We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum

Show Prices
#195 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 245: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great room, Clean hotel and great service. It's located in a quite neighbourhood away from the main road. Lots of nice eating places within walking distance. Perfectly located for the Berlin gay scene might be a bit far from the usual tourist sights if your not familiar with the city.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete P
MarianneSkarupke, Assistant Manager Customer Care at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review

Dear Pete, thank you so much for your 5 points review!! We are so happy you liked to stay with us. For those unfamiliar with the city, due to our history with the wall, Berlin has two centers. Our house is located in the middle of the western city center and about 15 minutes by public transportation to the eastern...

Swindon, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Great location in the heart of the gay area. Friendly & helpful reception staff who speak excellent English. Room large & spacious but cosy at the same time. Decor simple and modern with beautifully tiled bathroom. Tea & coffee in room replenished daily. Comfy bed and fresh linens daily. Really cannot recommend this hotel enough. Great value for money!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick S
About Hotel's Favourite Review
MarianneSkarupke, Assistant Manager Customer Care at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic comment. it is pleasure for us to read your feedback! And it was a great pleasure for us as well having you as our guest and hopefully many more times! Autumn-greetings from Berlin, Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum Marianne Skarupke Assistant Manager Customer Care

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RalphSingapore66
MarianneSkarupke, Assistant Manager Customer Care at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel priorities loud barking dogs over paying human beings. Along with paper thin walls you can expect a terrible nights sleep. Don't expect any help from the entitled/rude hotel staff who take no accountability (it's not the hotels dog was their response). Best avoided! Motel one around the corner provides a better product and service!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Preston B
MarianneSkarupke, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review

Dear Preston, Thank you very much for your feedback which was already placed right on spot. All guests are welcome and all our guests are being served properly and competent. We are very sorry that we could not fullfil your expectations. Very sad to read that your disappointment is fading out the facts and our done efforts. We of course...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was lovely, staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing. This was a trip for my son to visit historical sites he was interested in. It was booked on behalf of the UK Family Fund (UK charity for families raising disabled or seriously ill children and young people) via a Travel Agency. I don't think the area is suitable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
MarianneSkarupke, Astistant Manager Customer Care at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review

Dear Tina, So happy to read that you had a good time with our staff and that you had a delicious start into your day for exploring our capitol!! :) Since we have too many lines in the city, time tables that are needed can be printed out at the front desk and city maps are laying out as well...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed three nights Friday to Monday. The reception staff were very polite and helpful. We could leave our luggage there until the room was ready at 3pm, and went out to discover we were a five minute walk to KaDeWe, Europe's largest department store! The subway stations were also very convenient. Our room was on the fifth floor and...

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gennyl21
MarianneSkarupke, Assistant Manager Customer Care at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review

Dear Genny, Thank you so much for your great feedback!!! So happy to read that you had such a good time with us and are very much looking forward to welcome you again in our house. Best Wishes from Berlin, Marianne Skarupke Assistant Manager Customer Care

London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location and good friendly staff. I really enjoy my time in Berlin but the hotel is a bit old. Great location with good restaurant and shops. The bathroom are just ok and the room are very old fashion. I was aspect something better for a Mercure Hotel. I habe been in a lot of them and this is not...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 550claudi
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Check-in was at 3pm as hotel had been full the night before. Luggage was kept in a storage room, so out I went for a walk and when I returned at 245pm I was able to check-in. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, small bathroom which was also very clean. Complimentary wifi, which was very good. A mini bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yvr1
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Everything went rather well as soon as you don't mind that the hotel finishing looks rather outdated and pillows are pretty basic. I also would only suggest that the staff at the reception behaves in a bit more warmer way, without that stereotypical German polite detachment, especially when a guest has to fill this appalling check-in form required by local...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R_Occupant
MarianneSkarupke, Assistant Manager Customer Care at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review

Dear R_Occupant, thank you very much for your feedback to your stay. Our check in procedure has become way warmer even though the form still needs to be filled out quite thoroughly. But oh well how complete would feel a stay in Berlin without experiencing German bureaucracy as well ;). We like to hear that you have enjoyed your stay...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

This hotel is in the main centre gay area it was are second stay here the first time we book room only this time the reception said why not try breakfast as is reduced price if you book day before so we tried it it was good so we booked for rest of the 10 days this was a miss...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
MarianneSkarupke, Assistant Manager Customer Care at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review

Dear John, thank you very much for your feedback. We would have been happy to at least move you to a more quiet floor and recommended you a later time for breakfast to enjoy your stay in our house even more. Non the less are we very happy to see that you liked our house still and would be very...

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Hotel Sachsenhof
Hotel Sachsenhof
#206 of 633 in Berlin
181 reviews
Schoneberg
Quentin Design hotel
Quentin Design hotel
#297 of 633 in Berlin
457 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Artim
Hotel Artim
#293 of 633 in Berlin
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Best Western Hotel Kantstrasse Berlin
Schoneberg
Tom's Hotel
Tom's Hotel
#384 of 633 in Berlin
121 reviews
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Schoneberg

Neighbourhood Profile
Schoneberg
In 1963, Schöneberg was the centre of the political west, inspiring John F. Kennedy to choose this area to famously announce, "Ich bin ein Berliner." Times may have changed, but modern-day Schöneberg still pays tribute to its historical legacies. Once the richest city outside of Berlin proper, the area's affluent past is still visible in ornate housing facades dating back to the Gründerzeit of the 19th century, while residents in fur coats walking their dogs or shopping in high-end KaDeWe continue the tradition with a modern flair. Schöneberg was also once the centre of the decadent and burlesque nightlife of the 1920s. It was here that Marlene Dietrich partied with Christopher Isherwood and the first gay bar in Germany was founded. Today, the gay community still revolves around Nollendorfplatz. The overground Ubahn station is even illuminated in rainbow colors, paying tribute to Schöneberg's progressive past.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just a few minutes by foot from the department store KaDeWe, Bikini Berlin and the famous Kurfurstendamm, our exceptionally friendly hotel is located rigth in the centre of the German capital. Berlin`s City West district, with its trade fair ground and numerous tourist attractions, is close at hand, as is the eastern part of the centre, where the famous Potsdamer Platz and the government buildings are located. Our 3-star hotel offers you 78 non-smoking rooms. Whether Standard, Superior or Privilege, all of our rooms are equipped with a flat screen TV, a free coffee/tea station and free Wi-Fi. Our extensive breakfast buffet has something for every taste. Visit our bar The Vine, open from 6pm to 1am, where you can take a break from shopping or get yourself in the mood for a night out with friends over a drink. We also serve snacks! Our friendly and competent hotel team is happy to help you 24 hours a day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum

Address: Fuggerstr. 8, 10777 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Castor)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Price Range: $89 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandotel Castor Hotel Berlin
Scandotel Castor Berlin
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Berlin
#166 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As this hotel is located on a quiet street, I suspect all rooms are comfortable and quiet. ”
 of 5 bubbles gennyl21, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near the lift if possible. Rooms with end numbers 6 or more would be good I think. we were in 611 the far end from the lift.”
 of 5 bubbles Joany46, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Can't advice as my room was next to the elevator and it is so noisy and busy. Day and night there were loud sounds of people talking.”
 of 5 bubbles JenJanice, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms with 01/02/03/04 in the room numbers if you are worried about hearing the lift from your room”
 of 5 bubbles ScotKris, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Daily change of bedding and towels is optional to benefit the environment. A daily change therefore has to be requested but is at no extra charge. The room lacked a bit on storage space for clothes. ”
 of 5 bubbles 165sylviah, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5