We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

12 Rooms

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
12 Rooms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 17: English reviews
Start your review of 12 Rooms
 Click to rate
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well where to begin.. we arrived to be told come back at 2pm for room check in, which we then did to then be told room not ready come back at 3 we stressed this was abit annoying but okay and was laughed at by the rude receptionist (male). After then checking in we had a double bed (I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilyeva92
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Fine location. Dumpy place. Rooms smell bad, like mix of smoke and cheap cleaning products. We had the triple room, small for a triple, bathroom redone which is nice. Couple cleaning walking around yelling at each other and smoking in the rooms. Bizarre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanjosecat
DireccionJCRooms, Guest Relations Manager at 12 Rooms, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience of the smell. It is forbidden for our employees to smoke in the entire building, we can't understand what could have happenned. We will strive to improve our services. However, we hope you consider stay with us in your next visit. Thank you for your attention.

Canada
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I have stayed in twelve-bed dorms rooms that were absolutely monastic compared to 12 Rooms in Madrid. The noise in this hostel is indescribable; there is literally ZERO soundproofing of any variety. Yeah, there is some air conditioning noise and some street noise (especially with the front-facing rooms) but that pales in comparison to the "adult" noises that you will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ComoCarla19
DireccionJCRooms, Guest Relations Manager at 12 Rooms, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience, valentine's day was a special night. We will improve our services!

Reviewed 13 December 2015

I went con december and it was good for a hostel, but you can not resto because the sound between rooms is too much. Some people turn con the tv at 5 am and if you want to tell somebody, you hace to get out the building and cross the street so at that time is useless. The hotel charges...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrés O
DireccionJCRooms, Guest Relations Manager at 12 Rooms, responded to this review

First of all, thanks for your comments. We apologize for the inconvenience. The check out time is established when booking and during the check in. Regards.

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 12 January 2015

A very basic hostal in the centre. However their back rooms are really noisy due to a neighbor's air condition unit just outside their window in a very small small patio, it's not a question of a hum, far from it... and in the winter it heats and is on 24h non-stop. Very annoying.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Luce1111
Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

A friend and I booked two nights in Madrid for a brief city break this week. We paid £60 for two people for two nights, which didn't include breakfast, but did include wifi and a handy free minibar with pop and water. We checked in late in the evening down at JC Rooms, only a minute's walk from 12 Rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HexhamDiner
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

First: I cannot understand why ppl writing bad reviews here , expecting a hotel when its all clear that 12rooms is a hostel. Which means low budget staying. We payed 19€ per person and had a room for two with an own bathroom. Thats totally worth it. Ok its next to a disco, but thats possible to expect in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JBolt91
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel. We had a problem on arrival since we had not been told we needed to collect the key from another hostel but they were very friendly when we did check in. The room looked ok and was very clean but there was no internet despite having a computer in the room. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anita470
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed over the weekend and the room rates for weekend were higher than the weekdays. We took a room with a private bathroom, the room is fairly small as others have mentioned in their reviews, but if you are not expecting luxury then it is fine. Given we stayed over weekend, I personally thought the price was steep for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rohitbalakrishnan
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from spending 4 nights at the 12 rooms Hostel. We chose it knowing that for £25 a night it would be very basic but we just wanted a bed to crash in while we explored! As many other reviews have stated, it isn't easy to find due to a small sign. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andy E

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Alaska
Hostal Alaska
#142 of 283 in Madrid
143 reviews
Centro
Hostal Marlasca
Hostal Marlasca
#31 of 283 in Madrid
560 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Rayuela
Hostal Rayuela
#214 of 283 in Madrid
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Luz
Hostal Luz
#36 of 283 in Madrid
592 reviews
La Latina
Abracadabra Suites
Abracadabra Suites
#114 of 283 in Madrid
34 reviews
Centro
JC Rooms Santa Ana
JC Rooms Santa Ana
#14 of 283 in Madrid
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Huertas

Neighbourhood Profile
Huertas
Also known as Barrio de las Letras, Huertas was once home to prominent literary figures, Miguel de Cervantes and Lope de Vega among them. The neighbourhood is committed to celebrating its rich heritage: Calle Huertas itself is inlaid with quotes from celebrated authors, street names pay homage to them, and second-hand bookshops pervade. Huertas receives a fair amount of spillover from the center — side streets around Plaza Santa Ana take on a foreign party atmosphere at night, and you always see young backpackers navigating the streets — but as you descend into the neighbourhood, everything becomes a little more cramped and slightly less refined, and takes on more of an underground feel. Live music is at the heart of Huertas: by night, its subdued bars are ideal for meeting friends, sipping cocktails, and chatting quietly while enjoying jazz or singer-songwriter performances.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 Rooms is a hostal located in the heart of the downtown in Madrid, near of " Las Huertas" a very famous neighborhood, very close to the Gate of the sun, " Puerta del Sol". 12 Rooms offers to you the best rooms price-quality in Madrid, the rooms are pretty and small to keep the closeness of the guests. Double, triple or quadruple rooms with free minibar with daily replacement, a pc in the room with internet in each room.! Courtesy invitation to a free walking tour in the downtown of Madrid, bilingual, 2 hours knowing the best of Madrid! The best hostal in Madrid! ... more   less 

Additional Information about 12 Rooms

Address: Nunez de Arce 9, 30 Ext, 01. Centro | Muy Cerca de la Puerta Del Sol, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Price Range: $41 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 12 Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 12 Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 12 Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay elsewhere.”
sanjosecat, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“One room has a detached bath, which is down the hall.”
ComoCarla19, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Avoid back rooms!”
Luce1111, 11 Jan 2015 | Read review
“dont choose this one”
TylerL276, 11 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Try to get a room in the back of the hotel. As there is a bar next to the hostel, you could be bothered by some noise if your room is located in the front.”
sophiec218, 13 Jun 2012 | Read review
5 of 5