We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Catalonia Gran Via

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Catalonia Gran Via
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Gran Via
See the most recent reviews
Showing 444: English reviews
Monument, Colorado
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Arrived at 11:30 and no porters were available to remove luggage from the bus of 42 people. Our group waited for 30 minutes in lobby. Management had to haul luggage which were left in main entrance. No rooms were ready - we were told to come back after 2PM. We came back at 4:30 PM and given our room -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicbrasil
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the less than perfect experience you encountered here at our hotel. We hope that you had a moment to review some of our reviews shared by some of our many visitors, and noticed that we strive to provide exemplary...

Sydney
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. Excellent location in Madrid, walking distance to many attractions. Reception was friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was included and was yummy and plentiful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria273
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home....

Girona
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We got a very good deal on a standard room. The first room we were given was fine except that, overlooking the busy Gran Via street, we found that neither of the double glazed windows shut properly, making it pretty noisy. I contacted reception for a room change and we were immediately offered an alternative interior room which was perfect....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdr109
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to have delighted you with our service. Thank you for choosing to our hotel, as we know your choices in Madrid are many. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to tell others around the globe about your experiences with us. Good news travels fast and we are...

England
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We were in this hotel for one week. It has spacious room, very comfortable beds, great location and very easy transport accessibility. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would return here without hesitation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lialo
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review here on Tripadvisor. The Staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel are pleased and grateful for your praise. We appreciate your business and it was our pleasure to serve you. We hope to see you again soon. Until then Happy Travels.

Riga, Latvia
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I was in large group of people from different Parliaments worldwide for seminar organized by Congreso de los Diputados, on March this year. We stayed at the Hotel for two weeks and I must say that during that period I felt almost like home, so - everything was great – room, hotel, service, bar, location, even - wine bar opposite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ilgvares I
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here back in July when rooms in Chueca are at a premium. The hotel was reasonably priced, perfectly located, had a friendly staff, and was very clean. My only complaint is that the beds were overly hard Also, as someone else mentioned, the pictures of the rooftop pool are VERY deceiving. It's essentially a hot tub and the space...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hookedonafeeling
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

The staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel would like to thank you for your endorsement and for taking the time out to write about us on TripAdvisor.com Service is the key to happy guests and we are glad that you were pleased with what we had to offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with other...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The location is great, this is true. Very central. And the lunches were okay (aside from the restaurant staff not understanding that the vegetarian in our group was not vegan...). However, if you are planning to have a meeting with this hotel, I would strongly recommend going elsewhere. The conference staff are incredibly disorganized and unhelpful, and were very inflexible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Good day and thank you for your review of the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel. The staff of the Hotel aims for excellence with every stay and every guest. We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations and we hope to one day be able to impress upon you a more positive experience. Have a great day...

Madrid
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with 8 other girls, good value for money, spacious rooms and good location. The only down side was the pool is more of a hot tub, it was tiny and the picture on their website is an optical illusion! Children playing in the pool were splashing everyone else trying to catch some sun. Would stay there...

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others; we are delighted to hear your entire group was impressed with our Hotel. We hope you and your friends visit us again soon; until then safe travels.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed for two nights in July. The room was lovely, very large with a great bathroom. The hotel location is very good, within walking distance of most of the main sights. The rooftop pool area is a nice addition, however be aware that it is very small. Only about 6 people can fit comfortably in the area so most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingClaireb
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I went to Madrid for the first time a couple of weeks ago, as I have never been in Madrid I wanted to find a hotel close to everything and Catalonia Gran Via lived up to my expectations. I rate the hotel as a typical 4-star hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Journeyma
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

The staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel would like to thank you for your endorsement and for taking the time out to write about us on TripAdvisor.com Service is the key to happy guests and we are glad that you were pleased with what we had to offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with other...

740 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (322)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (184)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (349)
Viewed
Amenities (74)
Viewed
Double Room with Gran Vía Street View (46)
Viewed
Fitness Room (51)
Viewed
Premium Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Superior Room (46)
Viewed
Terrace Pool (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#145 of 444 in Madrid
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Barrio de Salamanca
Catalonia Goya
Catalonia Goya
#117 of 444 in Madrid
642 reviews
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#23 of 444 in Madrid
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro

Neighbourhood Profile
Centro
Expansive plazas, local and foreign crowds, street performers, colorful lights, window shopping, restaurant signs promising the best paella, ham, and churros con chocolate- this is downtown Madrid, a collection of plazas interconnected by a network of side streets. Some of these side streets are wide pedestrian shopping routes, and some are hidden, so it's possible to duck in and out of the bustle as desired. The iconic Puerta del Sol is the giant crossroads of the city and a must-see attraction at any time of the day. The nearby Plaza Mayor, completely enclosed by historic red buildings, is an ideal place to grab a bite to eat outside, amidst scores of tables and people out for a stroll. Plaza Isabel II (also known as “Opera”) is smaller and a good meeting spot, and the stately Plaza del Oriente is the front yard of the Royal Palace. Centro can be touristy (pickpockets are unfortuately not unheard-of here), crowded, and sometimes gimmicky, but it is also the place to experience classic Madrid.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
BLoved
BLoved
Cuisines: International, Fusion, Spanish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Price Range: $141 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#117 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Catalonia Gran Via staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Catalonia Gran Via staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request to be assigned to a modern room.”
 of 5 bubbles melvel79, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room higher up and not facing the Gran Via”
 of 5 bubbles H6813HDlaurar, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room nearest to the rooftop.”
 of 5 bubbles desertsandoceans, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You will have to payt much more but braekfast will be the same.”
 of 5 bubbles T786OE_, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be located in the new tower if possible”
 of 5 bubbles 786felixm, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5