We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A&O Koeln Dom

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
A&O Koeln Dom
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

It was a place to rest our heads but nothing more. This is pretty budget accommodation so if you understand that in advance you won't be disappointed. My partner and I stayed in a standard double room. The bed was average to uncomfortable and the sheets/duvet rough. It was warm though and due to the freezing weather outside, this was... More 

Helpful?
Thank HouseDepositHoliday
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This place was so typically European.......quaint elevator, small room, but with all the amenities, and breakfast in the morning. It also has a pay per use computer terminal in the lobby area, but within 2 blocks there is an internet cafe. The location is excellent - 2 blocks from the train station. The room rate was certainly reasonable for being... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

I book a room for 68 €. I had a quite room with window right on the train tracks and no hot water in the morning to shower with. Breakfast was an additional 7€. For a little more I could have had a lot better. The staff is pleasant enough but the owners are too greedy. Unless you get a... More 

Helpful?
Thank JKHrOR2015

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Poor elevator, rooms were too small to open up 2 suitcases - my friend and I have to take turns. Totally overpriced, didn't eat anything from the breakfast bar. Room was too hot. We were given a room at level 1 and you can hear people talking downstairs, wasn't able to get proper sleep at night without earphones.

Helpful?
Thank vanvan1308
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Dom, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you very much for taking the time to review the A&O Köln Dom. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and considered the rooms as too small. I am sure the heating could have been lowered if you had spoken to reception about this problem. Furthermore, it is rather... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2015

This hotel/hostel is ideally suited for anyone on a budget travelling into Colgne by train. It is literally across the road from the train station and close to Am Dom which is so tall its visible from any location so you will never get lost if exploring the city on foot. Rooms are basic, but clean, and room cleaning is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne E
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Me and my brother stayed here for a couple of nights while travelling around northern Germany. The hotel was priced as a budget hotel but in reality it was a hostel (so too expensive for what it was). The room it's self was so small that it heated up like an oven which made it almost impossible to get a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flying_Scotzman
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Dom, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate the A&O Köln Dom. We are sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your stay and considered the room as too small and warm. However, I hope you still managed to have a nice time in Köln. Best Regards, Your A&O Customer Service Team More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2015

I thought this place was a bit overpriced given that the room was small and quite basic. But it is clean, comfy and in good repair and the staff are great. Location is very convenient for exploring the old town/cathedral area and for the railway station. Quite a bit of street noise and the street the hotel on is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank exilencfc
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Dom, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to review the A&O Hostel and Hotel Köln Dom. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, I will also note your comments about the street noise and the wifi, so we are aware of the demands of our guests. We hope to welcome you again soon.... More 

Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2015

When I stayed here it's name was Hotel Good Sleep. It is located very centrally, close to Kölner Dom and Rhein and main train station. It is perfect place for a good sleep if you are going to stay short to visit Cologne. Rooms are small but clear. If you are going to drive in Cologne be aware of many... More 

Helpful?
Thank bkraoren
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Dear, From the 29th of March to the 4th of April I was doing a small trip through Germany using several of the A&O hostels. I arrived on the 29th of March to Cologne and stayed in the A&O Koln Dom hostel for one night, everything was fine and I enjoyed my stay and all the staff was really nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rafael R
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Dom, responded to this review

Dear Rafael, as already explained by E-Mail, it is not possible to store luggage for customers who have already checked out. This is against our company’s policy. We are very sorry that you were given the wrong information to begin with. We would also like to apologize for our staff member’s inappropriate behavior. I have already talked to the manager... More 

Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2014

It has not fancy things, but It is enough for a place where to rest, have a breakfast and take a shower. If you are in Europe with low budget, this is place to stay, it is comfortable and not expensive. Good experience for us!

Helpful?
Thank Alirio P
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Dom, responded to this review

Dear Alirio, thank you very much for taking the time to review the A&O Köln Dom. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon in one of our A&O Hostels and Hotels. Best greetings to Chile, Your A&O Customer Support Team More 

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#26 of 277 in Cologne
795 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
#154 of 277 in Cologne
68 reviews
Central Hotel am Dom
#212 of 277 in Cologne
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Sandmanns
Hotel Sandmanns
#62 of 277 in Cologne
110 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#37 of 277 in Cologne
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about A&O Koeln Dom

Address: Komoedienstr. 19 - 21, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Good Sleep)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Price Range: $86 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — A&O Koeln Dom 1.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your A&O Koeln Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Sleep Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from A&O Koeln Dom staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from A&O Koeln Dom staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a sleeping bag & sleep at the station if this is the last hotel available in Koeln.”
 of 5 bubbles 149pujak, 20 Apr 2014 | Read review
“The higher the quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Carlos_Vagamundos, 5 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Avoid 210 (and possibly 211?) and anything else beside the lift(elevator).”
 of 5 bubbles b037, 27 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Dont get the room with the bunkbed in it”
 of 5 bubbles BETTYB569, 18 Jun 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay