get your party on- YOU love socializing from dusk till dawn- YOU're looking for an international entourage- YOU think loud is the new black- YOU just want to kick back and enjoy yourself. More than just unrivaled location and facilities, Yellow has its own spirit that is made by everyone who stays or works here. Our staff are renowned for going out of their way to make the Yellow experience one that thousands of people each year remember as being a highlight of their travels. The Yellow has been established over ten years ago. We take the experience of these years and turn it into knowledge of how to best cater to the wants and needs of today's traveler. Some of our other great hostel features include:- FREE internet access and WI-FI - FREE iPad hire (30 min/ day)- BAR- Breakfast (a la carte) available from 6 am to noon - Food available all day,all night- Patio- All non-smoking bedrooms- Air conditioning (EVERYWHERE) - Great walking tours, bike tours and FREE TOURS- Supermarket around the corner- FREE city maps- Safe paid car parking nearby- Safe paid overnight luggage storage (long term)- FREE hot showers 24 h.- No lockout- No curfew- 24 HOUR CHECK-IN (you can check-in ANYTIME after 1.30Pm, the reception is always open, so you don't need to tell us your estimated arrival time)All our PRIVATE ROOMS are located in our ANNEX building, just a few foot steps away and are equipped with:- private en-suite bathroom - independent air-conditioning and heating- a safety deposit box- a hair dryer - FREE WIFI. Rome CITY TAX is NOT INCLUDED in the price of your bed and is payable directly in cash at the reception. The amount is 3 EUROS PER PERSON PER NIGHT IN CASH. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Yellow

Address: Via Palestro 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Price Range: $36 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yellow Hotel Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Yellow staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
San Diego, California, United States
New York City, New York
Norwich, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from The Yellow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the basic rooms are fine or a traveller”
 of 5 bubbles ShereeH356, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“People who are scared by the idea of hostels but still want to make friends should choose ensuite rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 629aakanksham, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“402 had a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles amandalL2859WW, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book the 10 person dorm!”
 of 5 bubbles 623adams, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room in building across from the main one, facing courtyard was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Jean_Ralphio, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5