We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
Rehlingen
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Was again here for a quick stopover for a trade show in Düsseldorf. I like this Hotel, because the staff always seem to make me feel at Home. The Breakfast has to be the Best of all the Hotels in Gelsenkirchen, and the Bar/Restaurant is Superb, (not Hautecuisine, but you know what I mean), good Prices and the service is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for being guest in our hotel and we appreciate the time you took for your evaluation. We extract from your indications that you felt well during your stay, which is in our own best interests. Your evaluation makes us happy, because your contentment is a big motivation for our employees. We look forward to welcoming you...

Newport
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Arrived at hotel around 6pm on a hot day. The room was really stuffy as no air conditioning. No kettle or complimentary tea or coffee which was very disappointing. Mini bar and safe were in the room. Very old TV (not flatscreen) which seemed ancient but fitted well in this room as it was very 70's style and still stuck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikemalo
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are very pleased that we were able to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for the time you have taken for your detailed review. Unfortunately, our rooms are not equipped with air conditioning. We hope that our televisions are exchanged by the end of the year. We apologize that your soup was offered with no...

Schiedam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

I spent a night in this hotel when on business trip. The grandeur is a bit outdated, but still, I had a good stay. Spacious and clean rooms with great, comfortable beds and a large bathroom (pity there's a shower curtain). WiFi is unfortunately a bit slow. Nice wellness area with swimming pool, sauna and enough hot and cold showers....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte_1977
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for being guest in our hotel and we appreciate the time you took for your evaluation. We extract from your indications that you felt well during your stay, which is in our own best interests. Your evaluation makes us happy, because your contentment is a big motivation for our employees. We look forward to welcoming you...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I stayed here for a music event and loved everything about it. Although the decor is, as others have said, dated (and after all the 70s are coming back into fashion now!), everything is spotlessly clean and comfortable, the staff couldn't be kinder or more helpful, and the location is perfect - an easy walk to the centre of town....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Venusjupiter
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the nice and positive review. We are lucky that you stayed in our hotel and thank you for the friendly and honorable words. We would like to welcome you again at our hotel and remain with best regards Your Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen Management

Reykjavik
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Stayed one night. The room was excellent (we were on the 11th floor with nice view). Breakfast was very good and this hotel offers almost everything, except they should have vending machines or a small store to buy water and/or soft drinks. The location is excellent, within a walkin distance from the city center. The park by the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steinarrkr
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for being guest in our hotel and we appreciate the time you took for your evaluation. We extract from your indications that you felt well during your stay, which is in our own best interests. Your evaluation makes us happy, because your contentment is a big motivation for our employees. We look forward to welcoming you...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

One night stay on route to Berlin. Pleasant comfortable rooms, spotlessly lean. Excellent buffet dinner (wine list a bit thin but good Weissburgunder) and buffet breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Automatic alarm at 7 a.m when the local church bells ring.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sussex3225
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the nice and positive review. We are lucky that you stayed in our hotel and thank you for the friendly and honorable words. We would like to welcome you again at our hotel and remain with best regards Your Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen Management

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

We were there for one night when attending a live concert in Veltins arena. The hotel needs a lot of refurbishment, public places like lobby, bar and restaurant as well as the rooms. We were on the 14th floor and had a good view but that was about it. The room itself was pretty worn out and definitely needs a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ibanker_ffm
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay here at our hotel. We apologize, that you room does not match your expectations. As you may recognize during your visit, our hotel has been build around 30 years ago and can therefore not compete with other new and modern hotels. But our...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Stayed in Gelsenkirchen while visiting the Techn Classic car show in Essen. From teh outside the hotel looks a little weary - a good clean and some fresh paint wouldn't go amiss. Inside it's well maintained with friendly and helpful staff. On two nights we havd a buffet dinner which was very good with excellent choices - on our third...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rojrk
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for being guest in our hotel and we appreciate the time you took for your evaluation. We extract from your indications that you felt well during your stay, which is in our own best interests. Your evaluation makes us happy, because your contentment is a big motivation for our employees. We look forward to welcoming you...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Stayed for a couple of nights on a conference. Had a nice spacious room with balcony which was quiet, light and airy. Did not eat in hotel, but the food which I did see when walking through the dining room looked great. Hotel was in a great location. `during my stay I had occasion to chat to the manager who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bodhizypher
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the nice and positive review at Tripadvisor. We are lucky that you stayed in our hotel and thank you for the friendly and honorable words. We would like to welcome you again at our hotel and remain with best regards Your Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen Management

Skane County, Sweden
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Stayed only one night and had a burger in the restaurant. First time for a long time I saw a fatTV in a Hotelroom. This hotel have seen its glorious days. Came in late and left early but for a Maritim hotel this would be the bottom end. Really nothing wrong with the hotel and the service was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RensanBudo
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to evaluate your stay. Our hotel is one of the first of our chain and is therefore not comparable with the new and modern Maritim hotels. We are delighted for your praise and recognition for our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gelsenkirchen
Courtyard Gelsenkirchen
#1 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
171 reviews
Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#4 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
338 reviews
Altstadt
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#11 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Arena
#6 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
24 reviews
Buer
Schloss Berge
Schloss Berge
#5 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen is situated close to the city centre and shopping district and is privileged to be placed adjacent to the large "Stadtgarten" (city garden). We have 222 double and single rooms in various categories as well as junior suites, which are spread across 14 floors. Approximately all rooms are non-smoking rooms. Aside from the all-purpose conference rooms for up to 650 persons, we offer our guests the restaurant "Pub" - with the park-side terrace during the warm seasons - and an elegant hotel bar as gastronomical facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Address: Am Stadtgarten 1, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Gelsenkirchen > Altstadt
Price Range: $119 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a room looking over the Park.”
 of 5 bubbles nicholasg889, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Seventh floor, overlooking the park, perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles Venusjupiter, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have views - the ones at the front of the hotel are better”
 of 5 bubbles Rojrk, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Suites are excellent value for money”
 of 5 bubbles 27stephenk, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The higher the better...”
 of 5 bubbles D8277ZOrichardk, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay