We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Gotico

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gotico
See the most recent reviews
Showing 238: English reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Only good thing about this Hotel is it's location. It's very close to the Barcelona Cathedral and about a 5 minute walk from the Rambla. Now the rest. 1. Walls are very dirty. 2. Phone and Refrigerator did not work when I came in. To their credit, they did come in pretty quickly to fix these 2 issues, though the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff R
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gotico, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We appreciate all your contributions, because we are very interested to know the client's opinions. We are going to take note of every detail you indicate, and we will pay attention on it. At the moment the hotel is closed, under renovation, and on March it will be reopen, so we wil take note of everything in order...

delray beach, fl
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Hotel staff friendly, air conditioning went off and on and it was hot in Barcelona. Rooms smelled of smoke even though non-smoking. Hallways and corridors hot and smelling of smoke. Breakfast adequate. Had to pay a daily fee to use the safe in the room. Some difficulty giving directions to places. Did give a good recommendation for a dinner at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sharon o
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gotico, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, First of all we would like to apologise if your stay wasn't comfortable, because one of our main goals is clients have a pleasant stay, but we regret if it wasn't your impression. We thank you for your comments and we are pleased to inform you that Hotel Gotico is closed to be renewed, and next year, at...

Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

We ended up here because we waited too long for to make our reservations and very little was available at such a last minute. So I started with moderate expectations and those were too high apparently for this place. My mistake. Immediately the floor smelled like someone was smoking though the front desk said it is a no smoking hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen M
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gotico, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We highly appreciate all your comments, because for us it's very important to know which were your impressions. Our staff always try to provide a nice stay, but we regret if it was not your impression. About Hotel features, we take note of all your remarks in order to be able to get better. Besides, we are pleased...

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel is ideal as at the top of the street is la ramblas, but the hotel itself was supposed to be 4* maybe in the 80's it was but not not know. There are no facilities in the room only a vending machine in reception so if you arrive in the middle of the night you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gotico, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We highly appreciate all your comments, because for us it's very important to know which were your impressions. Our team always try to provide a nice stay, but we regret if in your case, you had a bad impression. About the Hotel features, we take note of all your remarks in order to be able to get better....

Subotica, Serbia
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Location for 6 stars,everything else for 3 stars. Very old bad bathroom, not invested in hotel for many many years, breakfast very disapponting, beautifull teras , stuff is ok, but the location is so excellent that everything else doesnt matter! 50 m from metro , bautiful street, 10 min walk to La Rambla

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dzess
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gotico, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, Concerning to your comments, we inform you that at the end of this year the Hotel will be renovated, so we will modify the Hotel's old look. About breakfast we try to offer a varied breakfast, but we'll take note about your remarks and we'll try to improve it. Best Regards, Elisenda Albero CUSTOMER SERVICE

Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

I usually don't comment on trip advisor but I had to this time. I must say that the only good thing about this hotel is its location. The rooms are musty, outdated, and dirty. We stayed in room 109, due to being near street level the noise was as if we were sleeping in the middle of the road. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlene H
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gotico, responded to this review

Dear Marlene, We appreciate all your comments, because we seeks for the best nice stay for the clients, but if you didn't have that impression, it's very important to us know why could be like this and try to remedy it. About the room, in another occasion we kindly ask you please do not hesitate to inform our reception staff...

Solihull
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Originally booked sister hotel Suizo which had been recently refurbished only to be relocated here - apparently an upgrade as this was an extra star. Absolute disgrace to be sold one hotel and then sent to a poorer quality one elsewhere. This hotel is tired and outdated - would not have come here out of choice. Practically fraud to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CBITH
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gotico, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We would like to apologise if you didn't have a good stay in our Hotel. If your original booking was in another Hotel, but we moved you to this Hotel it's because we had a problem and then we offered to stay in Hotel Gotico, a superior category and just some meters away. We pretend clients to have...

Westchester County, New York
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Unbelievably rude and un-courteous reception staff. One guy had zero compassion for us tired and weary travelers. Rooms old. Stay in sister hotel Hotel Suizo across the street. Better rooms, excellent staff. Great location. Breakfast ok and same sight for both hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XtineNY
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gotico, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We thank you for your comments, and we regret if in your case you had a bad impression of our Hotel, we'll find out with our staff, because we always pretend that you enjoy your stay. About the Hotel's old image, we inform you that at the end of the year it will be renovated. Hotel Suizo, as...

Reviewed 18 June 2016

To be honest we're not that into doing reviews because our tolerance threshold is pretty high, however, the hotel is meant to be 4 star and when you book, you have certain expectations... Location is awesome, right in the centre of everything, you are 5-10 minutes walk from the beach, Las Ramblas and there are so many wonderful restaurants &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gotico, responded to this review

Dear customer, Les thank all their reviews, because for us is very important that you enjoy of your stay, and for this us interested in know what is your opinion. The location of the Hotel is very good, located in the barrio Gothic, and with many shops, bars and restaurants to its around. About the rooms and decoration, we inform...

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2016

The rooms could do with updating they are dark and depressing. There was a dreadful smell in the bathroom,they tried to cover it up by putting air freshener on the wall . Breakfast buffet was always in a mess , the bar was never open ! Would not say it's 4* more like 3* beds are hard as a concrete...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 975lisap
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gotico, responded to this review

Dear Clients, In Hotel Gotico, our team seeks to offer you a pleasant stay, but we regret if in your case it was not like this, because for us it's very important you enjoy your stay. About decoration and Hotel facilities, we inform you that at the end of this year the Hotel will be renovated. We hope in a...

405 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Matrimonial Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)
Viewed
Triple Room (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#456 of 522 in Barcelona
417 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#256 of 522 in Barcelona
670 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#278 of 522 in Barcelona
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
#371 of 522 in Barcelona
487 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#318 of 522 in Barcelona
548 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Rialto Hotel
Rialto Hotel
#351 of 522 in Barcelona
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)

Neighbourhood Profile
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
With its iconic, old-Europe streets and alleys, this picturesque neighbourhood is the very heart of Barcelona. It blends historic artifacts from its days under Roman dominion up through the Spanish Civil War with a vibrant modern-day culture of artisan shops and authentic culinary experiences. Avid explorers will be thrilled to discover quaint terraces and plazas brought to life by the many small bars and local musicians lasting late into the night. Fashionistas will be drawn to Portal de L’Angel, which is lined with well-known brand names and smaller boutique stands.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Gotico Barcelona, located in the heart of Barcelona, in the Gothic quarter, is a complete and elegant hotel. Just 2 minutes walk from the Cathedral of Barcelona, it has all the services you need for a perfect stay. Hotel Gotico Barcelona is next to the Cathedral of Barcelona and in the heart of the Gothic quarter. Account with excellent connections by public transport: very near La Rambla, 50 metres from Jaume I metro and surrounded by several bus stops that will help you to quickly reach the main points of interest of the city. In the vicinity of the most important monuments of Barcelona, Barcelona Gotico Hotel has 81 elegant, Soundproofed rooms with air conditioning and flat screen satellite TV. This spacious room has the same characteristics as the double and single rooms. He has a double bed and an extra bed (sofa bed or folding bed) for a third person. All rooms have air conditioning, heating, tiled floors, desks and a large room private bathroom complete with amenities and a hairdryer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Gotico

Address: Jaime I, 14, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Price Range: $129 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotico 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gotico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotico Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Gotico staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Gotico staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice common terrace on the fifth floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Momi633, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room over looking the Main Street.”
 of 5 bubbles mrterenceleg, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“not sure if there is good room given quality of air conditioning and smell of smoke”
 of 5 bubbles sharono257, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I doubt there are any good rooms. There were 13 of us in various rooms and they were all poor.”
 of 5 bubbles CBITH, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“More travelodge than Hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles mattaW1265YV, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5