We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tryp Dortmund Hotel

Melia.comUSD 62*
View Deal
#12 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
GreenLeadersSilver level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 82*
USD 62*
Great Deal
USD 74*
USD 74*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Tryp Dortmund Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of Tryp Dortmund Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A good hotel to stay for business. Easy parking, nice staff. Restaurant simple dishes but well cooked not expensive. Bad things is apart from the city good for drivers and wifi connection limited 100MB and slow not adaptes to minimum needs and not aligned with hotel pricing and level.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedro C
TRYPDortmund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Dortmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pedro C, thank you for choosing our hotel and your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Dortmund. We hope you asked our staff for highspeed internet!? Here you have the opportunity to purchase an unlimitied access. It should be enough to get all work done. Hope to see you soon! Best regards Your TRYP Dortmund...

Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

After the hideous hotel we were put up in earlier on this business trip, it was like heaven walking into this place when we arrived in Dortmund Decor is clean and modern The rooms are a good size, clean and great amenities The food in the restaurant, both for dinner and breakfast was very good Staff are friendly and efficient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j100lok
TRYPDortmund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Dortmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear j100lok, thank you for choosing our hotel and your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Dortmund. We hope you asked our staff for highspeed internet!? Here you have the opportunity to purchase an unlimitied access. It should be enough to get all work done. Hope to see you soon! Best regards Your TRYP Dortmund Team

Ardsley, New York
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Pleasant room and clean facility; Housekeeping aided entry into room when card did not work at first. Room service meal was good and was able to get work accomplished. Checkout and taxi service pick-up went as planned.

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B1735BPtomb
TRYPDortmund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Dortmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Boruz, thank you for choosing our hotel and your positive review. We are glad you had a successful stay in Dortmund. We hope to welcome you back very soon, have a good time! Best regards Your TRYP Dortmund Team

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Well, it's close to the Dortmund university and that's its major, if not the only, advantage. It's Also clean. Housekeeping is very good. The hotel would do with some maintenance. Actually they were refurbishing the exterior of it when I was there and scaffolding was all over and workers walking about etc. No privacy really. They ought to have shut...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gourmetathens
TRYPDortmund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Dortmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gourmetathens, thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. You´re right, we just renovated our facade, unfortunately we can´t close the hotel. We´re very sorry if you were disturbed from the work. We hope to welcome you back, to convince you from our service. Have a good time! Best regards Your TRYP Dortmund Team

Province of Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I have stayed at Tryp Dortmund for 3 night on a business trip. The room has all the basics for your comfort. Bed was nice, TV was OK but what I liked the most was bathroom. It was very large and spacey. Only thing was missing a minibar but it depends what you are looking for. Breakfast was nice enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boruz
TRYPDortmund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Dortmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Boruz, thank you for choosing our hotel and your positive review. We´re glad you enjoyed your stay in Dortmund. Please note we have a small selection of pillows. So you have the choice if one pillow is not comfortable for you. We hope to welcome you back very soon, have a good time! Best regards Your TRYP Dortmund Team

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Located next to the autoroute and the Dortmund university this is a choice if you need to rest nearby for an affordable price. The interior is not providing much cozy feelings, however staff is friendly and a good Italian restaurant within 15 min walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller_ger
TRYPDortmund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Dortmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear worldtraveller_ger, thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. Of course you have a great restaurant in our hotel too, no need to walk 15 minutes ;) We hope to convince you more at your next stay. Have a good time! Best regards Your TRYP Dortmund Team

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The TRYP Dortmund is situated next to the exit Dortmund Barop of the Autobahn A40. The hotel sits right between the Westfalenhallen/Westfalenstadion (2.5 km) and the Technical University (300 m to the campus border, 1.0 km to the Audimax) It is clean and well maintained; currently (Sept.'16) the hotel hides behind scaffolding, as the outside receives a new coat of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jochen K
TRYPDortmund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Dortmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jochen K, thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. We are happy to welcome you a second time in our hotel. It´s good to see that you´ve enjoyed your stay in Dortmund. We´re very sorry for the hard mattress, we just changed them a year ago. Maybe that's the reason why they are harder...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Would have liked tea/ coffee in our room, however the rooms were very clean. Would recommend this hotel. It is situated on the out skirt of town. Would have liked an area in the hotel to sit and relax in comfortable chairs to have had a drink, the chairs that they have are very upright and not comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianej150
TRYPDortmund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Dortmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dianej150, thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. Great to see that you´ve enjoyed your stay in Dortmund. We will think about the chairs and hope we can show you a more comfortable chair on your next stay. We hope to welcome you very soon, we´re looking forward to it. Have a good time!...

Downham Market, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Hotel clean, staff friendly and great breakfast. Booking online failed to mention the Dortmund tax that would be charged on top of it. The website would not allow me to use my passport as ID (although at the check-in they did). The website asked for my CPF because I am Brazilian (a document that we hardly use, there is no...

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 614nanciy
TRYPDortmund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Dortmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 614nanciy, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience with us. Please forgive the circumstances about your booking. We hope it´ll be easier at your next stay in Dortmund. We´re looking forward to it. Have a good time! Best regards Your TRYP Dortmund Team

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Small, nice hotel, rooms are cleans and cozy..breakfast is delicuos, not far away from Dortmund center..Staff is helpful... Wifi in rooms works perfect.. I recomentend this hotel..the quality meets the price..one bad thing There is no connection to the bed for hargers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vilius L
TRYPDortmund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Dortmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vilius L, thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. Great to see that you´ve enjoyed your stay in Dortmund We hope to welcome you again very soon, we´re looking forward to it. Have a good time! Best regards Your TRYP Dortmund Team

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
5.9 km away
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
#1 of 55 in Dortmund
479 reviews
1.9 km away
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
2.1 km away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
2.9 km away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
1.9 km away
Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Tryp Dortmund Hotel

Address: Emil-Figge-Str. 41, 44227 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Price Range: $72 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Dortmund Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Dortmund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Dortmund
Dortmund Sol Melia
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dortmund
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tryp Dortmund Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tryp Dortmund Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Keep doing as planned.”
B1735BPtomb, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Tea and coffee tray in the room would have been wonderful.”
dianej150, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room far from the stairs.”
842aliciaw, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Wi Fi run out after a few minutes - you spend most of the time back and fore reception for wifi token.”
bikersgearuk, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
“room 114 - it was the worst room I have ever stay in Germany, you would be better off sleeping in your car.”
R0ley, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Melia.com
USD 62* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 74
Expedia.comUSD 74
HotelQuicklyUSD 82
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates