We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Hamburger Kunsthalle
    0.5 km
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 10 May 2016
Good hostel
Overall for this hostel is quite good , clean dorm , bed is... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Showing 713: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

Well this was the first time I've ever stayed in a hostel..In a private room mind you..but the hotel where just to expensive for a o e night change of trains. Well it was quiet in the room. Similar to an Ibis budget room but a bit bigger and surprisingly comfortable bed. But the room is swept clean. Okay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jase43ukchelms
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the feedback. Whenever you return to Hamburg, be our guest again. You and your friends are always welcome in our house. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Overall for this hostel is quite good , clean dorm , bed is comfortable , good breakfast but you have to pay more because it's not including with room rate. Good location just 5 min walk from bus station. Only one thing I don't like about this hostel is bathroom in dorm is really too small even I'm Asian girl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jing L
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the review. I would be delighted if we can welcome you soon again in our hostel. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

The rooms were nice, as everyone says the bathrooms are tiny, buy that's not really a big deal, they are big enough. The room was clean and well kept. I was disappointed as the reason I was staying in a hostel was that as a solo traveller I wanted to meet people and I was placed in a 4 bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirsty M
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the review. The upgrade to the 4-bed single use, was meant to be a gesture of us. Sorry, that we were not able to satisfy you with that. Please let us know on another visit your preference. There are a lot of good people around to meet. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 1 May 2016

The generator is a modern hostel in close proximity to main station. The security at the front door gives a good feeling due to the people hanging around a main station Thr friendly stuff (receptionists) was welcoming us and able to give us the room even though we just booked 30min before online. You have the possibilty to sit and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vic_hyMa
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the recommendation. I am very happy that you had a good time in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Visited Hamburg for a stag weekend, the location and facilities were really good and the staff helpful. I'd definitely recommended it to others for a group trip. On the day we had to check out we were able to pay a little more to allow a later check out time on the Sunday, we were all feeling a bit sleep...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisbT964QS
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, good to see that you had a good time in Hamburg. Hope to see you soon again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 April 2016

The location was great, the beds were fine, the breakfast was averige. Maybe some fruit could do the trick. The room was very very small and not a twin but a double. And were to plugg in the phone? And the boys from reception were slow, not very glad to see you, and not very helpfull.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C7196MGsimoned
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the review. There are really some points we need to give some attention, to lift Hamburg Generator to the standard level we are known for. I am sorry, that we were not able to present us this time well, but I hope you will give Generator another chance in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Braunschweig, Germany
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The hostel is really good, the installations and the situation. You can have breakfast or any other meal there. The only thing is that there is no soap on the bathrooms (for the shower), that for me should be always included and also that the common bathrooms should be more clean. Showers are not cleaned properly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nerea A
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the review. I regret that the bathrooms were not clean. We will work on that. Hope you will chose Generator also on your next trip.... If not in Hamburg, than maybe in one of our other destinations. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The hostel is quite modern. The location is amazing as it is just in front of Hamburg's central railway station. Unfortunately the prices per room are quite high. The restrooms and the showers in the room seem like restrooms in busses. The restrooms and showers on the hallway were dirty. Breakfast is ok for the price. WiFi works perfectly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephan202
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the feedback. The bathrooms have been criticised a lot and they are indeed small. In our new Hostels, such as Paris and Amsterdam we have by far more comfortable bathes, because we took all the comments very serious. We will unfortunately not be able to change them soon in Hamburg. But of cause we will work on...

Reviewed 26 April 2016

Stayed 2 nights at this Hostel in a 8 bed dorm and of all the backpackers I have stayed in this would rate as the best. Clean, excellent staff, great location (next to station), value for money and great facilities. More like a 5 star hotel than a backpackers. Will definitely stay again when next in Hamburg.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, WOW, that is a fantastic review. Thanks a lot! See you next time at Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Decorations are hip, rooms too, I'm short so I didn't mind the small bathrooms, breakfast not included, you have to buy breakfast "chips" which you give to the person in charge of breakfast to get yours, I didn't use mine so I saved my chips for the next generator hostel in Barcelona turns out they're all the same so you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ti G
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for the review. Good to see that you had a good time in Hamburg. Hope to see you soon again at Generator. All the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

484 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Eight Person Room (27)
Viewed
Four Person Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Six Person Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Bridge Inn Hotel
#193 of 320 in Hamburg
160 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 320 in Hamburg
1,159 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#73 of 320 in Hamburg
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Hamburg Alsterring
#55 of 320 in Hamburg
589 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#52 of 320 in Hamburg
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range: $38 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make use of the secure lockers too if you arrive early.”
 of 5 bubbles luvleyleah, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a room on the fourth floor with electrical blinds. Nice”
 of 5 bubbles sirius052016, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Double check everything with the staff. Not the most professional.”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are nicer, however you may be walking up so choose a lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles SarthakNag, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book as early as possible to avoid $30 a night prices...”
 of 5 bubbles 785samyt, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5