We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Alhamar 46 - 48, 18004 Granada Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
USD 59
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Barcelo.com
Expedia.com
USD 53
View deal
Hotels.com
TravelocityUSD 53
Priceline
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (245)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (311)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Occidental Granada
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 137 hotels in Granada
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1409Reviews19Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 657
  • 464
  • 216
  • 47
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Graham B wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom133 contributions42 helpful votes
This is a large comfortable hotel within fairly easy walking distance of the main attractions. The room was spacious, large bathroom storage etc. No view - we overlooked an interior courtyard but we weren't there for the view. The breakfast was very good - huge selection. The staff weren't that helpful. We asked if we could have a late check out of an hour but they refused - we had been there 4 nights so that was unreasonable. The hotel wasn't full so no reason not to be generous with a late check out.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Granada
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Graham, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that your room met your expectations. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as it shows us areas we can improve upon. Rest assured, we have taken your comments into account and will address them with the team. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Javier Aparicio Pastor, General Manager
Read more
pgbDublin wrote a review Apr 2022
Dublin719 contributions1277 helpful votes
It has its own underground car park. The spaces are a bit tight. The buzzer to open the car park door is a good distance before the ramp. And of course, I didn’t see it! Drove all the way up the long ramp to the door, looking for the buzzer. However, a member of staff was very helpful and we escaped. Room and bathroom spotlessly clean. Very good WiFi. Comfortable bed with excellent pillows. Fridge in the room. I made the mistake of not insisting on a room at the back when I checked in. Hotels won’t guarantee a quiet room before arrival. However, the external noise from the street was nowhere as bad as the corridor noise inside, from inconsiderate guests not from staff. The room doors must be paper thin. The windows are not soundproofed. Outside noise was not as bad as I’d feared. It was reduced by the fact that it rained one night (Tues) - so unsheltered restaurant tables directly below our window could not be used. The restaurant across the street was closed on Monday night. The street quietened down shortly after midnight each evening, with a few stragglers shouting and roaring at intervals thereafter, some of whom woke me, every night. No early morning noise externally, any of the three mornings we were there. I didn’t hear a thing from neighbouring rooms, beside us or above us. The AC, like many Spanish hotels in April, was set to heat. We were unable to cool the room, so we left the windows open as late as possible. I was surprised that the room remained comfortable at night. The same approach in other hotels, earlier in the holiday, didn’t work. Not sure I’d return……..the risk of noise interrupting sleep is too great.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a room not facing the street. There are restaurant tables out front. And no soundproofing.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
lovescolorado2 wrote a review Apr 2022
Castle Rock, Colorado212 contributions62 helpful votes
Pros: The location of the hotel is good. It is a fairly close walk to the attractions of the city. The bed was comfortable. Cons: We were disappointed with several things about or room. 1 complimentary bottle of water for a 5 night stay. We got one from the bar and it was €3. (Later purchased one at supermarket for .40) Our sink was clogged and it took 3 phone calls and 2 days to get fixed. The toilet was dirty when we arrived and was never properly cleaned. Air conditioning did not work and it was very warm. When you open the windows it’s extremely noisy from the street/dogs barking and bar across the street (which stays open until 3-4AM) Management didn’t really seem to care about our issues.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Granada
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. At Barceló Hotel Group, we strive to always deliver high standards and are sorry that on this occasion we didn't meet your expectations. We are fully aware that this is an essential aspect in these current times and can assure you that these are not the standards we uphold. Please be assured that we will be addressing your comments with the relevant Heads of Department to ensure that this experience is not repeated in future. We are very sorry for the issues with the bathroom and would have immediately sent a team member to assist had we known. On a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk for anything we may do to permit you to fully enjoy your stay among us. Rest assured that our maintenance team have been informed and will be dealing with the matter. We are sorry you felt the prices in the bar were expensive, however, after passing this information on to our Food & Drinks Manager and following investigation we consider the prices in our bar are in line with other hotel bars in the surrounding area. We do our best to create a quiet and relaxing environment for all our guests and regret if you were disturbed. Please do not hesitate to make us aware of any concerns during your stay, we are always happy to help. However, we are happy to know you found our hotel to be in a convenient location for visiting the must-see attractions in Granada . Furthermore, we would like to thank you for highlighting the comfort of our beds; at Barceló we understand that a comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep is a top priority for our guests, therefore we pay close attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Javier Aparicio Pastor, General Manager
Read more
Silvia L wrote a review Feb 2022
Barcelona, Spain6 contributions14 helpful votes
This hotel has it all: nice spacious rooms, comfortable beds, an excellent location and a good restaurant. But what makes it trully exceptional is the staff always going the extra mile. I'd like to point out the gentleman serving breakfast on the 5th of February, the receptionists helping with all our requests and also the restaurant staff who served us dinner the same day (5.2.). They were all really accommodating, pleasant and profesional in every aspect. We'll be back for sure. Thank you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Glen wrote a review Nov 2021
Romford, United Kingdom5 contributions
We stayed in a junior suite on the 6th floor as it was my partner’s birthday weekend. I booked it specifically for the jacuzzi bathroom and wasn’t disappointed. The suite was huge with a very comfortable huge bed. The jacuzzi isn’t done justice in the photos on the Booking.com website. It was amazing and so relaxing. The view across the city and mountains from the massive balcony was spectacular especially at sunrise and sunset. We were surprised to see an ashtray on the balcony but that suited us as we’re smokers. I unfortunately couldn’t get the coffee machine to work but that might just be my incompetence. The car park located below the hotel was very handy also. The only negative I can say is there was no drinking water in our room and nothing in the minibar. Also the safe in the wardrobe required a key which we couldn’t find? We will definitely stay here again the next time we’re in Granada.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take a bottle of drinking water with you as it’s not provided in the room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Granada
Responded 20 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are grateful for your wonderful description of the room we accommodated you in during your stay. It is our goal to provide our guests with spotless, attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked yours so much. We would like to thank you for highlighting the comfort of our beds; at Barceló we understand that a comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep is a top priority for our guests, therefore we pay close attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses for our beds. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion. Kind regards, Javier Aparicio Pastor, General Manager
Read more
jeannetteger wrote a review Nov 2021
Harderwijk, The Netherlands345 contributions56 helpful votes
We send this email to the hotel on October 30, 2021 and until now November 8th we never got a reply nor an excuse. Dear Sirs, we stayed in room 604, a very nice suite. In the afternoon at around 3.20 PM we read the menu that was standing on the pavement. We liked it so we went sitting at the outside terrace. The waiter came out and took the menu away and did put it inside, even not looking at us. We were sitting there and waited and waited and he was a long time invisible and later helping guests who were sitting inside. Since we weren’t in a hurry we waited. Finally he came to us, not looking very friendly and he told us we couldn’t get the menu anymore since it was past 3.30 PM. We got a bit angry because we were perfectly in time and we wanted to walk away. Finally he “allowed” us to have the menu, after having permission from the kitchen, but we had to hurry up, because the kitchen closed at 3.30 PM. Not a very nice welcome at our first day. He was late, not us!! The next day we went out the whole day and when we came back the cleaning lady hadn’t refilled the coffee, tea, sugar and water. We were too tired after a long day exploring Granada so we didn’t feel like going down to get it. All together quite disappointing. Please make sure other guests don’t experience the same we had. Bye the way it was a very strange experience your hotel doesn’t have any tissues in the bathroom. Every hotel does have them! We went down to ask for a box of tissues and at the reception desk they even didn’t know if there were tissues or not.At least they couldn’t provide us a box of tissues. Maybe the lady at the reception desk who should arrive for her shift at 6 pm knows? Guess what, we never heard anything about it. Every lady and most men uses them. And now I receive your invitation to put a review on Tripadvisor.Do you really want me to do that?? Kind regards, Ger & Jeannette.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Occidental Granada
Responded 15 Nov 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We have taken good note of your opinion of your experience and are truly sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations; our team works daily to provide the best possible service. Please rest assured that your review will be shared with our heads of department for review. We hope we may have the occasion to welcome you back for an improved experience. Kindest regards, Javier Aparicio Pastor, General Manager
Read more
Michael H wrote a review Oct 2021
New York City, New York9 contributions
Good hotel, centrally located within Granada. A short 15-20 minute walk will take you to the city center. Nice size rooms. Good breakfast with hot options, eggs, sausages, bacon etc. Helpful front desk staff. Hotel is kept very clean. I would recommend staying at this hotel, if you are planning on sightseeing around the city of Granada!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Parking is possible on the nearby streets. All you need to do is find a space with a single white...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Granada
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Dear Michael, Thank you for such a positive review of your stay with us. We're so pleased to hear our location was convenient for you. We look forward to having you return. Best wishes, Javier Aparicio Pastor, General Manager
Read more
Harry S wrote a review Feb 2020
Highland Park, Illinois6 contributions1 helpful vote
A good hotel about a ten minute walk from the Plaza de Reyes Catolicos, and around the corner from the Metro tram station (if you are arriving by train). Seems very popular with families. Laundromat and nice supermarket (Supersol) about a block away. Major complaint is that the housekeeping staff uses an excessive amount of "air freshener" (ambientador); after airing out the room we asked them to not spray, and it was fine.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Occidentalg1, Director General at Occidental Granada
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Occidental Granada. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We also regret your words about the situation, just in the center of Granada. This point it´s really apreciated by most of our guests, and you have all the main monuments in a really short walking distance. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. The management Occidental Granada
Read more
Chrissy wrote a review Feb 2020
8 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed here on a short work trip which I visited twice during my travels. Situated just a few minutes walk away from the busy centre. So much quieter than some hotels, which means you can get a good night's sleep. A great hotel designed with functionality in mind. Spacious bathroom with showers and bath and lots of room to put toiletries. Also has a good powerfull hairdryer too - fabulous! It has a nice little bar/restaurant attached which does great tapas and where the staff are super cheerful and friendly - a great place to chill or catch up on a bit of work. Great location - Recogidos metro station is at the end of Calle Alhamar (about 1 minute walk) There is a supermarket on the opposite side of the street and if you arrive late or on Sunday evening as I did, there are a couple of minimarkets a few minuits walk away if you need supplies - unusual in Spain. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Occidentalg1, Director General at Occidental Granada
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Granada hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours in our Jamar gastrobar. Finally, we also thank yoy for your gratefull words about our situation, we are glad to know, this point had made your stay even better if it should be. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. The management Occidental Granada
Read more
ilukin391767 wrote a review Jan 2020
Düsseldorf, Germany1 contribution
I really like this hotel! Great service, big and clean rooms, next to metro station. I would highly recommend it. The price is affordable. Very good hotel with exceptional service and maximum comfort.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Occidentalg1, Director General at Occidental Granada
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to share your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Granada hotel and we thank you for your kind recommendation to TripAdvisor’s readers. We are very happy to read that you liked the room you stayed and that he found the cleanliness of his pleasure since for us it is a very important aspect. We also thank yoy for your gratefull words about our situation, we are glad to know, this point had made your stay even better if it should be. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. The managenet Occidental Granada
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 60 - USD 84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alhamar hotel granada, alhamar granada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel M.A. Alhamar
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of GranadaGranadaFigares
NUMBER OF ROOMS
141
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Occidental Granada
Which popular attractions are close to Occidental Granada?
Nearby attractions include Lock-In (0.3 km), Viajes Camino De Santiago (0.2 km), and COCO ROOM Granada Room Escape (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Occidental Granada?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Occidental Granada?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Occidental Granada?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Occidental Granada?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Occidental Granada?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toma Te Pan, KIĀTO, and Pizzería Bella Ciao.
Is Occidental Granada located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Granada.
Are any cleaning services offered at Occidental Granada?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Occidental Granada offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Occidental Granada?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Occidental Granada?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Generalife (1.9 km), The Alhambra (1.6 km), and Mirador de San Nicolas (1.7 km).