We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar
Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The gardens are what makes this place absolutely special and outstanding. The gardens are beautiful, I have never been to a hotel that had such wonderful surroundings. My single room was entirely adequate and clean. It had two single beds. They were situated head to foot and I don't think space would allow them to be placed side by side....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The breakfast was very good (boiled egg, sausages, bread, croissant, crackers, cheese, cold meats, butter, jam, honey, cereal, milk, yogurt, coffee, juice, tea and chocolate powder). The hotel isn't located in the center, but there is a subway stop less then 10 minutes away by foot. It takes less than 30 minutes to reach the center. Park Guell is within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
Reviewed 26 September 2016

It's a beatiful place. It's cheaper probably beacuse it is not in the center, but it's close to a subway station (Montbau) and in few minutes you can get to the center. The neighborhood itself is very quiet, and there is a nice breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andre F
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We would have given more ratings, but no air conditioning during summer was just too much to endure. It was almost impossible to sleep. The breakfast was good and the garden is a really nice touch to the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerbey t
Lennestadt, Germany
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed here two nights. Hotel is within 10 minutes walking from metro station. Rooms have only seperated beds and no aircondition. Breakfast was okay. Staff was great and very helpful. Nice garden to stay in. Rooms have "hostal atmosphere".

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kochsches
Dallas, TX
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Stayed September 6. The building is somewhat like a dormitory. The room was small and basic but met the needs of a solo traveler. Wifi was secure and adequate. Parking is free (big plus) but when I arrived around 1PM the lot had only one space left. By the evening there were plenty of spaces available, but you could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaxConcrete
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Honestly, I feel bad for saying that it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at, because the staff was ok. They could be more friendly, but whenever I asked for something, they were quite helpful. However, the cleaning service is awful. We checked in on Thursday noon, and the room was "cleaned" on Saturday! By the way, by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stefaniw_gr
MartiCodolar, Guest Relations Manager at Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar, responded to this review

Dear stefaniw_gr, We appreciate your comment as a possibility to improve our service in our guesthouse. Right now, as you can check in our website or other websites, the cleaning service is every 4 days with the changing of the sheets and emptying the bins in the rooms and towels are changed every 3 days as a sustainable policy in...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Large grounds, clean but small rooms. More than a short walk to train station into centre of Barcelona. Staff helpful. A convention was being held whilst we were there and loud music was played in the open grounds until after midnight. OK if you don't mind commuting. Rooms priced accordingly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeverleyBell
Tau, Norway
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This appears to be a Catholic institution with several buldings, with the basic hotel rooms and the reception in the newer building to the right after the entrance. Breakfast (simple, but sufficient) is served in one of the older buildings, where there also is dormitory accommodation for youth groups. The surrounding park is very nice. Quiet area, but the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sigmundm
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 6 July 2016

It's a short walk to Metro and quick access to sights. Staff friendly and helpful. Food is good. Rooms are clean. Restful grounds with fountains, ponds, parrots, and turtles. Parking. Free Wifi. Good price. There is a very good seafood restaurant on the way to Metro. In the other direction is a local bar.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Birdy509

384 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (196)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)
Viewed
Triple Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#386 of 519 in Barcelona
162 reviews
Travelodge L'Hospitalet
#367 of 519 in Barcelona
542 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Segre
Pension Segre
#482 of 519 in Barcelona
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#385 of 519 in Barcelona
147 reviews
Hostal Sans
#305 of 519 in Barcelona
382 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#186 of 519 in Barcelona
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guesthouse of the Salesian seminari Martí-Codolar The hostelry of the Salesian seminary Martí-Codolar is a place of shelter for people or groups who wish to spend a few days of rest in an idyllic garden environment, a few minutes from Barcelona town center. Our means and resources are limited and we cannot provide the services of a commercial hotel, but we do offer all the amenities in a friendly and familiar atmosphere. To make it possible, we ask all our visitors to follow a set of simple rules: Reception Our reception staff is 24 hours available. Dinning-room service The dining room works as self-service, but the tables are assigned on a group basis. After each meal and before leaving the dining room you are obliged to collect your dishes from the table and leave them in the indicated containers. Breakfast is served from 08:00 to 09:30 am, lunch from 01:30 to 03:00 pm and dinner from 08:00 to 09:30 pm. In all cases the dining room will close thirty minutes after the set time. For hygiene and cleanliness reasons, it is not permitted take food or drink away from the dining room. If for health reasons you need a menu with special needs, it will be necessary to let us know at the moment you book your stay. You also must do so in case you wish to request a picnic. In case your arrival is out of the aforementioned timetables we can also offer you a picnic, which you can pleasantly enjoy in our gardens as well. Large groups - more than 10 people - must request their intention to book meals or the cancellation of these with a minimum notice of 24 hours. Not being done this way, in the first case we could not guarantee the service, and in the second guests should equally pay. Smaller groups will be able to report back on their intentions until 10:00 pm of the same day, which will be also valid for the regulations of meals for larger groups. Bedrooms Bedrooms do not have TV and it is not allowed to smoke or cook inside them. Check-out is before 11:00 am, with the delivery of keys at reception. The bed linen is changed every three days and the towels every two days of stay. Common spaces We request the most attention and care with the animals and plants in our gardens. Furniture Furniture should not be moved from its place, unless having our explicit authorization, and this also includes the garden. Parking Our parking is very limited in its dimensions, so please reduce the number of vehicles to park in order to not saturate it and park always respecting the limited areas. Buses must be announced at the time of booking and will be assigned a specific space. Given these circumstances, the hostelry cannot guarantee parking spots for all its guests at all times. Others Always take the precaution to close the doors of your bedroom because the guesthouse Martí-Codolar is not responsible for the possible misplace of belongings, which also includes the ones left in reception. In order to ensure the rest for all our guests, please be silent between 11:00 pm and 08:00 am. The internet access is free and the key will be advised at the front desk upon arrival. It is not permitted the use of bathing suits or the lack of pieces of clothing in the public spaces of the house, neither the exhibits that could dismiss morality or the appeal of the rest of the guests. The Salesian Seminary Martí-Codolar reserves the right to refuse admission in case of non-compliance with these rules. Have a nice stay and hope to see you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar

Address: Avda. Cardenal Vidal i Barraquer, 15, 08035 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Price Range: $67 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Residencia Salesiana Marti-Codolar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find out if a convention is in progress and get room far away from entertainment.”
 of 5 bubbles BeverleyBell, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are good, but beds are weak I broke one because of my over-weight, it will need a light weight person”
 of 5 bubbles hsmousa, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I had 6th floor... very quiet, but don't expect views... ITS NOT A HOTEL”
 of 5 bubbles gerryc74, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Triple rooms much larger than double, would recommend even for two people.”
 of 5 bubbles juliecC5491YF, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“higher floor for beautiful panorama”
 of 5 bubbles SakinTravel, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay