We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Catalonia Gran Via

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Catalonia Gran Via
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Gran Via
See the most recent reviews
Showing 444: English reviews
Edinburgh
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were supposed to be staying in another hotel but due to some dubious "card issues" we were moved to another hotel of the same chain. Check in took ages, although the staff were friendly ( the same for check out). Room: Fairly spacious, No view ( was an interior room with a view on grey walls ) Bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor_Q_Step
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Good day and thank you for your review of the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel. The staff of the Hotel aims for excellence with every stay and every guest. We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations and we hope to one day be able to impress upon you a more positive experience. Have a great day...

Sheffield
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The staff & poor maintenance let this hotel down. We are staying in a junior suit with a private pool & terrace. NEGATIVES 1. It's not a suit - it's a regular room with a 15x10 foot terrace which contains what looks like a small jacuzzi but without the air jets. About 3 foot deep. 2. The walls are crumbling,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Joseeshaw
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the less than perfect experience you encountered here at our hotel. We hope that you had a moment to review some of our reviews shared by some of our many visitors, and noticed that we strive to provide exemplary...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were given room 116 which was an internal room. Although there were two windows they opened onto a narrow shaft with a concrete wall just three metres away. If you like close-ups of concrete then this is the room for you ! The shaft was illuminated by what appeared to be artificial light permanently switched on - quite a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abrumar
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the less than perfect experience you encountered here at our hotel. Although we were not granted the opportunity to address your concerns prior to your departure, please know that we have taken your comments into consideration, and have taken...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Dropped in at this hotel to see some of the rooms as we had spent 1 night in a horrendous hotel not far from the Gran Via. The staff here could not have been better, friendly, welcoming, just what we were looking for. We chose a room looking onto the Gran Via and heard no noise from the street at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kody01
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on business/leisure and was very impressed with the location, quality of the hotel room and facilities and the helpful, friendly staff. We had a room with a terrace which was great - fab views and a lovely extra to have somewhere to sit out when in the middle of a busy city. Very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NigelnTracey
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Dear Nigeln; our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stopped over here for a night whilst on a stag party excursion. Okay maybe not the best of times to review a hotel but I can safely report the place is welcoming, clean and comes with good service - the rooms are big and the bathrooms are a good size too. Can't report on breakfast - didn't make it up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James_Wandsworth_UK
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Dear James: Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away...

Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

After finding this hotel for a friend, we then decided to stay ourselves. Check in was fine. Room was adequate. However, after returning to the hotel in the evening, we encountered strange plumbing noises similar to the unblocking of a toilet. The noise remained constant throughout the night preventing any sleep. We called reception and someone came to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Twinklejo
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

I would like to start off by apologizing for the experience you had with us. We appreciate you taking the time and letting us know about your stay. We take pride in making sure all of our guests are beyond satisfied with their stay. Please contact me at the hotel at your earliest convenience. I would like an opportunity to...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I have just come home after a wonderful stay in the Catalonia Gran Via :). We booked for three nights in the Junior Suite, this was equipped with a big bathroom, Jacuzzi bath, big king sized bed and our own terrace with a pool. I think this hotel does depend on your perspective, for example if your the kind of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elle135
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see...

Cheshire
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with a group. The location of the hotel is great with many attractions within easy walking distance. However, the hotel was full and could not cope with the numbers for breakfast. The layout of the breakfast area was disatrous with customers waiting for long periods to get any food or drink, there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richardbrchll
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very sorry that your stay with us was not a pleasant one. We strive to ensure all of our guests have the best experience when staying with us, since we are their home away from home. I apologize for inconvenience at breakfast, it is true that...

Shropshire
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here with a group in May 2013. The rooms were comfortable and had most amenities including an excellent large bathroom. Good TV choice and mini bar. Staff in the reception,bar and restaurant areas were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is ideal for exploring the city and well situated. The only down side was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShropshireBigpete
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review

We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. I apologize for the inconvenience at breakfast, it is true that we had a...

740 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (322)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (184)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (349)
Viewed
Amenities (74)
Viewed
Double Room with Gran Vía Street View (46)
Viewed
Fitness Room (51)
Viewed
Premium Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Superior Room (46)
Viewed
Terrace Pool (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#145 of 445 in Madrid
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Barrio de Salamanca
Catalonia Goya
Catalonia Goya
#116 of 445 in Madrid
642 reviews
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#22 of 445 in Madrid
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro

Neighbourhood Profile
Centro
Expansive plazas, local and foreign crowds, street performers, colorful lights, window shopping, restaurant signs promising the best paella, ham, and churros con chocolate- this is downtown Madrid, a collection of plazas interconnected by a network of side streets. Some of these side streets are wide pedestrian shopping routes, and some are hidden, so it's possible to duck in and out of the bustle as desired. The iconic Puerta del Sol is the giant crossroads of the city and a must-see attraction at any time of the day. The nearby Plaza Mayor, completely enclosed by historic red buildings, is an ideal place to grab a bite to eat outside, amidst scores of tables and people out for a stroll. Plaza Isabel II (also known as “Opera”) is smaller and a good meeting spot, and the stately Plaza del Oriente is the front yard of the Royal Palace. Centro can be touristy (pickpockets are unfortuately not unheard-of here), crowded, and sometimes gimmicky, but it is also the place to experience classic Madrid.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
BLoved
BLoved
Cuisines: International, Fusion, Spanish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Price Range: $141 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#119 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Catalonia Gran Via staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Catalonia Gran Via staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request to be assigned to a modern room.”
 of 5 bubbles melvel79, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room higher up and not facing the Gran Via”
 of 5 bubbles H6813HDlaurar, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room nearest to the rooftop.”
 of 5 bubbles desertsandoceans, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You will have to payt much more but braekfast will be the same.”
 of 5 bubbles T786OE_, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be located in the new tower if possible”
 of 5 bubbles 786felixm, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5