We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Residence Maximus

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Maximus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 24: English reviews
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

What is great is they have a number of units for you to choose from, if your not happy with one, they are happy to offer you many options .the staff is great. They have everything from studios to full apts

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
Residence_Maximus, Proprietario at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hi Jeffrey, thanks for your comment, happy you liked being in our residence. See you next time! Andrea More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'll start with the positive as it is a big positive, the location is fantastic you are walking distance to everything including great food, tourist locations and public transport. Also the price is good, however there are some real problems, every time water is used in the bathroom you cannot be anywhere near the kitchen sink or the stench will... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoelHall
Residence_Maximus, Direttore at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your comment. We will verify all problems you had, to improve our service for future clients. Generally clients like our beds and mattress, sorry you didn't, we will take care of it. Regarding reception, it is just a temporary one, the new one will be ready very soon and easier to find, it's a promise! Hope to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Nothing like the apartment shown in the photos advertised. Entire apartment consists of one small room with a cooker, sink and fridge in the corner, and a toilet and shower with a partition around it. Everything is contained in the same room. Condition of room is old and run-down and neglected. There is a smell from the sink everytime the... More 

Helpful?
Thank M-a-r-k_H-11111
Residence_Maximus, Direttore at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Dear Mark, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your staying but we are surprised: you stayed 10 days without telling us any of your problems, so we couldn't fix any of them and try to make your staying better. Please to inform us immediately if you come back in our residence in the future! We have a reception and cleaning... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

On arrival at the apartment, the two of us visited the office to collect the keys. We were informed that the apartment wouldn't be available til 2.15pm which wasn't a problem so we popped next door to the Irish bar for a drink (also not a problem!) The host took us to the apartment and even carried our suitcase up... More 

Helpful?
Thank SGeor
Residence_Maximus, Responsabile reception at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your staying and hope to have you again as clients. Best Regards More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The location of the service apt is unbeatable. Its a 10 minute walk to the Colosseo metro station. The view of the Colosseum from our bedroom window was a nice treat. The room was clean with all amenities. Bed comfortable. Pillows fine. Free wifi which is great.

Helpful?
Thank Rosh70
HomeTownSuites, Proprietario at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Dear guest, we hare very happy that you felt good in Maximus Residence. we are waiting for your next stay in Rome. kindest regards. Andrea. More 

Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Price and location is why you should pick this place , some suits have great colosseum view , the other rooms are 200m from the colosseum . Extended our stay here and they bumped us up to a suit for no extra cost as rooms were running out . Great scooter and motorcycle rental please the street over

Helpful?
Thank Alasdair B
Residence_Maximus, Direttore at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hi Alasdair, thanks for your comment. It was a pleasure for us to have you in our suites and rooms. Best Regards, Andrea More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

The pictures are very misleading and no washing machine was provided in our room. The kitchen had a toaster, oven, hob, kettle and fridge freezer. However it lacked basic things like oven gloves, oil, sieve etc... only staying for a couple of nights we were not going to buy all of this so it made cooking a little tricky. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucy1402
Residence_Maximus, Proprietario at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Dear, thank you for review and for your stay in Maximus Residence. each review are very important for us to improve our service. About washing machine we proposed you to wash your dress because in your flat there wasn't washing machine. we have an office a few metres from apartment and our staff has been available for you for all... More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016

It's clean. The bedding is horrible. The pillows are thin like paper the sleeping sofa is broke and is noise like crazy. We switched our room to the suit because of the smell in the bathroom. The suite was in front of the colosseum which had a nice view but the window is not keeping the noises so you think... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen B
Residence_Maximus, Responsabile reception at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hi Helen, thanks for your comment. We are sorry you had problems in sleeping, the suite is in an ancient building, so it has ancient windows and the view on Colosseo is beautiful but near the monument is always very noisy for taxi, people coming and going, car passing through: it's the heart of Rome! Next time we suggest you... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

I booked the apartment through an external company and after reading reviews was a little worried. These worries were definitely unwarranted. The apartment was a 5 minute walk from the coloseum, and was clean and had good amenities. We arrived out of hours and after emailing found an out of hours fee of €30 (€50 if after midnight). A tip... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kateegan
Residence_Maximus, Responsabile reception at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your comment about us! We are so glad you enjoyed staying in our residence and hope to have you again as guest. Best Regards More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of weeks on business and appreciated the kitchen facilities, free wifi, and washing machine. The apt. is a big high ceilinged room with a bedroom retrofitted into it, up steep steps. (No good for anyone with mobility limitations.) the furnishings are spare but cheerful - IKEA type. Kitchenware the same - mismatched but adequate.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spadina2
Residence_Maximus, Responsabile reception at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your comments about our residence. We are sorry it was not perfect for you, we will improve with the help of your opinions and we hope you're coming back to us. Regards More 

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Anfiteatro Flavio
Anfiteatro Flavio
#633 of 1,291 in Rome
456 reviews
Monti
Celio Hotel
Celio Hotel
#569 of 1,291 in Rome
208 reviews
Monti
White Rooms Colosseo
White Rooms Colosseo
#581 of 3,659 in Rome
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Retrome Rome
Retrome Rome
#364 of 3,659 in Rome
248 reviews
Monti
B&B Santi Quattro al Colosseo
Monti
Imperial Rooms
Imperial Rooms
#1,379 of 3,659 in Rome
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Monti

Neighbourhood Profile
Monti
Monti is Rome’s rebel yell. This neighbourhood just west of Termini train station mixes grit with fun as it continues to fight for its reputation as a magnet for the artsy, alternative, and hipster. Every season, quirky boutiques and food spots sprout up on its cobblestone streets. The neighbourhood supports unique and homegrown businesses that cater to its longtime residents as well as hipsters on the hunt. Hang out at Piazza della Madonna dei Monti anytime after lunch and you'll always find something going on.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Residence Maximus is in Rome's central Celio hill, right above the Colosseum. It has guest rooms as well as apartments with cooking facilities, and all units feature free Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV. The rooms are cleaned daily and each one has a private bathroom. The apartments include a kitchenette and a washing machine, which are available for longer stays. All units are furnished with modern furniture. The area surrounding the Maximus Residence is also famous for the clubs and restaurants of the pedestrian area in Via di San Giovanni in Laterano. Colosseo Metro Station, Line B, is just over a quarter mile away and is 2 stops from Termini Train Station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Maximus

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 24, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Price Range: $80 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Maximus 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Maximus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Maximus staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Residence Maximus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some rooms have lofts”
 of 5 bubbles LizzieQQQQ, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We had room number 5, which had red decor throughout and a very modern en suit bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles JaninaM991, 25 Jun 2012 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay